CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Airwallex vs. Zoho Expense

At a glance

At a glance

Airwallex

Best for

Best for companies that invoice, pay suppliers and run teams across several currencies and want spend management on the same account.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Zoho Expense

Best for

Best for small and mid-sized businesses that want receipt, card, mileage and per diem handling on top of an existing accounting system at a low per-user price.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Airwallex Zoho Expense
Starting price Free; Grow $12 / user / month US pricing. Explore has no monthly fee and includes up to 10 Spend users. Grow is 12 dollars per active Spend user per month plus a platform fee based on team size, up to 250 Spend users. Accelerate is priced on request. Monthly fees are charged per legal entity; FX, transfers and payment processing are charged per transaction. lower value Free for up to 3 users; Standard $4 / user / month Standard is $3 and Premium $5 per user per month billed annually, or $4 and $6 billed monthly. The amounts are from the global edition's pricing page in USD and exclude local taxes. Enterprise plans are quoted. Add-ons include Premium Support from $490 a year, Jumpstart onboarding from $500 a year and self-booked travel at $9.99 per trip.
Free trial Not stated Free plan for up to 3 users; 14-day free trial of the paid plans without a credit card
API Yes, APIs for accounts, payments, transactional FX, payouts, card issuing and billing, plus the AgentOS MCP server for acting on a production account Yes, a REST API with OAuth and an OpenAPI document, plus Zoho MCP
Languages Not stated Receipt OCR in 38+ languages
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Australia (founded in Melbourne) Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, one-off and recurring invoices with automated reminders, credit notes and automatic reconciliation, plus subscription and usage-based billing; incoming bills are captured, approved and paid through Bill Pay No customer invoicing or quotes. Expenses can be tagged to customers and projects on every plan, and the invoicing itself stays in the connected accounting system
Bookkeeping and bank feeds No general ledger of its own; bank feeds, expenses and bills sync to Xero and QuickBooks, and from Grow to NetSuite and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central No general ledger of its own. Expenses sync to Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop (US and Canada), Xero and Sage Accounting, and to SAP, Oracle, Microsoft Dynamics and NetSuite, with ERP and HRMS integrations as an add-on on Standard. Corporate card feeds from Visa, Mastercard, Amex and HSBC are fetched and reconciled automatically
Expenses and receipts Yes, multi-currency corporate cards with spend controls, receipt data extraction, employee reimbursements in more than 200 countries and a mobile app to submit and approve expenses Yes, this is the core of the product: receipt capture with AI-powered OCR (20 scans per user a month on Free, 200 on Standard, 1,000 on Premium), itemised receipts, split and multi-currency expenses, GPS mileage, per diem with region-specific rates, petty cash, cash advances, policies, rules, budgets, multi-stage approvals and reimbursements by ACH or direct deposit
Tax and compliance Tax rates are imported from the connected accounting software together with the chart of accounts and applied when expenses are coded Yes, global tax compliance on every plan, dedicated editions with local compliance for the US, the UK, India, Canada, Australia, the UAE and Saudi Arabia, GSA-compliant automated per diem on Premium, audit trails, duplicate and policy-violation alerts, and GDPR compliance with ISO certification
Payroll No payroll calculation. Airwallex pays out salaries worked out elsewhere: domestic and cross-border payouts to employees and tax authorities through the Payouts API, or embedded in HR, payroll and Employer of Record platforms No payroll module in Zoho Expense itself. Reimbursement settlements sync to payroll, HRMS and ERP systems, and Zoho offers payroll as a separate module of its wider spend management platform
Reports and exports CSV export for expenses and bills and advanced multi-currency reporting; tracking budgets against actuals is marked as coming soon Yes, expense reports, visual dashboards, ready-to-use analytics templates and audit trail reports, an AI insights dashboard on Standard, and custom reports and dashboards through the Zoho Analytics integration
Integrations and API Yes, platform APIs with SDKs and e-commerce plugins, accounting sync with Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite and Business Central, HRIS integrations, and an official MCP server Yes. A REST API at zohoapis.com/expense/v1 with OAuth tokens, a downloadable OpenAPI document and separate domains for Zoho's regional data centres. Workflow rules can call webhooks and custom functions, the Standard plan adds WhatsApp and Slack integrations, and the pricing page lists Zoho Expense MCP on every plan, including Free
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Phone
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Personal consulting
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, Sage, Odoo, Campfire, Rillet, BambooHR, Workday, Employment Hero, HubSpot, Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento, Salesforce Commerce Cloud, Amazon, Zapier Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Xero, Sage Accounting, SAP, Oracle, Microsoft Dynamics, NetSuite, Zoho Analytics, Sabre GetThere, myBiz, RouteSpring, WhatsApp, Slack

