CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Caspio vs. Rork

At a glance

At a glance

Caspio

Best for

Best for regulated organisations building database applications and portals where HIPAA, SOC 2 or GDPR compliance has to be certified.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Rork

Best for

Best for solo makers who want a native iPhone or Android app they own the code to and can publish to the stores themselves.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Caspio Rork
Starting price From $270 / month Team plan billed annually; $300 on monthly billing. Business is $540 annually or $600 monthly, and a separate HIPAA/Compliance Edition is $500 a month on a one-year term. All plans include unlimited app users. lower value Free tier; paid from $20 / month Rork Pro $20 / month for 100 credits up to $100 for 500; Rork Max $200 / month for 1,000 credits up to $1,800 for 10,000. Native iOS requires Max.
Free trial Free trial with access to core features, no upfront cost Free tier
Commercial use Not stated Yes, paid users own the generated code
Output Online database applications, deployed standalone or embedded Native iPhone apps (Swift and SwiftUI), native Android apps (Kotlin and Compose) and web apps (Vite and React)
API Yes, a REST API with webhooks and an MCP server Not stated
Hosting Caspio-hosted on AWS, with data residency in the US, Canada, the EU, UK, Australia and South America Not stated
What it generates Online database applications generated from a description by the Caspi AI builder, then edited in the Flex drag-and-drop builder; automations cover scheduled tasks and triggered actions Native iPhone apps, native Android apps and web apps, plus iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro targets on the Max plan
Stack and frameworks A SQL Server data core with role and record-level security, encryption and audit trails; apps are configured rather than written in a framework Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone, Kotlin and Compose on Android, Vite and React on the web; Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, existing ones still build
Auth and database SQL Server with user directories and SAML single sign-on; record-level security controls which rows a given user sees Rork Cloud, a managed Postgres backend with row-level security and edge functions built on Supabase and transferable to your own Supabase organisation, or connect your own Supabase or Firebase project; sign in with Apple and Google via OAuth
Hosting and deploy Caspio-hosted on AWS; apps deploy standalone or embed as components in a website, intranet or customer portal, with data residency across six regions Publish to the Apple App Store, with an AI App Store Reviewer to check a submission first; Google Play via a manually created Android App Bundle; web apps are shared as a link, with no store or review
Payments Not stated RevenueCat for paywalls, in-app purchases, subscriptions and free trials
Access to the code Apps run on the platform; access to the data is through a documented REST API, webhooks and an MCP server rather than an exportable codebase Paid users own all generated code and download it through a two-way GitHub sync, so it can be edited locally and imported back
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, Community forum Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Guided onboarding, Personal consulting Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Zapier, Make, n8n, Keragon Supabase, Firebase, RevenueCat, GitHub

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Caspio From $270 / month Rork Free tier; paid from $20 / month
  • Free trial Caspio Free trial with access to core features, no upfront cost Rork Free tier
  • Company size Caspio Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Rork Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Support Caspio Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, Community forum Rork Email helpdesk, Chat
  • MCP-ready Caspio Yes Rork No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Caspio

Strengths

  • HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and GDPR certified annually by independent audit, not self-attested
  • Unlimited app users on every plan, so cost does not grow with the audience
  • Phone, live chat and ticketing, staffed by in-house support engineers rather than outsourced

Limitations

  • Entry pricing starts at $270 a month, well above most tools in this category
  • Apps live on the platform rather than as an exportable codebase
  • Builder seats are capped on the Team plan at five app authors

Rork

Strengths

  • Generates genuinely native code, Swift and SwiftUI on iPhone and Kotlin and Compose on Android, rather than a wrapped web view
  • Paid users own all generated code, with two-way GitHub sync back into the project
  • Rork Cloud gives an app a managed Postgres backend with no setup, and can be moved into your own Supabase organisation later

Limitations

  • Native iOS is only on the Max plan, from $200 per month
  • The free plan builds web apps only, and projects on it are public
  • Google Play publishing is a manual App Bundle upload
  • Expo and React Native projects can no longer be created, so a shared codebase for both phones is no longer an option

Plans

Pricing

Caspio

  • Team $270 Per month billed annually ($300 monthly). 5 app authors, 250K data records, unlimited app users.
  • Business $540 Per month billed annually ($600 monthly). Unlimited app authors, 1M data records.
  • HIPAA / Compliance Edition $500 Per month on a one-year term, for workloads under a signed Business Associate Agreement.
  • Enterprise Custom Quoted by the vendor, for full governance, security and guaranteed performance.
Visit site

Rork

  • Free $0 5 credits per day, up to 35 per month in major markets. Web apps only, projects are public.
  • Rork Pro From $20 Per month for 100 credits, up to $100 for 500. Native Android and web apps, private projects, dev mode.
  • Rork Max From $200 Per month for 1,000 credits, up to $1,800 for 10,000. Adds native iOS, iPad, Apple Watch and Vision Pro, and priority chat support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Caspio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Rork

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Caspio https://www.caspio.com · no check date recorded yet

Rork https://rork.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.