CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

ClickTime vs. Hubstaff

At a glance

At a glance

ClickTime

Best for

Best for professional services and finance teams that need hours tied to labour cost, budgets and audit-ready approvals.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Hubstaff

Best for

Best for remote and distributed teams that want time tracking with productivity monitoring and payroll in one tool.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ClickTime Hubstaff
Starting price From $12 / user / month Starter billed annually; $15 per user / month billed monthly, capped at 25 users. Team $15 annually or $19 monthly and Premier $27 annually or $31 monthly, both capped at 200 users. Enterprise on request. Expense tracking is a $4 per person / month add-on. From ~$4.99 / seat / month Starter billed annually. Grow ~$7.50, Team ~$10 per seat and month; Enterprise on request. Month-to-month billing is higher (Starter ~$7, Grow ~$9, Team ~$12).
Free trial Not stated 14-day free trial
API Yes Not stated
Made in Not stated USA
Time tracking Yes, manual and mobile timesheets, calendar sync with Google Calendar and Outlook, and automatic capture from Jira and GitHub Yes, timer with optional screenshots, activity levels and GPS tracking
Invoicing No native invoicing; billing rates set by person, project or task feed a Client Invoice Report, and time and expenses sync to QuickBooks for the invoice itself Yes, invoicing plus payments and payroll on higher tiers
Reporting and controlling Yes, more than 70 reports with approval workflows and change history, plus labour cost allocation, CapEx vs OpEx and project budgeting on higher tiers Yes, detailed timesheets, activity and project reports
Integrations and API Yes, a public API plus around 100 integrations (Salesforce, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks, ADP Workforce Now, BambooHR, Rippling, Asana, Jira, Slack) Yes, 35+ integrations plus an API
AI features stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Not stated
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Salesforce, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks, ADP Workforce Now, BambooHR, HiBob, Rippling, Asana, Jira, GitHub, Google Calendar, Outlook, Slack Jira, Asana, ClickUp, Trello, Slack, QuickBooks, PayPal, Gusto, Salesforce

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ClickTime From $12 / user / month Hubstaff From ~$4.99 / seat / month
  • Company size ClickTime Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Hubstaff Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • AI features ClickTime Yes Hubstaff No
  • Time tracking ClickTime Yes, manual and mobile timesheets, calendar sync with Google Calendar and Outlook, and automatic capture from Jira and GitHub Hubstaff Yes, timer with optional screenshots, activity levels and GPS tracking
  • Invoicing ClickTime No native invoicing; billing rates set by person, project or task feed a Client Invoice Report, and time and expenses sync to QuickBooks for the invoice itself Hubstaff Yes, invoicing plus payments and payroll on higher tiers

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ClickTime

Strengths

  • Labour cost allocation with CapEx and OpEx split for capitalisation and R&D tax credits
  • Expenses, mileage and reimbursements alongside the hours
  • Public API and around a hundred integrations

Limitations

  • Starts well above the entry price of most time trackers
  • Starter caps at 25 users and Team and Premier at 200
  • Expense tracking costs extra per person

Hubstaff

Strengths

  • Screenshots, activity levels and GPS for remote and field teams
  • Built-in payments and payroll
  • Broad integrations (Jira, Asana, QuickBooks, PayPal and more)

Limitations

  • Monitoring features can feel like surveillance
  • Per-seat pricing adds up for larger teams

Plans

Pricing

ClickTime

  • Starter $12 Per user / month billed annually, $15 monthly. Up to 25 users. Time tracking, 70+ reports and email reminders.
  • Team $15 Per user / month billed annually, $19 monthly. Up to 200 users. Adds ClickTime AI, approval workflows, advanced billing rates and time off management.
  • Premier $27 Per user / month billed annually, $31 monthly. Up to 200 users. Adds project budgeting, resource management and Report Studio.
  • Enterprise Custom On request. Custom integrations, advanced security, dedicated support and all AI features.
Visit site

Hubstaff

  • Starter ~$4.99 Per seat and month, billed annually.
  • Grow ~$7.50 Per seat and month, billed annually.
  • Team ~$10 Per seat and month, billed annually.
  • Enterprise Custom On request.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ClickTime

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Hubstaff

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ClickTime https://www.clicktime.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Hubstaff https://hubstaff.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.