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Airwallex Free; Grow $12 / user / month Zoho Expense Free for up to 3 users; Standard $4 / user / month
  • Support Airwallex Email helpdesk Zoho Expense Email helpdesk, Phone
  • API Airwallex Yes, APIs for accounts, payments, transactional FX, payouts, card issuing and billing, plus the AgentOS MCP server for acting on a production account Zoho Expense Yes, a REST API with OAuth and an OpenAPI document, plus Zoho MCP
  • Invoicing and quotes Airwallex Yes, one-off and recurring invoices with automated reminders, credit notes and automatic reconciliation, plus subscription and usage-based billing; incoming bills are captured, approved and paid through Bill Pay Zoho Expense No customer invoicing or quotes. Expenses can be tagged to customers and projects on every plan, and the invoicing itself stays in the connected accounting system
  • Bookkeeping and bank feeds Airwallex No general ledger of its own; bank feeds, expenses and bills sync to Xero and QuickBooks, and from Grow to NetSuite and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central Zoho Expense No general ledger of its own. Expenses sync to Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop (US and Canada), Xero and Sage Accounting, and to SAP, Oracle, Microsoft Dynamics and NetSuite, with ERP and HRMS integrations as an add-on on Standard. Corporate card feeds from Visa, Mastercard, Amex and HSBC are fetched and reconciled automatically

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Airwallex

Strengths

  • Explore has no monthly fee and covers up to 10 Spend users
  • Collect and hold funds in more than 20 currencies, with local transfers to more than 120 countries
  • Invoicing carries no platform fee
  • AgentOS MCP server lets AI agents act on the production account, with money-out actions off by default

Limitations

  • No general ledger, so an accounting system is still needed alongside
  • The platform fee on Grow depends on team size and is not published
  • FX conversion, SWIFT transfers and card acceptance carry per-transaction fees
  • Several listed features are marked as coming soon, among them budget tracking and single sign-on

Zoho Expense

Strengths

  • A free plan for up to three users, and low per-user prices on the paid plans
  • AI receipt scanning, card reconciliation, mileage and per diem all on one app
  • Local-compliance editions for seven countries besides the global edition
  • Connects to Zoho Books, QuickBooks, Xero, Sage and the major ERPs
  • A documented REST API and Zoho MCP for AI agents

Limitations

  • No invoicing, general ledger or payroll of its own
  • Travel booking, GSA per diem and multi-entity management need the Premium plan
  • ERP and HRMS integrations are an add-on on Standard
  • Live chat, a dedicated relationship manager and hands-on onboarding are paid add-ons
  • Receipt scanning is capped per user per month on every plan

Plans

Pricing

Airwallex

  • Explore $0 Per month. Up to 10 Spend users, multi-currency accounts, unlimited corporate cards, expenses and reimbursements, bill pay, payment acceptance and invoicing. Sync with Xero and QuickBooks.
  • Grow $12 Per active Spend user per month, plus a platform fee based on team size; up to 250 Spend users. Adds multi-conditional approvals, the AI expense policy agent, bill automation and vendor approvals, and sync with NetSuite and Business Central.
  • Accelerate Not stated Priced on request. Adds purchase orders, AI three-way matching, a direct ERP Spend API integration, multiple legal entities, a dedicated account manager and onboarding support.
Visit site

Zoho Expense

  • Free $0 Up to 3 users. Receipt capture with AI-powered OCR, expense reports, mileage via GPS, accounting integrations, global tax compliance, multi-currency expenses, customer and project tracking, a basic audit trail, 5 GB of receipt storage, email support and Zoho Expense MCP.
  • Standard $4 Per user per month billed monthly, or $3 billed annually. Adds itemised receipt capture, corporate card management with real-time Visa and Mastercard feeds, multiple expense policies, custom roles, cash advances, ACH and direct bank reimbursements, WhatsApp and Slack integrations, email and call support, SSO and Zia AI features.
  • Premium $6 Per user per month billed monthly, or $5 billed annually. Adds employee self-booking of flights and hotels, a travel desk, GSA-compliant per diem, live mileage tracking, live budget tracking, advanced approvals and customisation, multi-entity and multi-country management, duty of care, visa management and carbon emission tracking.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom plan quoted for large organisations with complex requirements.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Airwallex

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Expense

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Airwallex https://www.airwallex.com · no check date recorded yet

Zoho Expense https://www.zoho.com/expense/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-26

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.