Basecamp
All-in-one project management with to-dos, message boards, schedules, chat and docs.
- Starting price
- Free; Freelancer from $25 / month
- Free trial
- Free plan plus a 30-day trial, 45 days on the Unlimited Edition
- Made in
- USA
Overview
Basecamp, from 37signals, is a project management and team collaboration tool that keeps each project in one self-contained space. A project gathers to-do lists, a message board for threaded announcements, a Campfire group chat, schedules, docs and files, and a card-table Kanban board, so a team runs the work without spreading it across separate email, chat and task apps. Progress is read through Hill Charts and the Lineup rather than Gantt charts, and automatic check-ins post recurring questions to cut status meetings. Pricing is a flat monthly fee for the account rather than a charge per seat: the paid plans are graded by the number of active projects and the storage they include, 37signals states "No per-user fees, everyone's included", and from the Studio plan upwards the number of people is unlimited.
Best for small and remote teams that want projects, chat and docs in one calm, flat-priced tool.
Basecamp is the calm, opinionated end of project management, and the way it charges changes which question you have to answer before signing up. Because the bill follows the plan and not the headcount, growing the team costs nothing extra, but running many things at once does: the limit that bites is the number of active projects, so count yours first. The other tradeoff is that it stays intentionally simple, with no built-in resource planning and no Gantt charts or dependencies, so teams that plan by capacity and critical path will find it thin. It suits small and remote teams that value one tidy hub over a deep feature set.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | Free; Freelancer from $25 / month Flat rates for the whole account: Freelancer $25 for up to 3 active projects and 20 users, Studio $59 for up to 10 projects and Pro $99 for up to 25, both with unlimited users, and the Unlimited Edition at $299 per month billed annually. The free plan covers one project, 5 users and 1 GB. |
| Free trial | Free plan plus a 30-day trial, 45 days on the Unlimited Edition |
| Made in | USA |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- Task planning
- Yes, to-do lists and card tables (Kanban), with per-project schedules and message boards
- Resource planning
- No dedicated resource planning
- Time tracking
- Not built in, available as the paid Timesheet add-on
- Reporting and controlling
- Yes, the Lineup, Hill Charts and Mission Control for progress
- Integrations and API
- Yes, a public API documented on GitHub, plus a directory of third-party integrations and Zapier
Integrations
- Zapier
- Zoho Flow
- Harvest
- Toggl
- Clockify
- Everhour
- Timely
- Tick
- GitHub
- Honeybadger
- Marker.io
- TestLodge
- Ganttify
- Bridge24
- Easy Insight
- Klipfolio
- Grow
- Deskpro
- SupportBee
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- Support
-
- Email helpdesk
- Community forum
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Video tutorials
- Company size
-
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
Suitability
| Industry | Freelancers | Small and mid-sized | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agencies | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit | Not stated |
| Architecture & Engineering | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Consulting | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit | Not stated |
| Media & Creative | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Technology | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit | Not stated |
The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- Flat monthly rates for the account, with no per-user fees
- Combines to-dos, chat, docs and schedules in one place
- Unlimited users from the Studio plan upwards
Limitations
- No native resource planning
- Time tracking only through a paid add-on
- Fewer views and reports than dedicated PM tools
- Every paid plan below the Unlimited Edition caps the number of active projects
Pricing
-
Free
$0
One project for personal use, 5 users, 1 GB storage.
-
Freelancer
$25
Per month. Up to 3 active projects, 20 users, 5 GB storage.
-
Studio
$59
Per month. Up to 10 active projects, unlimited users, 25 GB storage.
-
Pro
$99
Per month. Up to 25 active projects, unlimited users, 100 GB storage.
-
Unlimited Edition
$299
Per month, billed annually. Unlimited projects, unlimited users, 1 TB storage, with 5 TB more available for $100 per month.
Best For
Alternatives and Comparisons
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Last verified:
Ready to take a closer look at Basecamp
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit Basecamp