CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI App Builders Comparison

Thunkable vs. Xano

At a glance

At a glance

Thunkable

Best for

Best for solo makers and small teams that want to describe a mobile app, then refine it visually or in code and publish it to both stores.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Xano

Best for

Best for teams building a scalable backend and API without managing servers, with the frontend built elsewhere.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Thunkable Xano
Starting price lower value Free plan; paid from $18 / month Billed yearly; billed monthly the same plans cost $19, $59 and $189. Every plan carries a monthly AI token allowance, from 2,000 on Free to 100,000 on Advanced. Enterprise and education plans are quoted on request. Free tier; paid from $85 / month Prices are billed annually: Essential $85 and Pro $224 per month. Custom plans are quoted by the vendor.
Free trial Free plan with 3 public projects, 5 screens per project and no published apps Free tier with rate limits, up to 100K database records and 1 workspace
Output Native iOS and Android apps plus web apps, published from one project Backends: PostgreSQL databases, REST APIs, background tasks and agent tooling
API Not stated Yes, the platform's purpose is generating APIs, with autogenerated OpenAPI docs and an MCP server
Hosting Not stated Xano-managed regions or self-hosted on Azure, AWS, GCP or on-premise
What it generates Native iOS and Android apps plus web apps, generated from a written description by the AI Builder and then editable screen by screen The backend rather than the whole app: database, REST APIs, custom functions, middleware, background tasks and triggers, with the frontend left to another tool
Stack and frameworks Drag-and-drop designer with blocks, plus a built-in code editor for direct edits alongside the AI PostgreSQL with Redis caching and Docker microservices; logic is built visually or written as XanoScript, which the CLI syncs to files on disk; works with React, Next.js, Flutter, Webflow, Framer and AI-generated frontends from Lovable and Bolt
Auth and database Local tables, Google Sheets, Airtable, Webflow, the Firebase Realtime Database and Cloudinary; user sign-in through the Firebase Authentication REST API PostgreSQL with unlimited records from the Essential tier; authentication endpoints (/signup, /login, /me) ship by default on JWE tokens, with role-based access control and enterprise SSO through GitHub, Google and Microsoft
Hosting and deploy Published from the platform to the Apple App Store, Google Play and the web on a custom domain, with TestFlight for iOS beta builds Xano-managed hosting across multiple regions, or self-hosted on Azure, AWS, GCP or on-premise; releases are immutable versioned objects promoted through staging
Payments Yes, in-app purchases through RevenueCat, plus AdMob for advertising Not stated
Access to the code Compiled builds rather than a repository: downloading an Android app sends an APK by email, and publishing sends an AAB to upload to the Play Store. No source-code export or Git sync is documented, so edits stay in the builder XanoScript is readable and editable, and the CLI syncs the workspace to files on disk; APIs carry autogenerated OpenAPI documentation
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Chat, Community forum Chat, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Firebase, Google Sheets, Airtable, Webflow, Cloudinary, OpenAI, Google Maps, Google Translate, RevenueCat, AdMob, OneSignal Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Lovable, Bolt.new, Webflow, Framer, Flutter, Datadog

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Thunkable Free plan; paid from $18 / month Xano Free tier; paid from $85 / month
  • Free trial Thunkable Free plan with 3 public projects, 5 screens per project and no published apps Xano Free tier with rate limits, up to 100K database records and 1 workspace
  • Deployment Thunkable Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Xano Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • MCP-ready Thunkable No Xano Yes
  • Output Thunkable Native iOS and Android apps plus web apps, published from one project Xano Backends: PostgreSQL databases, REST APIs, background tasks and agent tooling

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Thunkable

Strengths

  • AI Builder turns a written description into a working, fully editable project
  • One project publishes to iOS, Android and the web
  • Visual blocks and a built-in code editor sit side by side, so edits are not limited to prompting
  • Documented data sources and integrations cover Firebase, Google Sheets, Airtable, OpenAI, RevenueCat and more

Limitations

  • The free plan has no private projects and no published apps
  • Every plan meters AI use by token allowance
  • Live published apps are capped below the Advanced plan
  • Private projects fall back to read-only if the subscription lapses

Xano

Strengths

  • Self-hosting on Azure, AWS, GCP or on-premise, not only the vendor's cloud
  • Frontend-agnostic: pairs with React, Flutter, Webflow, Framer, Lovable or Bolt rather than dictating one
  • An official MCP server, so external AI agents build against the same workspace rules

Limitations

  • The first paid tier is $85 a month, a steep step up from the free one
  • It builds only the backend, so a second tool is needed for the interface
  • The free tier is rate-limited to 10 requests per 20 seconds and watermarks stored images

Plans

Pricing

Thunkable

  • Free $0 2,000 AI tokens per month, 3 public projects, 5 screens per project. No private projects and no published apps.
  • Accelerator $18 Per month, billed yearly ($19 billed monthly). 20,000 AI tokens, 5 public and 1 private project, 10 screens per project.
  • Builder $37 Per month, billed yearly ($59 billed monthly). 50,000 AI tokens, unlimited public projects, 10 private projects, unlimited screens, 1 live published app, custom branding.
  • Advanced $99 Per month, billed yearly ($189 billed monthly). 100,000 AI tokens, unlimited private projects and unlimited live published apps, priority support.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted on request, for teams. A separate education plan covers students, teachers and districts.
Visit site

Xano

  • Free $0 Core building tools, rate-limited to 10 requests per 20 seconds. Up to 100K database records, 1GB watermarked image storage, 1 workspace.
  • Essential $85 Per month billed annually. Dedicated infrastructure without API rate limits, unlimited database records, 3 workspaces, 5 team seats, 100GB storage.
  • Pro $224 Per month billed annually. 5 workspaces, 10 team seats, 250GB storage, managed load balancer, role management, 99.99% SLA.
  • Custom Custom Quoted by the vendor. Self-hosting, advanced security, multiple tenant configurations and dedicated support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Thunkable

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Xano

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Thunkable https://thunkable.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

Xano https://www.xano.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.