CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

clockodo vs. Runn

At a glance

At a glance

clockodo

Best for

Best for German SMBs and agencies that need legally compliant work-time tracking.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Runn

Best for

Best for firms that need 6-month capacity forecasting and what-if scenario planning.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion clockodo Runn
Starting price Free; Basic from €4 / user / month Pro €8 and Pro Plus €10 per user and month, each an introductory rate valid for 12 months, then €10 and €12. Annual payment saves 5 percent in every tariff. The free plan covers one self-employed user. Lite from $7 / resource seat / month Standard $11 per seat and month, Advanced on request. Seats count resources in the planner, not users with a login. Volume discounts start at 100+ seats.
Free trial Free plan for 1 user, plus a 14-day trial for any number of employees without payment details 30-day trial of the Standard plan, no card required
Languages German, English Not stated
Made in Germany New Zealand
Time tracking Yes, digital stopwatch and project times, billable and non-billable, with individual hour accounts for target hours, overtime and absences Yes, timesheets from the Standard plan
Invoicing No native invoicing, available through integrations No native invoicing; rate cards, budgets and margin only
Reporting and controlling Yes, drag-and-drop report builder Yes, utilization, capacity, performance, workforce and bench reporting, with planned versus actuals against project budgets
Integrations and API Yes, an open REST API, an official MCP server, a Chrome extension and a published list of integrations for accounting, payroll, project management and CRM Yes, an API from the Standard plan, plus HR, time-tracking and automation integrations
AI features No stated Yes
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Lexware Office, sevdesk, easybill, FastBill, Billomat, bexio, QuickBooks, weclapp, Sage, ADDISON OneClick, Personio, Jira, Asana, ClickUp, Trello, GitHub, GitLab, Azure DevOps, Confluence, HubSpot, Zendesk, Zammad, Memtime, Zapier, Zoho Flow Jira, Harvest, Clockify, BambooHR, HiBob, Gusto, Workday, Sage HR, Zapier, n8n

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price clockodo Free; Basic from €4 / user / month Runn Lite from $7 / resource seat / month
  • Free trial clockodo Free plan for 1 user, plus a 14-day trial for any number of employees without payment details Runn 30-day trial of the Standard plan, no card required
  • Company size clockodo Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Runn Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support clockodo Email helpdesk, Phone Runn Email helpdesk, Chat
  • Made in clockodo Germany Runn New Zealand

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

clockodo

Strengths

  • Made in Germany, GDPR and work-time-law compliant
  • Strong custom report builder
  • Fast, competent support

Limitations

  • No native invoicing, only via integrations
  • Mobile app could be better

Runn

Strengths

  • Saved scenarios let an alternative plan be modelled without touching the live one
  • Rate cards and budgets tie staffing decisions to cost, revenue and margin
  • Wide integration list across HR systems, time trackers and automation tools
  • Clean interface

Limitations

  • Forecast-first, day-to-day scheduling feels secondary
  • No free plan; billing is per resource seat, so people who are planned but never log in still cost a seat
  • Timesheets, integrations and the API need the Standard plan or higher
  • Custom dashboards, workstreams, SAML SSO and SmartMatch AI are Advanced only, and Advanced is quote-only

Plans

Pricing

clockodo

  • Free €0 For solo self-employed, maximum one user. Without locking of time entries, absence management and team features.
  • Basic €4 Per user and month. Work time tracking and absence management.
  • Pro €8 Per user and month, valid for 12 months, then €10. Adds project time tracking and project controlling.
  • Pro Plus €10 Per user and month, valid for 12 months, then €12. Adds single sign-on, budget warnings, priority service and an extended SLA.
Visit site

Runn

  • Lite $7 Per resource seat and month. Scheduling, tentative projects, capacity and utilization charts, skills and tags, project financials.
  • Standard $11 Per resource seat and month. Adds timesheets, five custom fields, out-of-the-box integrations, the API and a 30-day audit log.
  • Advanced Not stated On request. Adds unlimited custom fields and reports, workstreams, custom dashboards, SAML SSO, SmartMatch AI and optional implementation and support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

clockodo

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Runn

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

clockodo https://www.clockodo.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-14

Runn https://www.runn.io · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.