CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Invoice Ninja vs. Qonto

At a glance

At a glance

Invoice Ninja

Best for

Best for freelancers and small businesses that want open-source invoicing with a free or self-hosted option and a wide choice of payment gateways.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Qonto

Best for

Best for European freelancers and small companies that want banking, invoicing and receipt collection in one account.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Invoice Ninja Qonto
Starting price Free; Ninja Pro from $14 / month The free plan covers up to five clients with unlimited invoicing. Ninja Pro is $14 / month billed monthly ($140 / year) and adds a REST API, custom templates, US sales tax and financial reports. A free self-hosted option is also available. US pricing. From €9 / month Basic for the self-employed, excl. VAT and billed annually at €108; monthly billing is also available. Team plans start at €49 a month (Essential). Transfers and cards beyond the plan allowance, international transfers and card payments taken are charged per transaction.
Free trial Not stated 1 month
API Yes, a full REST API on the Pro and Enterprise plans, plus Zapier, Make and n8n Yes, API and EBICS connections, plus an official MCP server
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) or self-hosted Cloud (web and mobile apps)
Made in Not stated France (founded 2017)
Invoicing and quotes Yes, invoices and quotes with real-time PDF preview, a product library, deposits and partial payments, multiple currencies and languages, and e-signature approval that auto-converts a quote to an invoice Yes, unlimited quotes and invoices with deposit and balance invoices, credit notes, automatic numbering, payment matching and payment links, and electronic invoicing through Qonto's government-approved platform. Supplier invoices are imported, read by OCR and paid by transfer. Automated reminders, recurring invoices and e-signed quotes are a paid add-on
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Bank transaction import via Yodlee or GoCardless on the Enterprise plan Pre-accounting rather than a general ledger: transactions, receipts and invoices are matched automatically and AI generates accounting entries for approval. The accountant gets read-only access from the Smart plan, or the data goes to Pennylane, Sage, Cegid, DATEV and other tools. Other bank accounts can be synced in
Expenses and receipts Yes, log and categorize expenses, manage vendors and purchase orders, and mark expenses billable to re-invoice clients Yes, physical and virtual Mastercards, receipts matched from a photo or a forwarded email and digitized and legally certified from Smart, expense reports for out-of-pocket costs, missing-receipt reminders and team budgets
Tax and compliance US sales tax calculation by state on the Pro plan, with tax rates set per line item or per invoice A real-time VAT estimate from invoices and transactions, rules that set funds aside for tax, and electronic invoicing ready for the French requirement to receive e-invoices from 1 September 2026. No tax return of its own is listed; that stays with the accountant
Payroll No, the product covers invoicing, expenses, time tracking, payments and taxes; there is no payroll module No pay-run calculation is listed. Salaries and freelancer payments can be sent as one batch at month-end, which the AI agents can prepare
Reports and exports Yes, profit and loss, invoice, payment and expense reports and client statements, with CSV export A dashboard with inflow and outflow charts, an advanced dashboard on higher plans, cash-flow tracking and forecasting with scenarios from Smart, CSV exports and a live Google Sheets and Excel connection
Integrations and API Yes, a full REST API on the Pro and Enterprise plans, plus Zapier, Make and n8n Yes, API and EBICS connections to ERP and accounting systems, more than 2,000 listed integrations and an official MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and Notion
AI features No stated Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum more entries Chat, Phone, Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Not stated
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless, Zapier more entries DATEV, Pennylane, Sage, Cegid, Google Sheets, Microsoft Excel, Google Drive, Gmail, Notion, Zapier, Make, Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Invoice Ninja Free; Ninja Pro from $14 / month Qonto From €9 / month
  • Deployment Invoice Ninja Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Qonto Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Hosting Invoice Ninja Cloud (SaaS) or self-hosted Qonto Cloud (web and mobile apps)
  • Support Invoice Ninja Email helpdesk, Community forum Qonto Chat, Phone, Email helpdesk
  • AI features Invoice Ninja No Qonto Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Invoice Ninja

Strengths

  • Open source with a free self-hosted option
  • Free cloud plan for up to five clients with unlimited invoicing
  • More than 20 payment gateways including Stripe, PayPal, Square and GoCardless
  • Client portal with online quote approval by e-signature

Limitations

  • Bank transaction import is limited to the Enterprise plan
  • The REST API and custom templates begin on the paid Pro plan
  • Automatic sales tax calculation is US-focused

Qonto

Strengths

  • Business account, cards, invoicing and pre-accounting in one place
  • Electronic invoicing through a government-approved platform, no third-party tool needed
  • AI drafts transfers, invoices and accounting entries for approval
  • Official MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor
  • One-month free trial

Limitations

  • No general ledger, so an accountant or accounting software is still needed
  • Each plan caps included transfers and cards, with fees beyond the allowance
  • Invoice reminders and recurring invoices cost extra as an add-on
  • Accountant access starts on the Smart plan
  • No payroll calculation

Plans

Pricing

Invoice Ninja

  • Free $0 Up to five clients with unlimited invoicing, four templates, online payments, recurring invoices, expenses and the client portal.
  • Ninja Pro $14 / month Billed monthly ($140 / year). Unlimited clients, removes branding, 11 templates, a REST API, US sales tax, financial reports and custom email.
  • Enterprise $18 / month From $18 / month for one to two users, scaling to $300 / month for 51 to 100 users. Adds account users with permissions, bank account sync, file attachments and e-invoicing.
  • Premium Business Not stated From $280 / year. Adds a developer concierge, priority support, an invoice design service, data migration help and custom reports.
Visit site

Qonto

  • Basic €9 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €108. For the self-employed: 30 transfers a month, 1 physical and 2 virtual cards, electronic invoicing and 24/7 support.
  • Smart €19 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €228. Adds account remuneration, 1 sub-account, 100 transfers, 50 virtual cards, cash-flow forecasting and accountant access.
  • Premium €39 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €468. Adds 4 sub-accounts, 200 transfers, lower international transfer fees, priority support and subscription tracking.
  • Essential €49 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €588. For small teams: 250 transfers, 5 physical and 50 virtual cards, unlimited team members with roles, expense reports and full invoice management.
  • Business €109 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €1,308. Adds 500 transfers, unlimited virtual cards, dedicated support, auto-sync to accounting tools and EBICS.
  • Enterprise €199 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €2,388. Adds 10,000 transfers and the full cash-flow management suite; custom plans on request.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Invoice Ninja

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Qonto

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Invoice Ninja https://invoiceninja.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

Qonto https://qonto.com/en · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.