CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Moneybird vs. Sage Accounting

At a glance

At a glance

Moneybird

Best for

Best for Dutch freelancers and small businesses that keep their own books and want bank processing, Peppol e-invoicing and the VAT return in one tool.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Sage Accounting

Best for

Best for small businesses that want sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan, scaling up to quotes, purchase invoices, stock and multi-currency.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Moneybird Sage Accounting
Starting price From €3 / month plus VAT Compact plan, billed yearly (€4 / month billed monthly), 1 user, 5 processed bank transactions a month and no linked bank account. Start €15, Growth €29 and Complete €41 per month billed yearly (€18, €35 and €49 billed monthly). Online payment methods and bank connections carry per-transaction fees. Not stated
Free trial 60 days free with unlimited access to the Complete plan Not stated
Users More than 300,000 freelancers and SMEs Single user on Start; multi-user on Standard and Plus
API Yes, an API on every plan Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Netherlands Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, branded invoices and quotes, recurring invoices and subscriptions (not on Compact), automatic reminders, online payment by iDEAL, SEPA direct debit, card, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Bancontact, and sending via Peppol Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, links to more than 1,700 European banks (5 on Growth, unlimited on Complete) with automatic transaction processing, ledger accounts, and assets and depreciation Yes, connect your bank with automatic bank feeds and bank rules, plus reconciliation against your statement
Expenses and receipts Yes, smart document processing and receipt scanning in the mobile app, UBL invoices and Peppol receiving, and paying purchase invoices from Moneybird Yes, snap receipts and invoices so their data is matched to bank transactions; purchase invoices from the Standard plan
Tax and compliance Yes, VAT overview, ICP declaration and an electronic VAT return filed directly with the tax authorities, the return from the Start plan (Netherlands) Yes, VAT handling on every plan
Payroll Not built in. Payroll runs in separate salary software, and its payroll journal entries are booked in Moneybird by hand or posted automatically through an integration with Employes, HoorayHR or Nmbrs Not part of the Accounting plans; Sage Payroll is a separate subscription, and running a pay run can post the salary, HMRC and pension journals into Accounting automatically when both are linked
Reports and exports Yes, reports and a dashboard on every plan Yes, reports and insight on every plan; cash flow forecasts from the Standard plan
Integrations and API Yes, an API and connections to other tools on every plan Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento 2, PrestaShop, Lightspeed, Bol.com, Mollie, Stripe, PayPal, MultiSafepay, SumUp, Zettle, Employes, HoorayHR, Nmbrs, TimeChimp, Simplicate, Teamleader, Picqer Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Support Moneybird Email helpdesk Sage Accounting Community forum
  • Users Moneybird More than 300,000 freelancers and SMEs Sage Accounting Single user on Start; multi-user on Standard and Plus
  • API Moneybird Yes, an API on every plan Sage Accounting Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
  • Invoicing and quotes Moneybird Yes, branded invoices and quotes, recurring invoices and subscriptions (not on Compact), automatic reminders, online payment by iDEAL, SEPA direct debit, card, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Bancontact, and sending via Peppol Sage Accounting Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan
  • Bookkeeping and bank feeds Moneybird Yes, links to more than 1,700 European banks (5 on Growth, unlimited on Complete) with automatic transaction processing, ledger accounts, and assets and depreciation Sage Accounting Yes, connect your bank with automatic bank feeds and bank rules, plus reconciliation against your statement

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Moneybird

Strengths

  • 60-day trial with full access to the top plan
  • E-invoices sent and received over Peppol, and UBL invoices processed, on every plan
  • Electronic VAT return filed directly from the software
  • API and accountant access included on every plan

Limitations

  • Plans are capped by processed bank transactions per month, not just users
  • The Compact plan has no linked bank account and no electronic VAT return
  • Online payment methods and bank connections carry per-transaction fees on top of the plan

Sage Accounting

Strengths

  • Sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan
  • Bank rules and receipt capture matched to bank transactions
  • Documented API, Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app for integrations
  • Plus adds stock items, multi-currency and financial budgets

Limitations

  • Quotes, purchase invoices, cash flow forecasts and multi-user access start on the Standard plan
  • Stock items and multi-currency are reserved for the Plus plan

Plans

Pricing

Moneybird

  • Compact €3 / month plus VAT Billed yearly (€4 / month billed monthly). 1 user, 5 processed bank transactions a month, no linked bank account, 1 sales invoice, 3 smart document scans. No recurring invoices and no electronic VAT return.
  • Start €15 / month plus VAT Billed yearly (€18 / month billed monthly). 1 user, 20 processed bank transactions a month imported manually, unlimited sales invoices, electronic VAT return.
  • Growth €29 / month plus VAT Billed yearly (€35 / month billed monthly). 5 users, 5 linked bank accounts, 50 processed bank transactions a month.
  • Complete €41 / month plus VAT Billed yearly (€49 / month billed monthly). Unlimited users, linked bank accounts and processed transactions.
Visit site

Sage Accounting

  • Start Not stated Entry plan for businesses starting out: sales invoicing, VAT handling, connecting your bank, reports and insight and the mobile app; single user.
  • Standard Not stated Adds quotes and estimates, purchase invoices, cash flow forecasts, credit notes, delivery notes, statements, remittance advice and multi-user access.
  • Plus Not stated Adds stock items, multi-currency invoicing and banking and financial budgets.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Moneybird

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Sage Accounting

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Moneybird https://www.moneybird.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-25

Sage Accounting https://www.sage.com/en-gb/sage-business-cloud/sage-accounting/ · checked against the official source on 2026-08-20

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.