CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Bloomreach Engagement vs. Ghost

At a glance

At a glance

Bloomreach Engagement

Best for

Best for commerce teams that want unified customer profiles and cross-channel campaigns in the same platform.

  • Enterprise

Ghost

Best for

Best for independent publishers and creators who want a website, newsletter and paid subscriptions in one platform they can host themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Bloomreach Engagement Ghost
Starting price Not stated Free version if self-hosted; Ghost(Pro) from $18 / month Ghost(Pro) Starter is $18 per month billed yearly for up to 1,000 members. Self-hosting the open source application carries no licence cost, but the server and email delivery are your own.
API Yes, REST APIs and webhooks, iOS, Android, Python and JavaScript SDKs, plus the Loomi Connect MCP server in early access Yes, REST APIs for reading and writing content, documented for headless use
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (Ghost Pro) or self-hosted; open source under the MIT licence
Campaign types Email, SMS and MMS, browser push, in-app messages, weblayers and surveys, plus ad audiences synced to paid media platforms Newsletters published to a website and sent by email in the same step, with free and paid membership tiers
Automation and journeys Yes, Scenarios, a visual journey builder covering simple triggers through to multi-step campaigns; the Marketing agent drafts a workflow from a plain-English prompt Yes, in public beta since June 2026. An Automations tab opens a drag-and-drop canvas with two flows ready to go, one for new free members and one for new paid ones, built from two actions: send an email and wait a set amount of time. Existing welcome emails move into it automatically, and more triggers and actions are announced as coming
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, segmentation plus AI Autosegments, contextual personalization, web targeting and product recommendations Yes, audience segmentation so different newsletters go to different groups of readers
Templates and editor Yes, email templates and campaign building, with A/B testing run by marketers without IT Yes, an editor built for long-form work with galleries, video, audio and dynamic content cards; custom themes from the Publisher plan
Deliverability and testing Email sending setup with campaign testing and deliverability and engagement tracking Preview shows the post as it will look on the web, on mobile, in an email and on social, and a test email can be sent to your own inbox with a custom subject line before publishing. On Ghost(Pro) email delivery is included and configured for you; a self-hosted install has to supply Mailgun API keys, which is the only supported bulk email provider
Ecommerce and CRM data Yes, a built-in customer data platform that unifies behavioural and transactional data into customer profiles, fed from websites, CRMs, data warehouses and offline sources Yes, native paid subscriptions through Stripe on monthly and yearly tiers, with signup forms and promotional offers. Ghost takes 0% of subscription revenue on Publisher and above, though payment processor fees still apply
Integrations and API Yes, REST APIs, webhooks, mobile and language SDKs, a tag manager and the Loomi Connect MCP server Yes, REST APIs for content in and out, plus more than 8,000 integrations through Zapier and similar from the Publisher plan
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Not stated Stripe, Slack, Google Analytics, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Deployment Bloomreach Engagement Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Ghost Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Bloomreach Engagement Enterprise Ghost Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Bloomreach Engagement Cloud (SaaS) Ghost Cloud (Ghost Pro) or self-hosted; open source under the MIT licence
  • AI features Bloomreach Engagement Yes Ghost No
  • MCP-ready Bloomreach Engagement Yes Ghost No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Bloomreach Engagement

Strengths

  • Customer data platform and campaign execution in one product, so segments and sends share the same profiles
  • More than a dozen channels driven from the same Scenarios journey builder
  • Loomi AI is included in every product at no extra charge
  • Loomi Connect exposes the workspace to MCP clients such as Claude Code, Cursor, VS Code and ChatGPT

Limitations

  • No published pricing: a module fee plus a usage fee, quoted by sales
  • Annual contracts only
  • Loomi Connect is still in early access

Ghost

Strengths

  • Open source under the MIT licence and self-hostable, so the whole platform can run on your own infrastructure
  • Ghost takes 0% of paid subscription revenue on Publisher and above; only payment processor fees apply
  • Website, newsletter and paid memberships in one product, with no separate email tool to wire up
  • Run by a non-profit foundation funded by its users, with no outside investors
  • Unlimited email sends on every Ghost(Pro) tier

Limitations

  • The Starter plan has no paid subscriptions, no custom themes and only limited integrations
  • Member count drives the price: Starter and Publisher both stop at 1,000 members, Business at 10,000
  • Self-hosting means providing and maintaining your own server and email delivery
  • Built for publishing rather than campaign marketing, so there is no multi-channel journey builder

Plans

Pricing

Ghost

  • Self-hosted $0 The open source Ghost application under the MIT licence. No licence cost; you provide the server and email delivery.
  • Starter $18 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 1,000 members, one staff user, website, newsletter, free custom domain and unlimited email sends. No paid subscriptions or custom themes.
  • Publisher $29 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 1,000 members, three staff users, custom themes, paid subscriptions, advanced analytics and more than 8,000 integrations.
  • Business $199 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 10,000 members, 15 staff users, priority support, higher usage limits and early access to new features.
  • Custom Not stated Unlimited members and staff users, advanced configuration, dedicated IP and a 99.9% uptime SLA.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Bloomreach Engagement

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Ghost

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Bloomreach Engagement https://www.bloomreach.com/en/products/engagement · no check date recorded yet

Ghost https://ghost.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-07

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.