Best for
Best for agencies and service teams that want strong project management, time tracking and resource planning with EU/German hosting, without built-in invoicing.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Project Management Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for agencies and service teams that want strong project management, time tracking and resource planning with EU/German hosting, without built-in invoicing.
Best for
Best for engineering organisations that want planning, code, CI/CD and security on one platform.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | awork | GitLab |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From €5 / user / month Billed annually. | Free plan; Premium $29 / user / month Premium is billed annually and includes 10,000 compute minutes and 500 GiB of storage a month; Ultimate is priced on request. The free plan is capped at five users per top-level group. GitLab Credits for AI features cost $1 each, extra compute minutes $10 per 1,000 and extra storage $5 a month per 10 GiB. Enterprise Agile Planning seats for non-developers cost $15 per user and month on Ultimate. |
| Free trial | 14 days | Free plan |
| API | Not stated | Yes, APIs and webhooks |
| Languages | German, English | Not stated |
| Hosting | EU (Germany, Frankfurt), ISO/IEC 27001 certified, GDPR-compliant | GitLab.com SaaS, single-tenant Dedicated or self-managed |
| Made in | Germany (Hamburg) | Not stated |
| Task planning | Yes, kanban, lists and timeline/Gantt | Yes, an agile planning framework with epics, issues and tasks, kanban boards, milestones, roadmaps, issue weights, promotion of an issue to an epic and a planning hierarchy for portfolio work |
| Resource planning | Yes, resource and capacity planning | Limited. Work is assigned to people and weighted, and weights roll up to the parent item as a measure of time, value or complexity, but GitLab's planning documentation describes no capacity, availability or workload view per person |
| Time tracking | Yes, in the app and from calendar appointments | Yes, hours spent on issues, merge requests, epics and tasks, with estimates, detailed reports and standardised time units |
| Reporting and controlling | Yes, dashboards, reporting and analytics | Yes, burnup and burndown charts, drill-down reports, code and productivity analytics, insights and health reporting, DORA4 metrics and the Value Streams Dashboard |
| Integrations and API | Yes, API | Yes, APIs, webhooks and integrations, described by GitLab as how other tools plug into the platform |
| AI features | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise |
| Support | more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, Phone | Email helpdesk, Community forum |
| Onboarding | Guided onboarding | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Slack, Salesforce, Google Sheets, MOCO, sevdesk, Lexware Office, easybill, bexio, Xero, API | more entries Jira, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Confluence, Jenkins, Datadog, GitHub, Asana, Linear, Redmine, Google Chat, Mattermost, Discord, Google Play, Apple App Store Connect, GitGuardian |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
awork
Strengths
Limitations
GitLab
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
awork
GitLab
What users say
awork
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
GitLab
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Where this comes from
awork https://www.awork.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-14
GitLab https://about.gitlab.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.