CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

BuchhaltungsButler vs. Melio

At a glance

At a glance

BuchhaltungsButler

Best for

Best for German small businesses and online sellers that want receipts, bank payments and bookings matched automatically before the tax adviser takes over.

  • Small and mid-sized

Melio

Best for

Best for small businesses that want to pay vendor bills and collect invoice payments without adding a per-seat licence on top of the accounting system they already run.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion BuchhaltungsButler Melio
Starting price From €39.90 / month Light plan on a monthly term; Smart is €46.90 and Premium €89.90 a month, the e-commerce plans €84.90 and €119.90, and the club plan €49.90. A yearly term is also offered. The pricing page does not say whether VAT is included, and a time-limited promotion lowered these rates when checked. Free; Core from $25 / month Go is free for one user with five free ACH payments a month. Core is $25 / month plus $10 per user, Boost $55, Unlimited $80 with users included; 20 percent off with annual billing. Transaction fees apply on top, for example $0.50 per ACH beyond the plan allowance, $1.50 per mailed check and 2.9 percent for card payments.
Free trial 14 days free; a 30-day money-back guarantee applies to direct purchases Not stated
API API client on Premium and E-Commerce Premium A B2B payout API and embedded payments for partner platforms, rather than a general customer API
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), data stored on servers in Frankfurt am Main Cloud (SaaS)
Invoicing and quotes Yes, invoices, quotes and credit notes with a custom layout and letterhead, recurring invoices, e-invoices sent and received, and invoices marked paid automatically when the payment arrives Yes, branded invoices with a built-in payment link, automated reminders and payment by card or bank transfer, with customers paying without a Melio account
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, more than 5,000 banks, credit cards, PayPal and Stripe connected, automatic receipt-to-payment matching, learning account assignment and rules, EÜR booked from payments alone or double-entry with debtor and creditor accounts, SKR03, SKR04, SKR42, SKR45 and SKR49, foreign currencies and an asset register No general ledger of its own; bills, invoices and payments sync two-way with QuickBooks Online, Xero, QuickBooks Desktop or NetSuite depending on the plan
Expenses and receipts Yes, AI-assisted receipt recognition, a personal email inbox, Dropbox import and the scan app for iOS and Android, plus single and batch transfers and an approval step before invoices are paid Yes, on every plan including the free one: connect the credit or debit cards already in use, and each time one is used the spender is prompted by text or e-mail to upload the receipt, which is then stored, categorized and synced to QuickBooks or Xero
Tax and compliance Yes, UStVA and the EU sales list filed through its own ELSTER link without a personal certificate, the official Anlage EÜR to ELSTER, e-balance sheets via eBilanz+, GDPdU and Z3 exports for tax audits, OSS on the e-commerce plans, and DATEV Unternehmen online data services (Germany) W-9 collection and 1099 automation, from the Core plan upwards
Payroll No payroll of its own. Payroll is run in TAXMARO, a partner product, and its data is available in BuchhaltungsButler straight away No payroll. Melio pays vendors and contractors and handles W-9 collection, TIN validation and 1099 e-filing through Tax1099, but running employee payroll is not part of the platform
Reports and exports BWA with drill-down to the booking, trial balance and account sheets, EÜR and balance sheet from the Smart plan, plausibility checks with to-do lists, and a controlling dashboard on Premium A dashboard that tracks outgoing payments and what is owed and when, plus a payment history export as CSV over a chosen date range of up to twelve months back, carrying the date, status, invoice number, amount, customer name and who initiated each payment, and downloadable Audit Trail reports; the ledger reports themselves stay in the synced accounting system
Integrations and API API client on Premium and E-Commerce Premium, plus connectors for Amazon, eBay, Shopify, Stripe and Billbee A B2B payout API and embedded payments for platforms that want to build on Melio's payment rails, rather than a general customer API
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Chat, Phone
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars, Guided onboarding Not stated
Company size Small and mid-sized more entries Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries DATEV, ELSTER, PayPal, Stripe, Amazon, eBay, Shopify, Billbee, GetMyInvoices, invoicefetcher, Payjoe, Dropbox, eBilanz+ QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Xero, NetSuite, Meta, Amazon Business

