CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Social Media Management Comparison

Brandwatch vs. Planoly

At a glance

At a glance

Brandwatch

Best for

Best for enterprise brands and agencies that want social listening and consumer research on the same platform as publishing and the engagement inbox.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Planoly

Best for

Best for solo creators and small teams who plan an Instagram feed visually and sell through a link-in-bio store.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Brandwatch Planoly
Starting price Price on request No price list is published. Brandwatch states that standard through enterprise plans are available for each of its solutions and quotes after a demo. From $14 / month Annual billing; paid monthly the same plans are $16, $28 and $55. Starter covers 1 social set and 1 user, Growth 2 and 2, Pro 6 and 6, with extra social sets and users as paid add-ons on Growth and Pro.
Free trial Not stated 14-day free trial on all paid plans, plus a free plan in the mobile app with 10 uploads per month
Users Not stated 1 user on Starter, 2 on Growth and 6 on Pro, with additional users as paid add-ons on Growth and Pro
API Yes, six developer APIs: Analysis, Data Upload, Consumer Research, Measure, Publish and Engage MCP server for AI clients such as Claude and ChatGPT, covering creating and scheduling posts, the media library, account and per-post analytics and shareable reports
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps for publishing and engagement Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps
Networks covered Engage centralises Facebook, X, Instagram, LinkedIn, WhatsApp and YouTube in one inbox; Advertise covers Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn ads Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube, Threads, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest and Amazon
Scheduling and calendar Yes, a unified cross-channel calendar for planning, scheduling, editing and posting, with a central asset library, a URL shortener carrying UTM and vanity links, Link in Bio pages and mobile apps Yes, auto-posting where the platform allows it and push-notification reminders for native posting where it does not, with calendar, list, grid and gallery views, an Instagram grid preview, placeholders for unwritten posts, per-channel content previews and Instagram best-time slots
Engagement inbox Yes, one customisable inbox with custom feeds, labels, automations, sentiment monitoring, routing to users or teams, case management and an activity log Instagram comment and DM automation set up in the Creator Store: keyword triggers on comments, direct messages or both send automatic replies and DMs carrying links and customisable button text, with performance tracked in real time
Analytics and reporting Yes, Measure reports performance by channel and post, and Benchmark compares it against competitors Yes, account analytics over any date range, per-post performance and shareable report links, all on paid plans; a dedicated analytics section is listed as coming soon
Approval and collaboration Yes, custom approval workflows, task assignment, role-based access and workflows for bringing external agencies in Seats are included per plan, 1 on Starter, 2 on Growth and 6 on Pro, with additional users at $5 and $3 per month respectively
Social listening Yes, Listen monitors conversations across social networks, and the Consumer Research product sits on the same platform Not a listening suite. The calendar surfaces weekly trends, holidays and trending video formats, and trending TikTok sounds and any public Instagram account can be browsed for inspiration
Integrations and API Yes, six APIs covering aggregated analysis, importing your own unstructured data, exporting or streaming consumer research, owned social metrics, publishing data and inbox conversations; integrations include Salesforce, OneDrive, Google Drive and Bynder MCP server for Claude and ChatGPT covering channels, drafts, scheduling, the media library, analytics and shareable reports; Dupe stock imagery and Canva sit alongside it in the workflow
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Salesforce, Microsoft OneDrive, Google Drive, Bynder Dupe, Canva

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Brandwatch Price on request Planoly From $14 / month
  • Company size Brandwatch Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Planoly Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Brandwatch Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps for publishing and engagement Planoly Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps
  • MCP-ready Brandwatch No Planoly Yes
  • API Brandwatch Yes, six developer APIs: Analysis, Data Upload, Consumer Research, Measure, Publish and Engage Planoly MCP server for AI clients such as Claude and ChatGPT, covering creating and scheduling posts, the media library, account and per-post analytics and shareable reports

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Brandwatch

Strengths

  • Publishing, engagement, analytics and consumer research run on one platform rather than separate subscriptions
  • Six documented APIs cover analysis, data upload, research, owned metrics, publishing and the inbox
  • Salesforce integration routes messages and comments to teams already working inside Salesforce
  • Asset library connects to OneDrive, Google Drive and Bynder instead of holding files in a silo
  • External agencies can be brought into approval workflows without full platform access

Limitations

  • No published price; every quote runs through a demo with sales
  • Sold as six separate products, so the scope of a subscription is settled per deal
  • Engage lists six networks, a narrower inbox than some suites in this category advertise

Planoly

Strengths

  • Instagram grid preview and drag-and-drop feed planning
  • Auto-posting to nine platforms, with reminder posting where a platform does not allow automatic publishing
  • Link-in-bio storefront sells digital products, bookings and merch with no transaction fees
  • MCP server drives drafting, scheduling and reporting from Claude or ChatGPT
  • Entry plan is $14 a month on annual billing, with a 14-day trial and no card required for the app's free tier

Limitations

  • Published plans stop at six users and six social sets; beyond that each is charged monthly
  • A dedicated analytics section is listed as coming soon
  • Starter carries a single user and a single social set, and neither can be added without upgrading
  • Comment and DM automation covers Instagram only
  • The free plan is limited to the mobile app and ten uploads a month

Plans

Pricing

Brandwatch

  • Standard to Enterprise Not stated Brandwatch states that standard through enterprise plans are available for each of its solutions, without publishing amounts. Quoted after a demo.
Visit site

Planoly

  • Starter $14 Per month billed annually, or $16 billed monthly. Best for solo creators: 1 social set, 1 user, unlimited uploads, free link in bio, selling digital products and merch, and Instagram DM automation.
  • Growth $24 Per month billed annually, or $28 billed monthly. Best for small teams: 2 social sets and 2 users, with additional social sets at $10 and additional users at $5 per month.
  • Pro $47 Per month billed annually, or $55 billed monthly. Best for agencies: 6 social sets and 6 users, with additional social sets at $8 and additional users at $3 per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Brandwatch

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Planoly

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Brandwatch https://www.brandwatch.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-06

Planoly https://www.planoly.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-14

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.