CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

AI 3D Modeling Comparison

Hi3D vs. Hunyuan3D

At a glance

At a glance

Hi3D

Best for

Best for 3D printing enthusiasts and makers who need high-detail models ready to split and slice.

Hunyuan3D

Best for

Best for developers who want an open, self-hostable 3D generator with text, image and sketch inputs.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Hi3D Hunyuan3D
Starting price Free tier The free plan gives 100 one-time credits and publishes generated models publicly under CC BY 4.0. Paid plans add private and commercial use with monthly credits; no amounts appear on the pricing page. Free tier; open weights available Individuals get 20 free generations per day. Enterprise API access runs via Tencent Cloud, and the model weights are released for self-hosting.
Free trial Free tier with 100 one-time credits Free tier (20 generations per day)
Commercial use Paid plans only; free-plan models are public under CC BY 4.0 Allowed under the Tencent Hunyuan 3D Community License up to 1 million monthly active users; the licence does not apply in the EU, UK or South Korea
Output 3D models as STL, OBJ, 3MF, GLB or USDZ Textured 3D models from text, images or sketches
API Yes Yes, via Tencent Cloud
What it makes 3D models from one or several images, aimed at 3D printing Textured 3D models from text, single or multi-view images, and sketches
Detail and topology Reconstruction at up to 2048 cubed resolution Smart topology optimization, supporting both triangular and quadrilateral meshes
Rigging and textures 8K PBR textures Textured meshes with a separate shape and texture generation stage
Speed A usable model in as little as about two minutes Minutes per model
Export and pipeline fit STL, OBJ, 3MF, GLB and USDZ, with handoff into Bambu Studio, OrcaSlicer, Elegoo, Snapmaker and Creality Print OBJ and GLB export; works with Unity, Unreal Engine and Blender
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum Community forum
Onboarding Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Not stated Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Bambu Studio, OrcaSlicer, Snapmaker, Creality Print, ElegooSlicer, ComfyUI, Blender Unity, Unreal Engine, Blender, Tencent Cloud

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Hi3D Free tier Hunyuan3D Free tier; open weights available
  • Free trial Hi3D Free tier with 100 one-time credits Hunyuan3D Free tier (20 generations per day)
  • Deployment Hi3D Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Hunyuan3D Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Support Hi3D Email helpdesk, Community forum Hunyuan3D Community forum
  • Commercial use Hi3D Paid plans only; free-plan models are public under CC BY 4.0 Hunyuan3D Allowed under the Tencent Hunyuan 3D Community License up to 1 million monthly active users; the licence does not apply in the EU, UK or South Korea

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Hi3D

Strengths

  • Reconstruction at up to 2048 cubed with 8K PBR textures
  • Print-specific steps after generation: split-to-print and multi-colour printing
  • Exports straight into the common slicers
  • Free plan with 100 one-time credits to try it

Limitations

  • No direct text-to-3D: a prompt is turned into an image first
  • Free-plan models are public under CC BY 4.0 and not for commercial use
  • No plan prices shown on the pricing page

Hunyuan3D

Strengths

  • Open model weights available for self-hosting
  • Accepts text, single or multi-view images, and sketches
  • Free tier of 20 generations per day for individuals
  • Large open-source community with over 3 million model downloads

Limitations

  • The community licence does not apply in the EU, UK or South Korea
  • Commercial use is capped at 1 million monthly active users without a separate licence

Plans

Pricing

Hi3D

  • Free $0 100 one-time credits, up to 10 generated assets, up to 7 saved models. Models are public under CC BY 4.0.
  • Pro Not stated 1,000 credits a month, up to 100 assets a month, up to 200 saved models, private and commercial use.
  • Max Not stated 2,400 credits a month, up to 240 assets a month, up to 400 saved models, private and commercial use.
  • Ultra Not stated 8,000 credits a month, up to 800 assets a month, unlimited storage, private and commercial use.
Visit site

Hunyuan3D

  • Free $0 20 generations per day for individuals; 200 free credits for the enterprise API.
  • Self-hosted $0 Open model weights under the Tencent Hunyuan 3D Community License, for self-hosting.
  • Enterprise API Not stated Pay-as-you-go via Tencent Cloud.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Hi3D

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Hunyuan3D

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Hi3D https://www.hi3d.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-19

Hunyuan3D https://3d.hunyuanglobal.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.