CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Dotdigital vs. Flodesk

At a glance

At a glance

Dotdigital

Best for

Best for ecommerce and retail marketing teams that want email, SMS and WhatsApp running off the same store data.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Flodesk

Best for

Best for creators, designers and small businesses that want beautifully designed emails without a steep learning curve.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Dotdigital Flodesk
Starting price Not stated Free plan; paid from $19 / month Lite billed annually at 1,000 subscribers, or $25 / month billed monthly. Every paid price scales with the active subscriber count, and annual billing includes one month free. Priced in US dollars worldwide.
Free trial Not stated Free plan available, plus free trials on the paid plans
API Yes, REST APIs in v2 and v3 covering contacts and data, campaigns and automation, events, Insight data and transactional messaging, plus a Marketing MCP server Yes, a developer API with webhooks and a Model Context Protocol server; API keys are available on paid plans but not on free or trial accounts
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in United Kingdom Not stated
Campaign types Email campaigns, SMS and MMS, WhatsApp, mobile app push, web personalization, and ads and retargeting Yes, email campaigns, plus forms, landing pages and, on the top plan, sales pages
Automation and journeys Yes, an automation program builder with customizable journey templates for welcome, cart abandonment, birthday and win-back flows Yes, workflow automations on the paid plans, unlimited on Pro and above
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, dynamic content blocks and real-time customer data, with a Segment Agent that builds and refines segments from a plain-English description, plus predictive segmentation Yes, audience segmentation
Templates and editor Yes, EasyEditor, a drag-and-drop editor with templates, with a Content Agent that generates and rewrites copy and adjusts tone in a stored brand voice Yes, designer-made templates and a visual editor
Deliverability and testing Dedicated IPs, SPF, DKIM and DMARC authentication, ISP relationships and an onboarding team for domain warm-up; A/B testing and analytics run on campaigns Yes, subject line A/B testing that sends two variants to part of the list and the winner to the rest after 24 hours, with side-by-side results, plus AI subject line recommendations, content and sequence testing through split-path workflows, a send time optimizer, resend to unopens and a dedicated IP as a paid add-on
Ecommerce and CRM data Yes, more than 200 integrations including Shopify, Adobe Commerce, BigCommerce and WooCommerce, plus Salesforce, HubSpot and Microsoft Dynamics 365, over a built-in customer data platform Yes, integrated checkouts, sales pages and subscriptions with payment processing on the Everything plan
Integrations and API Yes, REST APIs in v2 and v3, plus a Marketing MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini Yes, a developer API with webhooks plus a Model Context Protocol server, included on every paid plan, alongside native integrations and Zapier and Pabbly Connect
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7 Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars, Personal consulting Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Shopify, Adobe Commerce, BigCommerce, WooCommerce, Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Oracle NetSuite more entries Shopify, Canva, Instagram, Squarespace, Wix, ThriveCart, ManyChat, HoneyBook, Interact, BookFunnel, Zapier, Pabbly Connect

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Company size Dotdigital Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Flodesk Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Support Dotdigital Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7 Flodesk Email helpdesk, Community forum
  • API Dotdigital Yes, REST APIs in v2 and v3 covering contacts and data, campaigns and automation, events, Insight data and transactional messaging, plus a Marketing MCP server Flodesk Yes, a developer API with webhooks and a Model Context Protocol server; API keys are available on paid plans but not on free or trial accounts
  • Campaign types Dotdigital Email campaigns, SMS and MMS, WhatsApp, mobile app push, web personalization, and ads and retargeting Flodesk Yes, email campaigns, plus forms, landing pages and, on the top plan, sales pages
  • Automation and journeys Dotdigital Yes, an automation program builder with customizable journey templates for welcome, cart abandonment, birthday and win-back flows Flodesk Yes, workflow automations on the paid plans, unlimited on Pro and above

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Dotdigital

Strengths

  • Email, SMS, WhatsApp, push and web personalization from one platform with a customer data platform underneath
  • Named AI agents: a Segment Agent for audiences and a Content Agent inside EasyEditor
  • A Marketing MCP server connects the account to ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini
  • Deliverability covered by dedicated IPs, SPF, DKIM and DMARC and a warm-up onboarding team

Limitations

  • No published pricing: contact-based billing is quoted case by case
  • A contact is billable as soon as it is marketable on any single channel, even if suppressed on the others

Flodesk

Strengths

  • Design-led templates and a simple visual builder
  • Free plan with forms, landing pages and segmentation
  • Sell directly with checkouts, sales pages and subscriptions on the top plan

Limitations

  • Workflow automations require a paid plan
  • Advanced analytics and reporting are limited to the higher plans

Plans

Pricing

Flodesk

  • Free $0 / month No subscriber limit, with forms, landing pages, link in bio, designer templates and audience segmentation.
  • Lite $25 / month Up to 25,000 subscribers and 1 seat, with unlimited email sends, workflow automations, forms, landing pages and analytics. $19 / month billed annually. Both figures are for 1,000 subscribers and rise with the list.
  • Pro $28 / month Up to 255,000 subscribers and 2 seats, adding unlimited workflows, advanced analytics and reporting and the option to remove Flodesk branding. $25 / month billed annually. Both figures are for 1,000 subscribers and rise with the list.
  • Everything $54 / month Up to 255,000 subscribers and 3 seats, adding unlimited integrated checkouts, sales pages and funnels, subscriptions, payment plans and abandoned cart automations. $49 / month billed annually. Both figures are for 1,000 subscribers and rise with the list.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Dotdigital

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Flodesk

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Dotdigital https://dotdigital.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-17

Flodesk https://flodesk.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.