CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

GitLab vs. Todoist

At a glance

At a glance

GitLab

Best for

Best for engineering organisations that want planning, code, CI/CD and security on one platform.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Todoist

Best for

Best for individuals and small teams that want a fast, low-friction task manager rather than a heavy project suite.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion GitLab Todoist
Starting price Free plan; Premium $29 / user / month Premium is billed annually and includes 10,000 compute minutes and 500 GiB of storage a month; Ultimate is priced on request. The free plan is capped at five users per top-level group. GitLab Credits for AI features cost $1 each, extra compute minutes $10 per 1,000 and extra storage $5 a month per 10 GiB. Enterprise Agile Planning seats for non-developers cost $15 per user and month on Ultimate. Free Paid Pro and Business plans are billed per user; the amounts did not render on the official pricing page at time of writing.
Free trial Free plan Free tier
API Yes, APIs and webhooks Yes, 90+ integrations
Hosting GitLab.com SaaS, single-tenant Dedicated or self-managed Cloud (SaaS)
Task planning Yes, an agile planning framework with epics, issues and tasks, kanban boards, milestones, roadmaps, issue weights, promotion of an issue to an epic and a planning hierarchy for portfolio work Yes, tasks and projects in list, board and calendar layouts with labels, filters and reminders
Resource planning Limited. Work is assigned to people and weighted, and weights roll up to the parent item as a measure of time, value or complexity, but GitLab's planning documentation describes no capacity, availability or workload view per person No workload or capacity view. Work is spread by assigning tasks in shared team projects, and who is carrying what is read back through filters such as assigned to: others, assigned by: me or workspace: name rather than from a capacity chart
Time tracking Yes, hours spent on issues, merge requests, epics and tasks, with estimates, detailed reports and standardised time units No built-in timer. The Pro plan adds a duration on a task, which is a planned length rather than recorded time, and actual tracking comes from integrations: Toggl Track, Clockify, TimeCamp, Everhour, TMetric, Timeneye, TrackingTime, Time Doctor and WebWork Tracker
Reporting and controlling Yes, burnup and burndown charts, drill-down reports, code and productivity analytics, insights and health reporting, DORA4 metrics and the Value Streams Dashboard Yes, productivity reporting with activity history on paid plans
Integrations and API Yes, APIs, webhooks and integrations, described by GitLab as how other tools plug into the platform Yes, 90+ integrations
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Jira, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Confluence, Jenkins, Datadog, GitHub, Asana, Linear, Redmine, Google Chat, Mattermost, Discord, Google Play, Apple App Store Connect, GitGuardian Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar, Gmail, Outlook Mail, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Twist, Zapier, IFTTT, Make, Jira, Trello, Toggl Track, Clockify, TimeCamp, Everhour

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price GitLab Free plan; Premium $29 / user / month Todoist Free
  • Free trial GitLab Free plan Todoist Free tier
  • Deployment GitLab Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Todoist Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size GitLab Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Todoist Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting GitLab GitLab.com SaaS, single-tenant Dedicated or self-managed Todoist Cloud (SaaS)

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

GitLab

Strengths

  • Planning, source control, CI/CD and security in one platform
  • Self-managed and single-tenant Dedicated options besides the SaaS
  • Time tracking on issues, merge requests, epics and tasks is built in

Limitations

  • The free plan is capped at five users per top-level group
  • Compute minutes, storage and AI credits are billed on top of seats
  • Portfolio and value stream features sit in the upper plans

Todoist

Strengths

  • Fast task capture with quick add, recurring due dates and reminders
  • List, board and calendar layouts with labels and filters
  • Generous free tier and AI assists across the plans

Limitations

  • Lighter on resource planning and time tracking than dedicated project tools
  • Team features such as the shared workspace, roles and permissions require the Business plan

Plans

Pricing

GitLab

  • Free $0 Five users per top-level group, 400 compute minutes a month and 10 GiB of storage, with source code management, CI/CD and static application security testing.
  • Premium $29 Per user and month, billed annually. Unlimited licensed users, 10,000 compute minutes a month, 500 GiB of storage, advanced CI/CD, team project management, SLA management and priority support.
  • Ultimate Custom Priced on request. Adds unlimited guest users, 50,000 compute minutes a month, application security testing, supply chain security, vulnerability management, portfolio management, value stream management and compliance features.
  • Enterprise Agile Planning $15 Per user and month on Ultimate, an add-on seat for product managers and other non-technical stakeholders.
Visit site

Todoist

  • Beginner $0 Free plan with up to 5 personal projects, task reminders and list and board layouts.
  • Pro Not stated Up to 300 personal projects, calendar layout, task duration, custom reminders, 150 filter views and full reporting history.
  • Business Not stated Shared team workspace with up to 500 team projects, team activity logs, shared templates, project folders, roles and permissions and centralized billing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

GitLab

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Todoist

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

GitLab https://about.gitlab.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13

Todoist https://todoist.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-22

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.