CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

ClickTime vs. Kimai

At a glance

At a glance

ClickTime

Best for

Best for professional services and finance teams that need hours tied to labour cost, budgets and audit-ready approvals.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Kimai

Best for

Best for teams that want to self-host their time tracking and keep the hours on their own server.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ClickTime Kimai
Starting price From $12 / user / month Starter billed annually; $15 per user / month billed monthly, capped at 25 users. Team $15 annually or $19 monthly and Premier $27 annually or $31 monthly, both capped at 200 users. Enterprise on request. Expense tracking is a $4 per person / month add-on. Free (self-hosted); Kimai Cloud from €2.99 / user / month Cloud Standard €2.99 per user / month billed annually, €3.99 billed monthly. Professional €3.99 annually, €4.99 monthly. Self-hosting is free under the AGPL 3.0 license.
Free trial Not stated 30 days on Kimai Cloud
API Yes Yes, JSON API
Languages Not stated More than 30
Hosting Not stated Kimai Cloud in the EU, or self-hosted via Docker
Made in Not stated Austria
Time tracking Yes, manual and mobile timesheets, calendar sync with Google Calendar and Outlook, and automatic capture from Jira and GitHub Yes, time booked against customers, projects and activities with billable rates and role-based permissions
Invoicing No native invoicing; billing rates set by person, project or task feed a Client Invoice Report, and time and expenses sync to QuickBooks for the invoice itself Yes, invoices generated from tracked time with configurable PDF and DOCX templates
Reporting and controlling Yes, more than 70 reports with approval workflows and change history, plus labour cost allocation, CapEx vs OpEx and project budgeting on higher tiers Yes, reporting and analysis with exports in several formats and audit logs
Integrations and API Yes, a public API plus around 100 integrations (Salesforce, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks, ADP Workforce Now, BambooHR, Rippling, Asana, Jira, Slack) Yes, a JSON API, plus LDAP, SAML and two-factor authentication
AI features stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat Email helpdesk
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Salesforce, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks, ADP Workforce Now, BambooHR, HiBob, Rippling, Asana, Jira, GitHub, Google Calendar, Outlook, Slack Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ClickTime From $12 / user / month Kimai Free (self-hosted); Kimai Cloud from €2.99 / user / month
  • Deployment ClickTime Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Kimai Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Company size ClickTime Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Kimai Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support ClickTime Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat Kimai Email helpdesk
  • AI features ClickTime Yes Kimai No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ClickTime

Strengths

  • Labour cost allocation with CapEx and OpEx split for capitalisation and R&D tax credits
  • Expenses, mileage and reimbursements alongside the hours
  • Public API and around a hundred integrations

Limitations

  • Starts well above the entry price of most time trackers
  • Starter caps at 25 users and Team and Premier at 200
  • Expense tracking costs extra per person

Kimai

Strengths

  • Free and open source under AGPL 3.0, self-hosting keeps the data on your own server
  • Native invoicing with configurable PDF and DOCX templates
  • JSON API alongside LDAP, SAML and two-factor authentication

Limitations

  • Self-hosting means running the setup, updates and backups yourself
  • The cloud plans list email support only

Plans

Pricing

ClickTime

  • Starter $12 Per user / month billed annually, $15 monthly. Up to 25 users. Time tracking, 70+ reports and email reminders.
  • Team $15 Per user / month billed annually, $19 monthly. Up to 200 users. Adds ClickTime AI, approval workflows, advanced billing rates and time off management.
  • Premier $27 Per user / month billed annually, $31 monthly. Up to 200 users. Adds project budgeting, resource management and Report Studio.
  • Enterprise Custom On request. Custom integrations, advanced security, dedicated support and all AI features.
Visit site

Kimai

  • Self-hosted €0 Free and open source under AGPL 3.0. Docker or manual installation on your own server.
  • Cloud Standard €2.99 Per user / month billed annually, €3.99 billed monthly. Project tracking, billable hours, invoicing, exports, audit logs, translations and email support.
  • Cloud Professional €3.99 Per user / month billed annually, €4.99 billed monthly. Adds working hour accounts, vacation and sick leave, expenses, custom fields, task management, customer portal, kiosk mode, daily backups, SAML single sign-on and a custom domain with SSL.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ClickTime

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Kimai

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ClickTime https://www.clicktime.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Kimai https://www.kimai.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-06

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.