Best for
Best for freelancers and small service businesses that want invoicing-first accounting with time and expense tracking, double-entry books and a simple plan lineup.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Accounting & Invoicing Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for freelancers and small service businesses that want invoicing-first accounting with time and expense tracking, double-entry books and a simple plan lineup.
Best for
Best for small businesses that want mainstream cloud accounting with automated sales tax, bank feeds and a large integration ecosystem, with payroll added on separately.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | FreshBooks | QuickBooks Online |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | lower value From $23 / month Lite plan at its regular monthly price, for up to five billable clients. | From $38 / month US list prices, charged per company rather than per seat: Simple Start $38, Essentials $85, Plus $140 and Advanced $340 a month. The plan decides how many billable users are included, from one on Simple Start to twenty-five on Advanced. Intuit was advertising 50 percent off for three months alongside a 30-day free trial when this was checked. |
| Free trial | Free for 30 days | 30-day free trial |
| API | Yes, a JSON API with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations | Yes, an open API with a developer portal, plus hundreds of app integrations |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS) | Cloud (SaaS) |
| Invoicing and quotes | Yes, professional invoices that auto-add tracked time and expenses and calculate taxes, plus estimates and proposals | Yes, create and send customizable invoices, track payments and automatically invoice regularly-scheduled orders |
| Bookkeeping and bank feeds | Yes, double-entry accounting with a general ledger and bank reconciliation via bank connection or CSV upload | Yes, connect bank and credit card accounts for automatic download and categorization of transactions |
| Expenses and receipts | Yes, mobile receipt scanning, bank imports and automatic expense categorization | Yes, expense tracking with mobile receipt capture that QuickBooks matches to existing transactions |
| Tax and compliance | Yes, sales tax applied to invoice line items, posted to a Taxes Payable account, with tax reports | Yes, automated sales tax calculates and tracks tax on invoices and expenses and updates rates when jurisdictions change them |
| Payroll | Available as a paid add-on at $40 per month plus $6 per user per month | Available as a separate paid add-on (QuickBooks Payroll) |
| Reports and exports | Yes, financial and accounting reports, including profit reports and the general ledger | Yes, one-click profit and loss, balance sheet and dozens of other reports |
| Integrations and API | Yes, a JSON API authenticated with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations | Yes, an open API with a developer portal plus hundreds of app integrations |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Email helpdesk, Phone | Not stated |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding | Not stated |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized |
| Integrations | PayPal, Stripe, Affirm, Afterpay | PayPal, Square, Dext, ServiceM8 |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
FreshBooks
Strengths
Limitations
QuickBooks Online
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
FreshBooks
QuickBooks Online
What users say
FreshBooks
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
QuickBooks Online
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
FreshBooks https://www.freshbooks.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19
QuickBooks Online https://quickbooks.intuit.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.