CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Dotdigital vs. Ghost

At a glance

At a glance

Dotdigital

Best for

Best for ecommerce and retail marketing teams that want email, SMS and WhatsApp running off the same store data.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Ghost

Best for

Best for independent publishers and creators who want a website, newsletter and paid subscriptions in one platform they can host themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Dotdigital Ghost
Starting price Not stated Free version if self-hosted; Ghost(Pro) from $18 / month Ghost(Pro) Starter is $18 per month billed yearly for up to 1,000 members. Self-hosting the open source application carries no licence cost, but the server and email delivery are your own.
API Yes, REST APIs in v2 and v3 covering contacts and data, campaigns and automation, events, Insight data and transactional messaging, plus a Marketing MCP server Yes, REST APIs for reading and writing content, documented for headless use
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (Ghost Pro) or self-hosted; open source under the MIT licence
Made in United Kingdom Not stated
Campaign types Email campaigns, SMS and MMS, WhatsApp, mobile app push, web personalization, and ads and retargeting Newsletters published to a website and sent by email in the same step, with free and paid membership tiers
Automation and journeys Yes, an automation program builder with customizable journey templates for welcome, cart abandonment, birthday and win-back flows Yes, in public beta since June 2026. An Automations tab opens a drag-and-drop canvas with two flows ready to go, one for new free members and one for new paid ones, built from two actions: send an email and wait a set amount of time. Existing welcome emails move into it automatically, and more triggers and actions are announced as coming
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, dynamic content blocks and real-time customer data, with a Segment Agent that builds and refines segments from a plain-English description, plus predictive segmentation Yes, audience segmentation so different newsletters go to different groups of readers
Templates and editor Yes, EasyEditor, a drag-and-drop editor with templates, with a Content Agent that generates and rewrites copy and adjusts tone in a stored brand voice Yes, an editor built for long-form work with galleries, video, audio and dynamic content cards; custom themes from the Publisher plan
Deliverability and testing Dedicated IPs, SPF, DKIM and DMARC authentication, ISP relationships and an onboarding team for domain warm-up; A/B testing and analytics run on campaigns Preview shows the post as it will look on the web, on mobile, in an email and on social, and a test email can be sent to your own inbox with a custom subject line before publishing. On Ghost(Pro) email delivery is included and configured for you; a self-hosted install has to supply Mailgun API keys, which is the only supported bulk email provider
Ecommerce and CRM data Yes, more than 200 integrations including Shopify, Adobe Commerce, BigCommerce and WooCommerce, plus Salesforce, HubSpot and Microsoft Dynamics 365, over a built-in customer data platform Yes, native paid subscriptions through Stripe on monthly and yearly tiers, with signup forms and promotional offers. Ghost takes 0% of subscription revenue on Publisher and above, though payment processor fees still apply
Integrations and API Yes, REST APIs in v2 and v3, plus a Marketing MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini Yes, REST APIs for content in and out, plus more than 8,000 integrations through Zapier and similar from the Publisher plan
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Personal consulting Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Shopify, Adobe Commerce, BigCommerce, WooCommerce, Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Oracle NetSuite Stripe, Slack, Google Analytics, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Deployment Dotdigital Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Ghost Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Dotdigital Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Ghost Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Dotdigital Cloud (SaaS) Ghost Cloud (Ghost Pro) or self-hosted; open source under the MIT licence
  • AI features Dotdigital Yes Ghost No
  • MCP-ready Dotdigital Yes Ghost No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Dotdigital

Strengths

  • Email, SMS, WhatsApp, push and web personalization from one platform with a customer data platform underneath
  • Named AI agents: a Segment Agent for audiences and a Content Agent inside EasyEditor
  • A Marketing MCP server connects the account to ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini
  • Deliverability covered by dedicated IPs, SPF, DKIM and DMARC and a warm-up onboarding team

Limitations

  • No published pricing: contact-based billing is quoted case by case
  • A contact is billable as soon as it is marketable on any single channel, even if suppressed on the others

Ghost

Strengths

  • Open source under the MIT licence and self-hostable, so the whole platform can run on your own infrastructure
  • Ghost takes 0% of paid subscription revenue on Publisher and above; only payment processor fees apply
  • Website, newsletter and paid memberships in one product, with no separate email tool to wire up
  • Run by a non-profit foundation funded by its users, with no outside investors
  • Unlimited email sends on every Ghost(Pro) tier

Limitations

  • The Starter plan has no paid subscriptions, no custom themes and only limited integrations
  • Member count drives the price: Starter and Publisher both stop at 1,000 members, Business at 10,000
  • Self-hosting means providing and maintaining your own server and email delivery
  • Built for publishing rather than campaign marketing, so there is no multi-channel journey builder

Plans

Pricing

Ghost

  • Self-hosted $0 The open source Ghost application under the MIT licence. No licence cost; you provide the server and email delivery.
  • Starter $18 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 1,000 members, one staff user, website, newsletter, free custom domain and unlimited email sends. No paid subscriptions or custom themes.
  • Publisher $29 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 1,000 members, three staff users, custom themes, paid subscriptions, advanced analytics and more than 8,000 integrations.
  • Business $199 Per month, billed yearly. Up to 10,000 members, 15 staff users, priority support, higher usage limits and early access to new features.
  • Custom Not stated Unlimited members and staff users, advanced configuration, dedicated IP and a 99.9% uptime SLA.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Dotdigital

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Ghost

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Dotdigital https://dotdigital.com · no check date recorded yet

Ghost https://ghost.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-07

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.