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price BuchhaltungsButler From €39.90 / month Melio Free; Core from $25 / month
  • Company size BuchhaltungsButler Small and mid-sized Melio Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Hosting BuchhaltungsButler Cloud (SaaS), data stored on servers in Frankfurt am Main Melio Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support BuchhaltungsButler Email helpdesk Melio Chat, Phone
  • API BuchhaltungsButler API client on Premium and E-Commerce Premium Melio A B2B payout API and embedded payments for partner platforms, rather than a general customer API

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

BuchhaltungsButler

Strengths

  • EÜR users book straight from the bank account, without open-item accounting
  • UStVA and EU sales list filed through its own ELSTER link, no personal certificate needed
  • Amazon, eBay and Shopify payouts booked automatically on the e-commerce plans
  • Data stored on servers in Frankfurt am Main

Limitations

  • Light and Smart include one user; Premium includes five
  • The API client needs Premium or E-Commerce Premium
  • The VAT return, EÜR and balance sheet reports start at Smart, not Light
  • The pricing page does not state whether VAT is included

Melio

Strengths

  • Free plan for a single user, with five free ACH payments a month
  • Charged per company rather than per seat, with users included outright on the Unlimited plan
  • Pays vendors by card even where the vendor accepts only a bank transfer or check
  • Invoicing and payment collection are included at no extra software cost
  • International payments to more than 80 countries in 15 currencies

Limitations

  • Not a general ledger; a separate accounting system is still needed
  • Transaction fees apply on top of the subscription, including 2.9 percent for card payments
  • QuickBooks Desktop sync needs Boost and NetSuite sync needs Unlimited

Plans

Pricing

BuchhaltungsButler

  • Light €39.90 / month One user plus tax adviser access, AI receipt recognition, rules, bank, credit card and PayPal sync, transfers, invoicing and e-invoices, BWA and trial balance.
  • Smart €46.90 / month Adds the VAT return, EU sales list, EÜR and balance sheet, cost centres and project accounting, asset management and one e-commerce connector as an add-on.
  • Premium €89.90 / month Adds 5 users, role-based permissions, payment approval, tasks, the controlling dashboard, the API client, priority support and assisted bookkeeping at no extra cost.
  • E-Commerce Smart €84.90 / month Smart plus one connector (Amazon, eBay, Stripe, Billbee or Shopify), 500 receipts and OSS reporting.
  • E-Commerce Premium €119.90 / month Premium plus all connectors, the API client, 1,000 receipts and OSS reporting.
  • BuchhaltungsButler Pro Not stated Price on request. Multi-client edition in beta for accounting firms and holdings with 5 or more companies.
Visit site

Melio

  • Go Free One user, five free ACH payments a month and $0.50 per additional one. Includes payment by card, AI bill capture, international payments and invoicing.
  • Core $25 / month plus $10 per user $20 per month plus $8 per user with annual billing. Twenty free ACH payments a month, QuickBooks Online and Xero sync, batch payments, approval workflows, W-9 and 1099 handling, priority chat support.
  • Boost $55 / month plus $10 per user $44 per month plus $8 per user with annual billing. Fifty free ACH payments a month, QuickBooks Desktop sync, advanced user roles, vendor credits, premium phone support.
  • Unlimited $80 / month $64 per month with annual billing. Unlimited users at no extra cost, unlimited free ACH payments and NetSuite sync.
  • Platinum Not stated Custom pricing for high-volume businesses paying more than $300,000 a month by card, with custom transaction fees and priority processing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

BuchhaltungsButler

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Melio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

BuchhaltungsButler https://www.buchhaltungsbutler.de · checked against the official source on 2026-10-22

Melio https://melio.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-02

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.