CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

actiTIME vs. Float

At a glance

At a glance

actiTIME

Best for

Best for teams that need billable timesheets on their own infrastructure rather than in a subscription cloud.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Float

Best for

Best for agencies and teams whose main need is clear capacity planning and utilization.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion actiTIME Float
Starting price Free for 3 users; paid from $6 / user / month Billed yearly for 1 to 40 users, $5 per user and month for 41 to 200, a fixed cost for unlimited users above 200. The self-hosted edition is a one-time $120 per user. Starter from ~$7 / scheduled person / month Billed annually. Pro ~$12 per scheduled person and month, Enterprise on request.
Free trial Free trial, no credit card required, plus a free version for up to 3 users 30-day trial
Users Free version up to 3 users Not stated
API Yes, a REST API on paid plans; the free version has none Not stated
Hosting Cloud on Amazon servers, or self-hosted on your own Windows or Unix server Not stated
Made in Canada Australia
Time tracking Yes, weekly timesheet, calendar view with start and stop times, iOS and Android apps and a Chrome extension that logs online activity automatically Yes, built in, with pre-filled timesheets
Invoicing Yes, branded PDF invoices from billing rates and recorded time, with leave and overtime costs and a QuickBooks export No native invoicing
Reporting and controlling Yes, staff performance, time balances and overtime, estimated versus actual, detailed time-track and cost and billing reports, with charts and real-time widgets; the free version exports CSV only Yes, utilization and project budgets with margin tracking
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API on paid plans, plus QuickBooks, Zapier, the Chrome extension and actiPLANS Yes, integrations
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars Not stated
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations QuickBooks, Zapier, actiPLANS, Chrome more entries Jira, Asana, Slack, Google Calendar, Trello

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price actiTIME Free for 3 users; paid from $6 / user / month Float Starter from ~$7 / scheduled person / month
  • Free trial actiTIME Free trial, no credit card required, plus a free version for up to 3 users Float 30-day trial
  • Deployment actiTIME Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Float Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size actiTIME Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Float Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Made in actiTIME Canada Float Australia

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

actiTIME

Strengths

  • Self-hosted licence as a one-time payment, with the data on your own server
  • Billing rates, cost-of-work rates and branded invoices are part of the product
  • Free version for up to three users
  • Chrome extension logs online activity and imports it into the timesheet

Limitations

  • Major upgrades of the self-hosted edition cost 100 percent of the initial price
  • The free version has no API and exports only CSV
  • The per-user rate only drops above 40 users

Float

Strengths

  • Intuitive drag-and-drop scheduling
  • Capacity forecasting and utilization
  • Built-in time tracking and budgets

Limitations

  • Scheduling-first, lighter financials than a full PSA
  • No native invoicing

Plans

Pricing

actiTIME

  • Free $0 Up to 3 users, limited functionality, CSV reports, no API.
  • actiTIME Online $6 / user / month Billed yearly for 1 to 40 users. $5 per user and month for 41 to 200 users, a fixed cost for unlimited users above 200.
  • actiTIME Self-Hosted $120 / user One-time payment, installed on your own server, with direct database access. Minor upgrades are free, major upgrades cost 100 percent of the initial price. A fixed cost for unlimited users is also offered.
Visit site

Float

  • Starter ~$7 Per scheduled person and month, billed annually.
  • Pro ~$12 Per scheduled person and month, billed annually.
  • Enterprise Custom On request.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

actiTIME

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Float

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

actiTIME https://www.actitime.com · no check date recorded yet

Float https://www.float.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.