CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Dotdigital vs. Postmark

At a glance

At a glance

Dotdigital

Best for

Best for ecommerce and retail marketing teams that want email, SMS and WhatsApp running off the same store data.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Postmark

Best for

Best for product and engineering teams whose transactional email has to arrive, and who want promotional sending kept on separate infrastructure.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Dotdigital Postmark
Starting price Not stated Free tier; Basic from $15 / month All three paid plans start at 10,000 emails per month and differ mainly by overage rate: Basic $15 at $1.80 per 1,000 extra emails, Pro $16.50 at $1.30, Platform $18 at $1.20.
Free trial Not stated Free tier: 100 emails per month, no overages permitted, never expires
API Yes, REST APIs in v2 and v3 covering contacts and data, campaigns and automation, events, Insight data and transactional messaging, plus a Marketing MCP server Yes, REST API and an SMTP service, with official libraries for TypeScript, Node.js, Python, Ruby, PHP, .NET and Java
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in United Kingdom Not stated
Campaign types Email campaigns, SMS and MMS, WhatsApp, mobile app push, web personalization, and ads and retargeting Transactional and broadcast email on separate Message Streams, plus inbound email processing that delivers received mail to your application
Automation and journeys Yes, an automation program builder with customizable journey templates for welcome, cart abandonment, birthday and win-back flows No journey or automation builder. Sends are triggered by your own application over the API or SMTP, and delivery events are pushed back out through webhooks.
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, dynamic content blocks and real-time customer data, with a Segment Agent that builds and refines segments from a plain-English description, plus predictive segmentation No stored audiences or segment builder. Recipients and their personalisation values are supplied per request, while Postmark maintains bounce state and suppression lists.
Templates and editor Yes, EasyEditor, a drag-and-drop editor with templates, with a Content Agent that generates and rewrites copy and adjusts tone in a stored brand voice Reusable email templates with variable substitution, managed in the dashboard or over the Templates API; there is no drag-and-drop campaign designer
Deliverability and testing Dedicated IPs, SPF, DKIM and DMARC authentication, ISP relationships and an onboarding team for domain warm-up; A/B testing and analytics run on campaigns Message Streams keep promotional sending on infrastructure separate from transactional mail. Message data is retained for 45 days, extendable to 365 days on Pro and Platform from $5 per month. Dedicated IPs start at $50 per month per IP and DMARC monitoring at $14 per month per domain.
Ecommerce and CRM data Yes, more than 200 integrations including Shopify, Adobe Commerce, BigCommerce and WooCommerce, plus Salesforce, HubSpot and Microsoft Dynamics 365, over a built-in customer data platform No built-in ecommerce or CRM data sync. Contact data stays in your own application, which supplies it with each send.
Integrations and API Yes, REST APIs in v2 and v3, plus a Marketing MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini Yes, REST API with separate server and account tokens over TLS, plus an SMTP service with IP allowlisting. Endpoints cover email, batch sending, templates, bounces, inbound, message streams and suppressions. Official libraries for TypeScript, Node.js, Python, Ruby, Rails, PHP, .NET and Java, plus a WordPress plugin; community libraries add Go, Elixir, Laravel and Scala.
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7 Email helpdesk
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars, Personal consulting Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Shopify, Adobe Commerce, BigCommerce, WooCommerce, Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Oracle NetSuite Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Company size Dotdigital Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Postmark Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Dotdigital Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7 Postmark Email helpdesk
  • AI features Dotdigital Yes Postmark No
  • MCP-ready Dotdigital Yes Postmark No
  • API Dotdigital Yes, REST APIs in v2 and v3 covering contacts and data, campaigns and automation, events, Insight data and transactional messaging, plus a Marketing MCP server Postmark Yes, REST API and an SMTP service, with official libraries for TypeScript, Node.js, Python, Ruby, PHP, .NET and Java

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Dotdigital

Strengths

  • Email, SMS, WhatsApp, push and web personalization from one platform with a customer data platform underneath
  • Named AI agents: a Segment Agent for audiences and a Content Agent inside EasyEditor
  • A Marketing MCP server connects the account to ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini
  • Deliverability covered by dedicated IPs, SPF, DKIM and DMARC and a warm-up onboarding team

Limitations

  • No published pricing: contact-based billing is quoted case by case
  • A contact is billable as soon as it is marketable on any single channel, even if suppressed on the others

Postmark

Strengths

  • Message Streams keep promotional sending on infrastructure separate from transactional mail
  • Standing free tier of 100 emails a month that never expires
  • Official client libraries for eight languages plus a WordPress plugin
  • Inbound email processing on the Pro and Platform plans
  • Message data retention extendable from 45 days to 365 days on Pro and Platform

Limitations

  • No automation, journey builder or stored audiences
  • Inbound email is not included on the Free and Basic plans
  • Dedicated IPs, extended retention and DMARC monitoring are priced as add-ons
  • The free tier permits no overage, so sending stops at 100 emails
  • All three paid plans start at the same 10,000 emails, so the choice is really about overage rate

Plans

Pricing

Postmark

  • Free $0 100 emails per month with no overages permitted, and 45 days of data retention. Never expires.
  • Basic $15 Per month from 10,000 emails, overage $1.80 per 1,000. 45 days of data retention, no inbound email.
  • Pro $16.50 Per month from 10,000 emails, overage $1.30 per 1,000. Adds inbound email and data retention customisable to 365 days.
  • Platform $18 Per month from 10,000 emails, overage $1.20 per 1,000. Adds unlimited custom domains and message streams.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Dotdigital

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Postmark

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Dotdigital https://dotdigital.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-17

Postmark https://postmarkapp.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-09

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.