CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Email Marketing Comparison

Kit vs. Postmark

At a glance

At a glance

Kit

Best for

Best for creators, newsletter authors and course sellers who want email automation, landing pages and a way to sell digital products in one platform.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Postmark

Best for

Best for product and engineering teams whose transactional email has to arrive, and who want promotional sending kept on separate infrastructure.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Kit Postmark
Starting price From $39 / month Creator plan for up to 1,000 subscribers; the price scales with the number of subscribers. lower value Free tier; Basic from $15 / month All three paid plans start at 10,000 emails per month and differ mainly by overage rate: Basic $15 at $1.80 per 1,000 extra emails, Pro $16.50 at $1.30, Platform $18 at $1.20.
Free trial Free plan (Newsletter) for up to 10,000 subscribers Free tier: 100 emails per month, no overages permitted, never expires
API Yes, a public API plus an official Kit MCP server Yes, REST API and an SMTP service, with official libraries for TypeScript, Node.js, Python, Ruby, PHP, .NET and Java
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Campaign types Yes, one-off broadcasts and newsletters plus automated email sequences, with unlimited landing pages, forms and a store for digital products Transactional and broadcast email on separate Message Streams, plus inbound email processing that delivers received mail to your application
Automation and journeys Yes, a visual automation builder that triggers workflows on signup, link clicks, purchases, inactivity or custom rules No journey or automation builder. Sends are triggered by your own application over the API or SMTP, and delivery events are pushed back out through webhooks.
Segmentation and personalisation Yes, tags and segments, with subscriber scoring on the Creator Pro plan No stored audiences or segment builder. Recipients and their personalisation values are supplied per request, while Postmark maintains bounce state and suppression lists.
Templates and editor Yes, an email editor with 40-plus creator-built templates, plus direct Canva, Pinterest and Typeform integrations Reusable email templates with variable substitution, managed in the dashboard or over the Templates API; there is no drag-and-drop campaign designer
Deliverability and testing Yes, subject line and content A/B testing on broadcasts, with a delivery rate Kit reports at 99.8% Message Streams keep promotional sending on infrastructure separate from transactional mail. Message data is retained for 45 days, extendable to 365 days on Pro and Platform from $5 per month. Dedicated IPs start at $50 per month per IP and DMARC monitoring at $14 per month per domain.
Ecommerce and CRM data Yes, sell digital products and subscriptions natively at 0.6% plus card fees, with Shopify, Stripe and WooCommerce among 100-plus integrations No built-in ecommerce or CRM data sync. Contact data stays in your own application, which supplies it with each send.
Integrations and API Yes, a public API and an official Kit MCP server with read and write access Yes, REST API with separate server and account tokens over TLS, plus an SMTP service with IP allowlisting. Endpoints cover email, batch sending, templates, bounces, inbound, message streams and suppressions. Official libraries for TypeScript, Node.js, Python, Ruby, Rails, PHP, .NET and Java, plus a WordPress plugin; community libraries add Go, Elixir, Laravel and Scala.
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Email helpdesk
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Shopify, Stripe, WooCommerce, Canva, Typeform Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Kit From $39 / month Postmark Free tier; Basic from $15 / month
  • Free trial Kit Free plan (Newsletter) for up to 10,000 subscribers Postmark Free tier: 100 emails per month, no overages permitted, never expires
  • Company size Kit Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Postmark Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • MCP-ready Kit Yes Postmark No
  • API Kit Yes, a public API plus an official Kit MCP server Postmark Yes, REST API and an SMTP service, with official libraries for TypeScript, Node.js, Python, Ruby, PHP, .NET and Java

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Kit

Strengths

  • Free Newsletter plan for up to 10,000 subscribers
  • Visual automation builder with unlimited landing pages and forms
  • Sell digital products and subscriptions natively at 0.6% plus card fees
  • Official Kit MCP server lets AI tools read and update the account

Limitations

  • Paid prices scale with the number of subscribers
  • Advanced reporting and subscriber scoring are reserved for the Creator Pro plan
  • The free Newsletter plan leaves out the visual automation builder and email sequences

Postmark

Strengths

  • Message Streams keep promotional sending on infrastructure separate from transactional mail
  • Standing free tier of 100 emails a month that never expires
  • Official client libraries for eight languages plus a WordPress plugin
  • Inbound email processing on the Pro and Platform plans
  • Message data retention extendable from 45 days to 365 days on Pro and Platform

Limitations

  • No automation, journey builder or stored audiences
  • Inbound email is not included on the Free and Basic plans
  • Dedicated IPs, extended retention and DMARC monitoring are priced as add-ons
  • The free tier permits no overage, so sending stops at 100 emails
  • All three paid plans start at the same 10,000 emails, so the choice is really about overage rate

Plans

Pricing

Kit

  • Newsletter $0 / month Free for up to 10,000 subscribers, with unlimited landing pages and forms, broadcasts and the ability to sell digital products.
  • Creator From $39 / month Up to 1,000 subscribers, adding the visual automation builder, email sequences and unlimited sends. Scales with subscribers.
  • Creator Pro From $79 / month Adds advanced reporting, subscriber scoring, a newsletter referral system and priority support. Scales with subscribers.
Visit site

Postmark

  • Free $0 100 emails per month with no overages permitted, and 45 days of data retention. Never expires.
  • Basic $15 Per month from 10,000 emails, overage $1.80 per 1,000. 45 days of data retention, no inbound email.
  • Pro $16.50 Per month from 10,000 emails, overage $1.30 per 1,000. Adds inbound email and data retention customisable to 365 days.
  • Platform $18 Per month from 10,000 emails, overage $1.20 per 1,000. Adds unlimited custom domains and message streams.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Kit

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Postmark

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Kit https://kit.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-23

Postmark https://postmarkapp.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-09

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.