GitLab
GitLab Duo for code suggestions, chat, AI code review and agentic flows, billed through GitLab Credits
One DevSecOps platform where epics, issues and boards live beside the code and the pipelines.
- Starting price
- Free plan; Premium $29 / user / month
- Free trial
- Free plan
- API
- Yes, APIs and webhooks
Overview
GitLab keeps planning in the same place as the code: epics, issues, tasks and service desk requests sit alongside repositories, merge requests, built-in CI/CD, security scanning and release management. Delivery teams get an agile planning framework with kanban boards, milestones, roadmaps and a work hierarchy for portfolio planning, time tracking with estimates on issues, merge requests, epics and tasks, and reporting through burnup and burndown charts, DORA4 metrics, code and productivity analytics and the Value Streams Dashboard. GitLab Duo adds AI code suggestions, chat, code review and agentic flows, paid for with GitLab Credits rather than through the seat price. It runs as multi-tenant SaaS on GitLab.com, as a single-tenant Dedicated instance or self-managed on your own infrastructure, and other tools connect through APIs, webhooks and integrations.
Best for engineering organisations that want planning, code, CI/CD and security on one platform.
GitLab suits organisations that would rather run one platform under one permission model than stitch a tracker, a code host and a pipeline together, and the self-managed edition is often what decides it where source and build data have to stay in-house. The planning side is genuine but engineering-shaped: it follows work that ends in a merge request, not client projects or budgets, and the portfolio, compliance and value stream parts sit in the upper plans rather than the entry one. The free plan is a real starting point, but five users per top-level group arrives quickly for a growing team. Budget by more than seats: compute minutes, storage and the AI credits that power Duo are separate lines, so the per-user figure understates what an active engineering group actually spends.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan; Premium $29 / user / month Premium is billed annually and includes 10,000 compute minutes and 500 GiB of storage a month; Ultimate is priced on request. The free plan is capped at five users per top-level group. GitLab Credits for AI features cost $1 each, extra compute minutes $10 per 1,000 and extra storage $5 a month per 10 GiB. Enterprise Agile Planning seats for non-developers cost $15 per user and month on Ultimate. |
| Free trial | Free plan |
| API | Yes, APIs and webhooks |
| Hosting | GitLab.com SaaS, single-tenant Dedicated or self-managed |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- Task planning
- Yes, an agile planning framework with epics, issues and tasks, kanban boards, milestones, roadmaps, issue weights, promotion of an issue to an epic and a planning hierarchy for portfolio work
- Resource planning
- Limited. Work is assigned to people and weighted, and weights roll up to the parent item as a measure of time, value or complexity, but GitLab's planning documentation describes no capacity, availability or workload view per person
- Time tracking
- Yes, hours spent on issues, merge requests, epics and tasks, with estimates, detailed reports and standardised time units
- Reporting and controlling
- Yes, burnup and burndown charts, drill-down reports, code and productivity analytics, insights and health reporting, DORA4 metrics and the Value Streams Dashboard
- Integrations and API
- Yes, APIs, webhooks and integrations, described by GitLab as how other tools plug into the platform
Integrations
- Jira
- Slack
- Microsoft Teams
- Confluence
- Jenkins
- Datadog
- GitHub
- Asana
- Linear
- Redmine
- Google Chat
- Mattermost
- Discord
- Google Play
- Apple App Store Connect
- GitGuardian
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- On-premise
- Support
-
- Email helpdesk
- Community forum
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Video tutorials
- Company size
-
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
Suitability
| Industry | Freelancers | Small and mid-sized | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agencies | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Architecture & Engineering | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Consulting | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Media & Creative | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Technology | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit |
The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- Planning, source control, CI/CD and security in one platform
- Self-managed and single-tenant Dedicated options besides the SaaS
- Time tracking on issues, merge requests, epics and tasks is built in
Limitations
- The free plan is capped at five users per top-level group
- Compute minutes, storage and AI credits are billed on top of seats
- Portfolio and value stream features sit in the upper plans
Pricing
-
Free
$0
Five users per top-level group, 400 compute minutes a month and 10 GiB of storage, with source code management, CI/CD and static application security testing.
-
Premium
$29
Per user and month, billed annually. Unlimited licensed users, 10,000 compute minutes a month, 500 GiB of storage, advanced CI/CD, team project management, SLA management and priority support.
-
Ultimate
Custom
Priced on request. Adds unlimited guest users, 50,000 compute minutes a month, application security testing, supply chain security, vulnerability management, portfolio management, value stream management and compliance features.
-
Enterprise Agile Planning
$15
Per user and month on Ultimate, an add-on seat for product managers and other non-technical stakeholders.
Best For
Alternatives and Comparisons
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Last verified:
Ready to take a closer look at GitLab
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit GitLab