CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Aha! vs. OpenProject

At a glance

At a glance

Aha!

Best for

Best for product teams that need strategy, roadmaps and capacity planning documented in one system.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

OpenProject

Best for

Best for organisations that need a full project management suite on their own infrastructure rather than in someone else's cloud.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Aha! OpenProject
Starting price From $59 / user / month Aha! Roadmaps Premium on annual billing; monthly billing costs more. Enterprise+ is $149 per user and month and is sold on annual billing only. The other Aha! products, among them Ideas, Discovery, Whiteboards, Develop, Teamwork and Knowledge, are priced separately. Free (Community edition); Enterprise from €5.95 / user / month Community edition is free, self-hosted and has no user minimum. Enterprise Basic €5.95 and Professional €10.95 per user / month from 25 users, Premium €15.95 from 100 users, Corporate on request from 250 users. Rates are for a one-year term; a monthly term adds €1.00 per user and is available for Cloud Basic only. The BIM add-on costs €1.00 per user.
Free trial 30-day trial with all Enterprise features, no credit card required 14 days on the Enterprise cloud, or a 14-day trial licence for a self-hosted installation
Users Not stated Unlimited on the self-hosted Community edition; Enterprise plans start at 25 users
API Yes, developer API Yes, REST API v3 plus a BCF API
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Self-hosted on-premises (DEB and RPM packages, Docker, Kubernetes) or Enterprise cloud on servers in the EU
Made in Not stated Germany
Task planning Yes, strategy, ideas, features and releases planned on roadmaps, boards and timelines; Aha! Develop adds sprint boards and Aha! Teamwork general task management Yes, work packages with hierarchies and relations, Gantt charts with automatic or manual scheduling, agile boards for Scrum and Kanban with sprints and story points, and reusable project templates
Resource planning Yes, capacity planning for teams and for individuals, with capacity reports expressed in hours of effort or people needed; team capacity planning sits on the Enterprise+ tier Yes, team planner plus resource allocation across projects, with working hours, holidays and availability feeding the schedule
Time tracking Yes, estimates in story points or in time from minutes through months, with logged effort feeding the capacity reports as it arrives Yes, hours logged on work packages daily or weekly, a personal time tracking page and PDF timesheet reports
Reporting and controlling Yes, more than 75 pre-built product reports and interactive KPI dashboards Yes, filterable cost reports, budgets for labour and unit costs, hourly rates per member and project, baseline comparison and customisable project dashboards
Integrations and API Yes, a developer API and more than 40 integrations, among them Jira, Azure DevOps, GitHub, Slack, Salesforce and Zendesk Yes, REST API v3 and a BCF API, plus integrations with Nextcloud, GitHub, GitLab, OneDrive, SharePoint, XWiki and openDesk and an official MCP server
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base, Personal consulting, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Jira, Azure DevOps, GitHub, Slack, Google Chat, Salesforce, Zendesk Nextcloud, GitHub, GitLab, OneDrive, SharePoint, XWiki, openDesk

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Aha! From $59 / user / month OpenProject Free (Community edition); Enterprise from €5.95 / user / month
  • Free trial Aha! 30-day trial with all Enterprise features, no credit card required OpenProject 14 days on the Enterprise cloud, or a 14-day trial licence for a self-hosted installation
  • Deployment Aha! Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based OpenProject Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Hosting Aha! Cloud (SaaS) OpenProject Self-hosted on-premises (DEB and RPM packages, Docker, Kubernetes) or Enterprise cloud on servers in the EU
  • Support Aha! Email helpdesk OpenProject Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Aha!

Strengths

  • Covers strategy, ideas, roadmaps and delivery in one connected suite
  • Capacity planning for both teams and individuals, estimated in points or hours
  • More than 75 pre-built reports and interactive dashboards
  • The 30-day trial opens every Enterprise feature

Limitations

  • Priced well above most tools in this category
  • Modules are sold separately, so a full stack multiplies the per-user cost
  • Team capacity planning and OKRs are reserved for the most expensive tier

OpenProject

Strengths

  • Free Community edition under the GNU GPL v3 with no user limit
  • Runs on-premises or in an EU-hosted cloud, so project data can stay in-house
  • Hours, hourly rates, unit costs and budgets sit in the same tool as the plan
  • Official MCP server lets AI assistants work on project data within existing roles and permissions

Limitations

  • Enterprise plans start at 25 users, Premium at 100 and Corporate at 250
  • Self-hosting means running, securing and upgrading the installation yourself
  • Monthly billing costs €1.00 more per user and is limited to Cloud Basic

Plans

Pricing

Aha!

  • Premium $59 Per user and month for Aha! Roadmaps, on annual billing. Monthly billing costs more.
  • Enterprise Not stated Adds unlimited free reviewers and viewers, so only workspace owners and contributors are paid seats.
  • Enterprise+ $149 Per user and month, annual billing only. Adds OKRs, team capacity planning, custom tables, automation rules, workspace templates, Power BI integration and audit reporting.
Visit site

OpenProject

  • Community €0 Free and open source, self-hosted, no user minimum. Community features, community forum and user guides.
  • Basic €5.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 25 users. Adds the Basic Enterprise add-ons and email support, Mon-Fri 9:30-16:00 CET.
  • Professional €10.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 25 users. Adds the Professional Enterprise add-ons and phone support, Mon-Fri 9:30-17:00 CET.
  • Premium €15.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 100 users. Adds the Premium Enterprise add-ons, remote hands and installation and upgrade assistance.
  • Corporate On request From 250 users. Adds the Corporate Enterprise add-ons, openDesk and OpenID Connect for Nextcloud Hub, a dedicated support engineer, custom plugin support and onboarding training.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Aha!

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

OpenProject

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Aha! https://www.aha.io · checked against the official source on 2026-09-16

OpenProject https://www.openproject.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-03

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.