CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Caspio vs. Thunkable

At a glance

At a glance

Caspio

Best for

Best for regulated organisations building database applications and portals where HIPAA, SOC 2 or GDPR compliance has to be certified.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Thunkable

Best for

Best for solo makers and small teams that want to describe a mobile app, then refine it visually or in code and publish it to both stores.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Caspio Thunkable
Starting price From $270 / month Team plan billed annually; $300 on monthly billing. Business is $540 annually or $600 monthly, and a separate HIPAA/Compliance Edition is $500 a month on a one-year term. All plans include unlimited app users. lower value Free plan; paid from $18 / month Billed yearly; billed monthly the same plans cost $19, $59 and $189. Every plan carries a monthly AI token allowance, from 2,000 on Free to 100,000 on Advanced. Enterprise and education plans are quoted on request.
Free trial Free trial with access to core features, no upfront cost Free plan with 3 public projects, 5 screens per project and no published apps
Output Online database applications, deployed standalone or embedded Native iOS and Android apps plus web apps, published from one project
API Yes, a REST API with webhooks and an MCP server Not stated
Hosting Caspio-hosted on AWS, with data residency in the US, Canada, the EU, UK, Australia and South America Not stated
What it generates Online database applications generated from a description by the Caspi AI builder, then edited in the Flex drag-and-drop builder; automations cover scheduled tasks and triggered actions Native iOS and Android apps plus web apps, generated from a written description by the AI Builder and then editable screen by screen
Stack and frameworks A SQL Server data core with role and record-level security, encryption and audit trails; apps are configured rather than written in a framework Drag-and-drop designer with blocks, plus a built-in code editor for direct edits alongside the AI
Auth and database SQL Server with user directories and SAML single sign-on; record-level security controls which rows a given user sees Local tables, Google Sheets, Airtable, Webflow, the Firebase Realtime Database and Cloudinary; user sign-in through the Firebase Authentication REST API
Hosting and deploy Caspio-hosted on AWS; apps deploy standalone or embed as components in a website, intranet or customer portal, with data residency across six regions Published from the platform to the Apple App Store, Google Play and the web on a custom domain, with TestFlight for iOS beta builds
Payments Not stated Yes, in-app purchases through RevenueCat, plus AdMob for advertising
Access to the code Apps run on the platform; access to the data is through a documented REST API, webhooks and an MCP server rather than an exportable codebase Compiled builds rather than a repository: downloading an Android app sends an APK by email, and publishing sends an AAB to upload to the Play Store. No source-code export or Git sync is documented, so edits stay in the builder
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, Community forum Chat, Community forum
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Guided onboarding, Personal consulting Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Zapier, Make, n8n, Keragon more entries Firebase, Google Sheets, Airtable, Webflow, Cloudinary, OpenAI, Google Maps, Google Translate, RevenueCat, AdMob, OneSignal

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Caspio From $270 / month Thunkable Free plan; paid from $18 / month
  • Free trial Caspio Free trial with access to core features, no upfront cost Thunkable Free plan with 3 public projects, 5 screens per project and no published apps
  • Company size Caspio Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Thunkable Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Caspio Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, Community forum Thunkable Chat, Community forum
  • MCP-ready Caspio Yes Thunkable No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Caspio

Strengths

  • HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and GDPR certified annually by independent audit, not self-attested
  • Unlimited app users on every plan, so cost does not grow with the audience
  • Phone, live chat and ticketing, staffed by in-house support engineers rather than outsourced

Limitations

  • Entry pricing starts at $270 a month, well above most tools in this category
  • Apps live on the platform rather than as an exportable codebase
  • Builder seats are capped on the Team plan at five app authors

Thunkable

Strengths

  • AI Builder turns a written description into a working, fully editable project
  • One project publishes to iOS, Android and the web
  • Visual blocks and a built-in code editor sit side by side, so edits are not limited to prompting
  • Documented data sources and integrations cover Firebase, Google Sheets, Airtable, OpenAI, RevenueCat and more

Limitations

  • The free plan has no private projects and no published apps
  • Every plan meters AI use by token allowance
  • Live published apps are capped below the Advanced plan
  • Private projects fall back to read-only if the subscription lapses

Plans

Pricing

Caspio

  • Team $270 Per month billed annually ($300 monthly). 5 app authors, 250K data records, unlimited app users.
  • Business $540 Per month billed annually ($600 monthly). Unlimited app authors, 1M data records.
  • HIPAA / Compliance Edition $500 Per month on a one-year term, for workloads under a signed Business Associate Agreement.
  • Enterprise Custom Quoted by the vendor, for full governance, security and guaranteed performance.
Visit site

Thunkable

  • Free $0 2,000 AI tokens per month, 3 public projects, 5 screens per project. No private projects and no published apps.
  • Accelerator $18 Per month, billed yearly ($19 billed monthly). 20,000 AI tokens, 5 public and 1 private project, 10 screens per project.
  • Builder $37 Per month, billed yearly ($59 billed monthly). 50,000 AI tokens, unlimited public projects, 10 private projects, unlimited screens, 1 live published app, custom branding.
  • Advanced $99 Per month, billed yearly ($189 billed monthly). 100,000 AI tokens, unlimited private projects and unlimited live published apps, priority support.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted on request, for teams. A separate education plan covers students, teachers and districts.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Caspio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Thunkable

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Caspio https://www.caspio.com · no check date recorded yet

Thunkable https://thunkable.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.