CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Social Media Management Comparison

Iconosquare vs. Planoly

At a glance

At a glance

Iconosquare

Best for

Best for agencies, franchises and multi-location brands whose social work is judged on reporting, benchmarking and client-ready dashboards.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Planoly

Best for

Best for solo creators and small teams who plan an Instagram feed visually and sell through a link-in-bio store.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Iconosquare Planoly
Starting price Free plan; Launch from €33 / month Launch covers 5 social profiles, 1 user and 100 posts per month, at €396 per year. Additional users cost €16 per month on Scale and Excel. Annual billing saves about two months. From $14 / month Annual billing; paid monthly the same plans are $16, $28 and $55. Starter covers 1 social set and 1 user, Growth 2 and 2, Pro 6 and 6, with extra social sets and users as paid add-ons on Growth and Pro.
Free trial 14-day free trial without a credit card, plus a perpetual free plan for 2 profiles, 1 user and 10 posts per month 14-day free trial on all paid plans, plus a free plan in the mobile app with 10 uploads per month
Users Not stated 1 user on Starter, 2 on Growth and 6 on Pro, with additional users as paid add-ons on Growth and Pro
API API access on the Excel plan and above MCP server for AI clients such as Claude and ChatGPT, covering creating and scheduling posts, the media library, account and per-post analytics and shareable reports
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps
Networks covered Instagram, Facebook, TikTok, LinkedIn, X (Twitter), Pinterest, Threads and YouTube Instagram, TikTok, Facebook, YouTube, Threads, X, LinkedIn, Pinterest and Amazon
Scheduling and calendar Yes, a content calendar with auto-publishing across accounts and networks, cross-posting and recommended posting times based on audience activity Yes, auto-posting where the platform allows it and push-notification reminders for native posting where it does not, with calendar, list, grid and gallery views, an Instagram grid preview, placeholders for unwritten posts, per-channel content previews and Instagram best-time slots
Engagement inbox Yes, a unified conversations inbox for comments, mentions and direct messages; DM management from the Scale plan Instagram comment and DM automation set up in the Creator Store: keyword triggers on comments, direct messages or both send automatic replies and DMs carrying links and customisable button text, with performance tracked in real time
Analytics and reporting Yes, over 100 real-time metrics, custom dashboards, automated white-label reports and competitor benchmarking. Data retention is 1 year on Launch, 2 years on Scale and unlimited on Excel Yes, account analytics over any date range, per-post performance and shareable report links, all on paid plans; a dedicated analytics section is listed as coming soon
Approval and collaboration Yes, role-based permissions, approval workflows and shared calendars with clients, from the Scale plan Seats are included per plan, 1 on Starter, 2 on Growth and 6 on Pro, with additional users at $5 and $3 per month respectively
Social listening Yes, from the Scale plan: brand mentions, hashtags and competitor tracking, with unlimited competitor tracking on Excel Not a listening suite. The calendar surfaces weekly trends, holidays and trending video formats, and trending TikTok sounds and any public Instagram account can be browsed for inspiration
Integrations and API API access on the Excel plan and above MCP server for Claude and ChatGPT covering channels, drafts, scheduling, the media library, analytics and shareable reports; Dupe stock imagery and Canva sit alongside it in the workflow
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Chat Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Not stated Dupe, Canva

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Iconosquare Free plan; Launch from €33 / month Planoly From $14 / month
  • Free trial Iconosquare 14-day free trial without a credit card, plus a perpetual free plan for 2 profiles, 1 user and 10 posts per month Planoly 14-day free trial on all paid plans, plus a free plan in the mobile app with 10 uploads per month
  • Company size Iconosquare Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Planoly Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Iconosquare Cloud (SaaS) Planoly Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps
  • MCP-ready Iconosquare No Planoly Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Iconosquare

Strengths

  • Over 100 real-time metrics with custom dashboards built around chosen goals
  • White-label automated reporting on the Excel plan, aimed at client deliverables
  • Perpetual free plan for 2 profiles plus a 14-day trial without a credit card
  • Uma, an AI analyst that answers questions about account performance

Limitations

  • Competitor tracking, social listening and approval workflows all require the Scale plan or above
  • Data retention is capped at one year on the entry Launch plan
  • API access is limited to the Excel plan and above
  • Every paid tier includes only 5 social profiles, so agency rosters add cost

Planoly

Strengths

  • Instagram grid preview and drag-and-drop feed planning
  • Auto-posting to nine platforms, with reminder posting where a platform does not allow automatic publishing
  • Link-in-bio storefront sells digital products, bookings and merch with no transaction fees
  • MCP server drives drafting, scheduling and reporting from Claude or ChatGPT
  • Entry plan is $14 a month on annual billing, with a 14-day trial and no card required for the app's free tier

Limitations

  • Published plans stop at six users and six social sets; beyond that each is charged monthly
  • A dedicated analytics section is listed as coming soon
  • Starter carries a single user and a single social set, and neither can be added without upgrading
  • Comment and DM automation covers Instagram only
  • The free plan is limited to the mobile app and ten uploads a month

Plans

Pricing

Iconosquare

  • Free Free 2 social profiles, 1 user, 10 posts per month, basic analytics.
  • Launch €33 / month €396 / year. 5 social profiles, 1 user, 100 posts per month, standard analytics with 1-year retention, email support.
  • Scale €69 / month €828 / year. 5 profiles, 3 users, unlimited posts, 2-year retention, competitor tracking, DM management, social listening, approval workflows, chat and email support. Extra users €16 / month.
  • Excel €116 / month €1,392 / year. 5 profiles, 6 users, unlimited posts and groups, unlimited retention, API access, unlimited competitor tracking, white-label reports, custom dashboards, dedicated CSM. Extra users €16 / month.
  • Custom Custom From 20 or more profiles, with unlimited users and groups, tailored features and dedicated account management.
Visit site

Planoly

  • Starter $14 Per month billed annually, or $16 billed monthly. Best for solo creators: 1 social set, 1 user, unlimited uploads, free link in bio, selling digital products and merch, and Instagram DM automation.
  • Growth $24 Per month billed annually, or $28 billed monthly. Best for small teams: 2 social sets and 2 users, with additional social sets at $10 and additional users at $5 per month.
  • Pro $47 Per month billed annually, or $55 billed monthly. Best for agencies: 6 social sets and 6 users, with additional social sets at $8 and additional users at $3 per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Iconosquare

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Planoly

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Iconosquare https://www.iconosquare.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-30

Planoly https://www.planoly.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-14

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.