CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

AI 3D Modeling Comparison

3D AI Studio vs. Zoo Design Studio

At a glance

At a glance

3D AI Studio

Best for

Best for game developers and 3D creators who want fast, commercially usable models from text, images or sketches.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Zoo Design Studio

Best for

Best for engineers and product teams who want AI-generated geometry that stays editable in a real CAD feature tree.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion 3D AI Studio Zoo Design Studio
Starting price Free tier; paid from $20 / month Studio plan billed monthly. Also one-time credit packs from $34, with credits that never expire. Prices in US dollars. Free plan with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month Paid tiers (Plus, Pro, Team, Enterprise) add more reasoning time, around 400 minutes a month on Plus and unlimited on Pro; their amounts are not shown on the public pricing page. Overages run pay-as-you-go at $0.0083 per second.
Free trial Free tier with complimentary credits, no payment method required Free plan with full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows
Output Textured 3D models (text-, image- and sketch-to-3D) Parametric B-rep CAD models, exported as STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY or FBX
API Yes, REST API and an MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor Yes, published developer APIs for building custom CAD applications; Zookeeper runs on the Agent API
Languages Not stated Prompts primarily in English, with other major languages accepted at varying accuracy
Hosting Not stated Cloud; the desktop application needs an internet connection because the geometry engine runs in the cloud
Made in Not stated United States
What it makes Textured 3D models from text, images or sketches Parametric B-rep CAD models from text prompts, images and sketches: primitives, brackets, mechanical parts, enclosures, mounts, assemblies and 3D-printable components
Detail and topology Production-ready models with clean topology, plus remesh and LOD generation Boundary-representation solids rather than meshes, editable through sketch and feature-tree workflows with human-readable KCL as the source of truth; assembly mates are still on the roadmap
Rigging and textures AI PBR texturing, with AI rigging and animation tools No rigging, no animation and no UV-mapped textures: the KCL standard library has no module for any of them. Surface appearance goes as far as setting a material colour on a solid
Speed From under 90 seconds to a few minutes depending on the model chosen No fixed generation time is published. Zoo states that Agent API requests, which is what Zookeeper runs on, have no fixed completion time and that the duration depends on the complexity of the task, the tools required and the number of iterations the agent performs; billing follows that, metered in reasoning minutes rather than per model
Export and pipeline fit Exports GLB, FBX, OBJ, STL, 3MF, USDZ and BLEND for Unity, Unreal and Blender Exports STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY and FBX; imports KCL, STL, glTF/GLB, OBJ, FBX, PLY plus experimental STEP/STP and SLDPRT
Commercial use On paid plans or with a purchased commercial licence, and the licence survives cancellation; without either, the terms allow personal, non-commercial use only You own the outputs and may use them commercially. Material you put in is licensed back to Zoo to run and improve the service, including training its models, and opting out of that training is possible only on subscription tiers that allow it
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Unity, Unreal Engine, Blender, Three.js Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price 3D AI Studio Free tier; paid from $20 / month Zoo Design Studio Free plan with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month
  • Free trial 3D AI Studio Free tier with complimentary credits, no payment method required Zoo Design Studio Free plan with full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows
  • Output 3D AI Studio Textured 3D models (text-, image- and sketch-to-3D) Zoo Design Studio Parametric B-rep CAD models, exported as STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY or FBX
  • API 3D AI Studio Yes, REST API and an MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor Zoo Design Studio Yes, published developer APIs for building custom CAD applications; Zookeeper runs on the Agent API
  • What it makes 3D AI Studio Textured 3D models from text, images or sketches Zoo Design Studio Parametric B-rep CAD models from text prompts, images and sketches: primitives, brackets, mechanical parts, enclosures, mounts, assemblies and 3D-printable components

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

3D AI Studio

Strengths

  • Text-, image- and sketch-to-3D in one tool
  • Output made on a paid plan is licensed for commercial use, and the licence survives cancellation
  • REST API and an MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor

Limitations

  • Credit-based costs across the generation tools
  • Higher-volume use needs the Pro plan or one-time credit packs

Zoo Design Studio

Strengths

  • Output is editable parametric CAD rather than a mesh that has to be rebuilt
  • Free plan includes full CAD access plus 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning a month
  • Native applications for Mac, Windows and Linux
  • The Design Studio application is open source on GitHub
  • Zookeeper reads selections, renders and existing KCL as context instead of starting from a blank prompt

Limitations

  • Needs an internet connection: the geometry engine runs in the cloud
  • Paid tier amounts are not shown on the public pricing page
  • The geometry engine itself is not open source
  • Zoo may train on data from free plan usage
  • Assembly mates are not implemented yet

Plans

Pricing

3D AI Studio

  • Basic $0 Free tier with 1,000 credits per month.
  • Studio $20 Per month, with 3,500 credits per month.
  • Pro $99 Per month, with 18,000 credits per month and a team workspace with 3 seats.
Visit site

Zoo Design Studio

  • Free Free Full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows, with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month. Zoo may train on free plan usage data.
  • Plus Not stated Around 400 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Pro Not stated Unlimited Zookeeper reasoning in Design Studio, with pay-as-you-go available. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Team Not stated Unlimited Zookeeper reasoning, with custom billing on request. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Enterprise Custom Contact sales. Adds design rules and internal company knowledge to Zookeeper, plus custom billing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

3D AI Studio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoo Design Studio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

3D AI Studio https://www.3daistudio.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-22

Zoo Design Studio https://zoo.dev · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.