CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

actiTIME vs. helloHQ

At a glance

At a glance

actiTIME

Best for

Best for teams that need billable timesheets on their own infrastructure rather than in a subscription cloud.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

helloHQ

Best for

Best for small and mid-sized agencies that want the whole process from lead to invoice in one German-hosted system.

  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion actiTIME helloHQ
Starting price Free for 3 users; paid from $6 / user / month Billed yearly for 1 to 40 users, $5 per user and month for 41 to 200, a fixed cost for unlimited users above 200. The self-hosted edition is a one-time $120 per user. From €35 / user / month Team plan, no base fee, minimum 3 users; €29.75 per user in the first contract year. The Pro and Enterprise plans add a monthly base fee of €180 and €600.
Free trial Free trial, no credit card required, plus a free version for up to 3 users 14 days
Users Free version up to 3 users Not stated
API Yes, a REST API on paid plans; the free version has none Not stated
Languages Not stated German, English
Hosting Cloud on Amazon servers, or self-hosted on your own Windows or Unix server Cloud, hosted in Germany, GDPR-compliant
Made in Canada Germany
Time tracking Yes, weekly timesheet, calendar view with start and stop times, iOS and Android apps and a Chrome extension that logs online activity automatically Yes
Invoicing Yes, branded PDF invoices from billing rates and recorded time, with leave and overtime costs and a QuickBooks export Yes
Reporting and controlling Yes, staff performance, time balances and overtime, estimated versus actual, detailed time-track and cost and billing reports, with charts and real-time widgets; the free version exports CSV only Yes, controlling and dashboards, including a PowerBI connection
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API on paid plans, plus QuickBooks, Zapier, the Chrome extension and actiPLANS Yes, REST API
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars Live online demos and webinars, Personal consulting, On-site training
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized
Integrations QuickBooks, Zapier, actiPLANS, Chrome more entries PowerBI, Microsoft Exchange, awork, Jira, Personio, agicap, Zapier, Memtime, REST API

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price actiTIME Free for 3 users; paid from $6 / user / month helloHQ From €35 / user / month
  • Free trial actiTIME Free trial, no credit card required, plus a free version for up to 3 users helloHQ 14 days
  • Deployment actiTIME Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise helloHQ Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size actiTIME Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise helloHQ Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting actiTIME Cloud on Amazon servers, or self-hosted on your own Windows or Unix server helloHQ Cloud, hosted in Germany, GDPR-compliant

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

actiTIME

Strengths

  • Self-hosted licence as a one-time payment, with the data on your own server
  • Billing rates, cost-of-work rates and branded invoices are part of the product
  • Free version for up to three users
  • Chrome extension logs online activity and imports it into the timesheet

Limitations

  • Major upgrades of the self-hosted edition cost 100 percent of the initial price
  • The free version has no API and exports only CSV
  • The per-user rate only drops above 40 users

helloHQ

Strengths

  • Centralises the whole agency process in one system
  • Replaces many separate tools
  • Responsive support
  • German hosting

Limitations

  • Occasional slow load times reported
  • No built-in ticketing
  • Some customisation limits

Plans

Pricing

actiTIME

  • Free $0 Up to 3 users, limited functionality, CSV reports, no API.
  • actiTIME Online $6 / user / month Billed yearly for 1 to 40 users. $5 per user and month for 41 to 200 users, a fixed cost for unlimited users above 200.
  • actiTIME Self-Hosted $120 / user One-time payment, installed on your own server, with direct database access. Minor upgrades are free, major upgrades cost 100 percent of the initial price. A fixed cost for unlimited users is also offered.
Visit site

helloHQ

  • Team €35 Per user and month, no base fee. Minimum 3 users. First contract year discounted.
  • Pro €30 Per user and month, plus a €180 monthly base fee. Minimum 5 users. First contract year discounted.
  • Enterprise €24 Per user and month, plus a €600 monthly base fee. Minimum 20 users. First contract year discounted.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

actiTIME

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

helloHQ

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

actiTIME https://www.actitime.com · no check date recorded yet

helloHQ https://www.hellohq.io · checked against the official source on 2026-08-14

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.