CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Basecamp vs. OpenProject

At a glance

At a glance

Basecamp

Best for

Best for small and remote teams that want projects, chat and docs in one calm, flat-priced tool.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

OpenProject

Best for

Best for organisations that need a full project management suite on their own infrastructure rather than in someone else's cloud.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Basecamp OpenProject
Starting price Free; Freelancer from $25 / month Flat rates for the whole account: Freelancer $25 for up to 3 active projects and 20 users, Studio $59 for up to 10 projects and Pro $99 for up to 25, both with unlimited users, and the Unlimited Edition at $299 per month billed annually. The free plan covers one project, 5 users and 1 GB. Free (Community edition); Enterprise from €5.95 / user / month Community edition is free, self-hosted and has no user minimum. Enterprise Basic €5.95 and Professional €10.95 per user / month from 25 users, Premium €15.95 from 100 users, Corporate on request from 250 users. Rates are for a one-year term; a monthly term adds €1.00 per user and is available for Cloud Basic only. The BIM add-on costs €1.00 per user.
Free trial Free plan plus a 30-day trial, 45 days on the Unlimited Edition 14 days on the Enterprise cloud, or a 14-day trial licence for a self-hosted installation
Users Not stated Unlimited on the self-hosted Community edition; Enterprise plans start at 25 users
API Not stated Yes, REST API v3 plus a BCF API
Hosting Not stated Self-hosted on-premises (DEB and RPM packages, Docker, Kubernetes) or Enterprise cloud on servers in the EU
Made in USA Germany
Task planning Yes, to-do lists and card tables (Kanban), with per-project schedules and message boards Yes, work packages with hierarchies and relations, Gantt charts with automatic or manual scheduling, agile boards for Scrum and Kanban with sprints and story points, and reusable project templates
Resource planning No dedicated resource planning Yes, team planner plus resource allocation across projects, with working hours, holidays and availability feeding the schedule
Time tracking Not built in, available as the paid Timesheet add-on Yes, hours logged on work packages daily or weekly, a personal time tracking page and PDF timesheet reports
Reporting and controlling Yes, the Lineup, Hill Charts and Mission Control for progress Yes, filterable cost reports, budgets for labour and unit costs, hourly rates per member and project, baseline comparison and customisable project dashboards
Integrations and API Yes, a public API documented on GitHub, plus a directory of third-party integrations and Zapier Yes, REST API v3 and a BCF API, plus integrations with Nextcloud, GitHub, GitLab, OneDrive, SharePoint, XWiki and openDesk and an official MCP server
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Personal consulting, Guided onboarding
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Zapier, Zoho Flow, Harvest, Toggl, Clockify, Everhour, Timely, Tick, GitHub, Honeybadger, Marker.io, TestLodge, Ganttify, Bridge24, Easy Insight, Klipfolio, Grow, Deskpro, SupportBee Nextcloud, GitHub, GitLab, OneDrive, SharePoint, XWiki, openDesk

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Basecamp Free; Freelancer from $25 / month OpenProject Free (Community edition); Enterprise from €5.95 / user / month
  • Free trial Basecamp Free plan plus a 30-day trial, 45 days on the Unlimited Edition OpenProject 14 days on the Enterprise cloud, or a 14-day trial licence for a self-hosted installation
  • Deployment Basecamp Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based OpenProject Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size Basecamp Freelancers, Small and mid-sized OpenProject Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Basecamp Email helpdesk, Community forum OpenProject Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Basecamp

Strengths

  • Flat monthly rates for the account, with no per-user fees
  • Combines to-dos, chat, docs and schedules in one place
  • Unlimited users from the Studio plan upwards

Limitations

  • No native resource planning
  • Time tracking only through a paid add-on
  • Fewer views and reports than dedicated PM tools
  • Every paid plan below the Unlimited Edition caps the number of active projects

OpenProject

Strengths

  • Free Community edition under the GNU GPL v3 with no user limit
  • Runs on-premises or in an EU-hosted cloud, so project data can stay in-house
  • Hours, hourly rates, unit costs and budgets sit in the same tool as the plan
  • Official MCP server lets AI assistants work on project data within existing roles and permissions

Limitations

  • Enterprise plans start at 25 users, Premium at 100 and Corporate at 250
  • Self-hosting means running, securing and upgrading the installation yourself
  • Monthly billing costs €1.00 more per user and is limited to Cloud Basic

Plans

Pricing

Basecamp

  • Free $0 One project for personal use, 5 users, 1 GB storage.
  • Freelancer $25 Per month. Up to 3 active projects, 20 users, 5 GB storage.
  • Studio $59 Per month. Up to 10 active projects, unlimited users, 25 GB storage.
  • Pro $99 Per month. Up to 25 active projects, unlimited users, 100 GB storage.
  • Unlimited Edition $299 Per month, billed annually. Unlimited projects, unlimited users, 1 TB storage, with 5 TB more available for $100 per month.
Visit site

OpenProject

  • Community €0 Free and open source, self-hosted, no user minimum. Community features, community forum and user guides.
  • Basic €5.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 25 users. Adds the Basic Enterprise add-ons and email support, Mon-Fri 9:30-16:00 CET.
  • Professional €10.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 25 users. Adds the Professional Enterprise add-ons and phone support, Mon-Fri 9:30-17:00 CET.
  • Premium €15.95 Per user / month on a one-year term, from 100 users. Adds the Premium Enterprise add-ons, remote hands and installation and upgrade assistance.
  • Corporate On request From 250 users. Adds the Corporate Enterprise add-ons, openDesk and OpenID Connect for Nextcloud Hub, a dedicated support engineer, custom plugin support and onboarding training.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Basecamp

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

OpenProject

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Basecamp https://basecamp.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-14

OpenProject https://www.openproject.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-03

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.