CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Qonto vs. Zoho Books

At a glance

At a glance

Qonto

Best for

Best for European freelancers and small companies that want banking, invoicing and receipt collection in one account.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Books

Best for

Best for growing small businesses, especially those already using Zoho, that want scalable accounting from invoicing and bank reconciliation through inventory, projects and analytics.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Qonto Zoho Books
Starting price From €9 / month Basic for the self-employed, excl. VAT and billed annually at €108; monthly billing is also available. Team plans start at €49 a month (Essential). Transfers and cards beyond the plan allowance, international transfers and card payments taken are charged per transaction. Free; Standard from $15 / month The Free plan suits small businesses. The Standard plan is $15 / month billed annually ($20 billed monthly) and adds bank feeds, sales-tax tracking and API access. US pricing.
Free trial 1 month Not stated
Users Not stated From 1 user on the Free plan up to 15 on Ultimate, by plan
API Yes, API and EBICS connections, plus an official MCP server Yes, a REST API from the Standard plan, plus integration with the wider Zoho suite
Hosting Cloud (web and mobile apps) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in France (founded 2017) Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, unlimited quotes and invoices with deposit and balance invoices, credit notes, automatic numbering, payment matching and payment links, and electronic invoicing through Qonto's government-approved platform. Supplier invoices are imported, read by OCR and paid by transfer. Automated reminders, recurring invoices and e-signed quotes are a paid add-on Yes, professional invoices and quotes with online payment links and recurring invoices; progress invoicing from the Standard plan
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Pre-accounting rather than a general ledger: transactions, receipts and invoices are matched automatically and AI generates accounting entries for approval. The accountant gets read-only access from the Smart plan, or the data goes to Pennylane, Sage, Cegid, DATEV and other tools. Other bank accounts can be synced in Yes, bank reconciliation and transaction categorization, with bank feeds from the Standard plan
Expenses and receipts Yes, physical and virtual Mastercards, receipts matched from a photo or a forwarded email and digitized and legally certified from Smart, expense reports for out-of-pocket costs, missing-receipt reminders and team budgets Yes, expense tracking with receipt autoscan and mileage tracking
Tax and compliance A real-time VAT estimate from invoices and transactions, rules that set funds aside for tax, and electronic invoicing ready for the French requirement to receive e-invoices from 1 September 2026. No tax return of its own is listed; that stays with the accountant Yes, sales and use tax tracking, 1099 and W-9 management and an audit trail
Payroll No pay-run calculation is listed. Salaries and freelancer payments can be sent as one batch at month-end, which the AI agents can prepare Not built in. Zoho Payroll is a separate product, and its integration mirrors every pay run in Zoho Books, posting salary and tax expenses into the accounts mapped for them
Reports and exports A dashboard with inflow and outflow charts, an advanced dashboard on higher plans, cash-flow tracking and forecasting with scenarios from Smart, CSV exports and a live Google Sheets and Excel connection Yes, 50-plus reports including profit and loss and balance sheet, with advanced analytics on the Ultimate plan
Integrations and API Yes, API and EBICS connections to ERP and accounting systems, more than 2,000 listed integrations and an official MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and Notion Yes, a REST API available from the Standard plan; integrates with Zoho CRM, Inventory and Expense
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Chat, Phone, Email helpdesk Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries DATEV, Pennylane, Sage, Cegid, Google Sheets, Microsoft Excel, Google Drive, Gmail, Notion, Zapier, Make, Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor Zoho CRM, Zoho Inventory, Zoho Expense, Zoho Payroll, Shopify

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Qonto From €9 / month Zoho Books Free; Standard from $15 / month
  • Hosting Qonto Cloud (web and mobile apps) Zoho Books Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support Qonto Chat, Phone, Email helpdesk Zoho Books Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
  • AI features Qonto Yes Zoho Books No
  • MCP-ready Qonto Yes Zoho Books No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Qonto

Strengths

  • Business account, cards, invoicing and pre-accounting in one place
  • Electronic invoicing through a government-approved platform, no third-party tool needed
  • AI drafts transfers, invoices and accounting entries for approval
  • Official MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor
  • One-month free trial

Limitations

  • No general ledger, so an accountant or accounting software is still needed
  • Each plan caps included transfers and cards, with fees beyond the allowance
  • Invoice reminders and recurring invoices cost extra as an add-on
  • Accountant access starts on the Smart plan
  • No payroll calculation

Zoho Books

Strengths

  • Free plan with invoicing, bank reconciliation, 1099/W-9 handling and 50-plus reports
  • Six plans scaling to multi-currency, projects, inventory and advanced analytics
  • Sales and use tax tracking, 1099/W-9 management and an audit trail
  • REST API and tight integration with the wider Zoho suite

Limitations

  • API access, bank feeds and sales-tax tracking begin on the paid Standard plan
  • The six plan tiers can make it hard to pick the right one

Plans

Pricing

Qonto

  • Basic €9 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €108. For the self-employed: 30 transfers a month, 1 physical and 2 virtual cards, electronic invoicing and 24/7 support.
  • Smart €19 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €228. Adds account remuneration, 1 sub-account, 100 transfers, 50 virtual cards, cash-flow forecasting and accountant access.
  • Premium €39 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €468. Adds 4 sub-accounts, 200 transfers, lower international transfer fees, priority support and subscription tracking.
  • Essential €49 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €588. For small teams: 250 transfers, 5 physical and 50 virtual cards, unlimited team members with roles, expense reports and full invoice management.
  • Business €109 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €1,308. Adds 500 transfers, unlimited virtual cards, dedicated support, auto-sync to accounting tools and EBICS.
  • Enterprise €199 Per month excl. VAT, billed annually at €2,388. Adds 10,000 transfers and the full cash-flow management suite; custom plans on request.
Visit site

Zoho Books

  • Free $0 For small businesses: invoices, quotes, expenses, receipt autoscan, bank reconciliation, 1099 and W-9 handling and 50-plus reports; 1 user plus 1 accountant.
  • Standard $15 / month Billed annually ($20 billed monthly). Adds bank feeds, sales and use tax tracking, e-file 1099, API access and custom reports; 3 users.
  • Professional $40 / month Billed annually ($50 billed monthly). Adds sales and purchase orders, multi-currency, timesheet billing, project profitability and inventory; 5 users.
  • Premium $60 / month Billed annually ($70 billed monthly). Adds revenue recognition, fixed assets, budgets, cashflow forecasting and a vendor portal; 10 users.
  • Elite $120 / month Billed annually ($150 billed monthly). Adds advanced inventory with warehouses, batch and serial tracking and Shopify; 10 users.
  • Ultimate $240 / month Billed annually ($275 billed monthly). Adds advanced analytics with pre-built dashboards; 15 users.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Qonto

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Books

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Qonto https://qonto.com/en · no check date recorded yet

Zoho Books https://www.zoho.com/us/books/ · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.