Best for
Best for companies that invoice, pay suppliers and run teams across several currencies and want spend management on the same account.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
Accounting & Invoicing Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for companies that invoice, pay suppliers and run teams across several currencies and want spend management on the same account.
Best for
Best for European companies that want cards, reimbursements and supplier invoices in one place at a published per-user price.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Airwallex | Pleo |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free; Grow $12 / user / month US pricing. Explore has no monthly fee and includes up to 10 Spend users. Grow is 12 dollars per active Spend user per month plus a platform fee based on team size, up to 250 Spend users. Accelerate is priced on request. Monthly fees are charged per legal entity; FX, transfers and payment processing are charged per transaction. | From £8 / user / month The Start plan, billed monthly, with a maximum of one admin. Build and Optimise are billed yearly and require at least three users. |
| Free trial | Not stated | Yes, the vendor offers a free trial on the Start and Build plans; no duration is stated on the pricing page. |
| Users | Not stated | More than 40,000 companies, per the vendor |
| API | Yes, APIs for accounts, payments, transactional FX, payouts, card issuing and billing, plus the AgentOS MCP server for acting on a production account | Yes, a public API at developers.pleo.io, plus an official MCP server |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS) | Cloud (SaaS) |
| Made in | Australia (founded in Melbourne) | Not stated |
| Invoicing and quotes | Yes, one-off and recurring invoices with automated reminders, credit notes and automatic reconciliation, plus subscription and usage-based billing; incoming bills are captured, approved and paid through Bill Pay | Incoming supplier invoices only, through the accounts payable module, which the vendor describes as running purchase orders through to payments. Customer invoicing and accounts receivable are not among the listed features |
| Bookkeeping and bank feeds | No general ledger of its own; bank feeds, expenses and bills sync to Xero and QuickBooks, and from Grow to NetSuite and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central | No general ledger of its own. Transactions and receipts export to Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, FreeAgent, XLedger and Twinfield, and the vendor names Sage, Visma e-conomic, DATEV and Microsoft among the systems it syncs to |
| Expenses and receipts | Yes, multi-currency corporate cards with spend controls, receipt data extraction, employee reimbursements in more than 200 countries and a mobile app to submit and approve expenses | Yes, physical and virtual cards with individual spending limits, vendor cards for recurring subscriptions, receipt capture in the mobile app, reimbursements and mileage tracking, with AI expense review on the top plan |
| Tax and compliance | Tax rates are imported from the connected accounting software together with the chart of accounts and applied when expenses are coded | Tax codes are imported from the connected accounting system and applied to expenses, and the developer platform exposes a Tax Code API for that sync. No tax filing or return of its own is listed |
| Payroll | No payroll calculation. Airwallex pays out salaries worked out elsewhere: domestic and cross-border payouts to employees and tax authorities through the Payouts API, or embedded in HR, payroll and Employer of Record platforms | No payroll module. HR systems including SAP SuccessFactors and BambooHR connect for employee onboarding and offboarding, but pay runs happen elsewhere |
| Reports and exports | CSV export for expenses and bills and advanced multi-currency reporting; tracking budgets against actuals is marked as coming soon | Yes, automated expense reports and real-time spend tracking across teams and entities, with budgets, spending insights and cash management on the higher plans |
| Integrations and API | Yes, platform APIs with SDKs and e-commerce plugins, accounting sync with Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite and Business Central, HRIS integrations, and an official MCP server | Yes, a public API at developers.pleo.io covering export, tags, tax codes, accounting entries, employees, webhooks and marketplace endpoints, for direct customers and for partners building integrations, plus an official MCP server for connecting an AI assistant or agent to Pleo data |
| AI features | Yes | Yes |
| MCP-ready | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Email helpdesk | Email helpdesk |
| Onboarding | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | more entries Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, Sage, Odoo, Campfire, Rillet, BambooHR, Workday, Employment Hero, HubSpot, Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento, Salesforce Commerce Cloud, Amazon, Zapier | Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, FreeAgent, XLedger, Twinfield, DATEV, Visma e-conomic, SAP SuccessFactors, BambooHR |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Airwallex
Strengths
Limitations
Pleo
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Airwallex
Pleo
What users say
Airwallex
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Pleo
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
Airwallex https://www.airwallex.com · no check date recorded yet
Pleo https://www.pleo.io · checked against the official source on 2026-09-09
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.