CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Image Comparison

InvokeAI vs. Reve

At a glance

At a glance

InvokeAI

Best for

Best for artists and studios who want local, self-hosted image generation with a proper editing canvas.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Reve

Best for

Best for designers and marketers who need images that follow a detailed brief and carry accurate text.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion InvokeAI Reve
Starting price Free Open source under Apache-2.0. You supply the hardware. From $7.99 / month Reve Lite; Reve Pro is $20 a month and adds video, and Teams is $59 per user a month through sales. The free tier stays available.
Free trial Free and open source, no subscription Free tier with a daily allowance, commercial rights included
Commercial use The application is Apache-2.0; the licence of each model you load applies to its output Yes, you own the output on all plans, including free
Output Images Native 4K (16 megapixel) images with no upscaling step, plus video clips animated from an image
Hosting Self-hosted on Windows 10+, macOS on Apple Silicon or Linux, with a GPU Not stated
Where you use it Self-hosted application on Windows 10+, macOS (Apple Silicon) and Linux, installed via installer, Docker or manual Python setup Web app plus a developer API
Text in images Depends on the model loaded; the application renders nothing itself Yes, legible typography is a focus of the model
Customization and control Unified Canvas with layers, brush tools and in- and outpainting, node-based workflows, ControlNet, LoRAs, textual inversions, batch generation and upscaling Natural-language editing and remix, native 4K generation
Open weights Yes, Apache-2.0 application running open-weight models including Stable Diffusion 1.5 and 2.0, SDXL, Flux and CogView 4 No
API Yes, the self-hosted server exposes an HTTP API built with FastAPI and Socket.IO, with an annotated OpenAPI spec; it is the same interface the web UI runs on Yes, generate, edit and remix
Deployment On-premise more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Not stated
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price InvokeAI Free Reve From $7.99 / month
  • Free trial InvokeAI Free and open source, no subscription Reve Free tier with a daily allowance, commercial rights included
  • Deployment InvokeAI On-premise Reve Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Commercial use InvokeAI The application is Apache-2.0; the licence of each model you load applies to its output Reve Yes, you own the output on all plans, including free
  • Output InvokeAI Images Reve Native 4K (16 megapixel) images with no upscaling step, plus video clips animated from an image

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

InvokeAI

Strengths

  • Free and Apache-2.0, a permissive licence for commercial work
  • Layer-based Unified Canvas with brushes, inpainting and outpainting
  • Runs locally, so prompts and output stay on your own hardware
  • Supports 25+ model architectures with LoRA, textual inversion and ControlNet management

Limitations

  • You supply and maintain a suitable GPU
  • macOS support is Apple Silicon only
  • Community support rather than a vendor helpdesk

Reve

Strengths

  • Strong prompt adherence and legible text
  • Native 4K output with no upscaling step
  • Commercial rights on every plan, including the free tier
  • Natural-language editing instead of re-prompting

Limitations

  • Newer product with a lighter ecosystem than established suites
  • No open weights

Plans

Pricing

InvokeAI

  • Open source $0 Apache-2.0 licence, self-hosted on your own hardware.
Visit site

Reve

  • Free Not stated Daily allowance of creative energy, commercial rights included, plus a one-time 40 seconds of video.
  • Reve Lite $7.99 / month Everything in the free plan with five times the images and five times the storage.
  • Reve Pro $20 / month Adds video generation and PDF and audio uploads as context, with a hundred times the images and storage of the free plan, 250 video seconds a month and 100-second boosts at $20 each.
  • Teams $59 / user / month Sold through sales. Everything in Pro plus shared images and references, one billing account, ten million energy shared across the team and roughly 1,500 images per user per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

InvokeAI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Reve

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

InvokeAI https://invoke.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

Reve https://reve.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-11

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.