CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

AI 3D Modeling Comparison

Hunyuan3D vs. Masterpiece X

At a glance

At a glance

Hunyuan3D

Best for

Best for developers who want an open, self-hostable 3D generator with text, image and sketch inputs.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Masterpiece X

Best for

Best for game creators who want rigged, animated 3D characters generated from text.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Hunyuan3D Masterpiece X
Starting price Free tier; open weights available Individuals get 20 free generations per day. Enterprise API access runs via Tencent Cloud, and the model weights are released for self-hosting. Free credits; paid from $10.99 / month New accounts get 250 free credits. Paid plans are monthly credit packs from $10.99 (750 credits).
Free trial Free tier (20 generations per day) 250 free credits
Commercial use Allowed under the Tencent Hunyuan 3D Community License up to 1 million monthly active users; the licence does not apply in the EU, UK or South Korea Models exported privately stay yours; models shared to the Community Library are released as CC0 public domain
Output Textured 3D models from text, images or sketches Textured, animation-ready 3D models
What it makes Textured 3D models from text, single or multi-view images, and sketches Textured, animation-ready 3D models from text prompts
Detail and topology Smart topology optimization, supporting both triangular and quadrilateral meshes The vendor positions the output for exploring and prototyping ideas rather than as high-fidelity AAA game assets, and publishes no polygon count or topology specification
Rigging and textures Textured meshes with a separate shape and texture generation stage Rigged and animated characters with textures, editable across mesh, texture, rig, skin and animation steps
Speed Minutes per model Not stated
Export and pipeline fit OBJ and GLB export; works with Unity, Unreal Engine and Blender GLB export today, with FBX, OBJ and glTF planned; works with Blender, Unity and Unreal Engine
API Yes, via Tencent Cloud Yes, the Masterpiece X - Generate API, documented as the MPX GenAI API with a quickstart and a Unity runtime guide; the pricing page offers early access sign-up rather than a published API price
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Unity, Unreal Engine, Blender, Tencent Cloud Blender, Unity, Unreal Engine

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Hunyuan3D Free tier; open weights available Masterpiece X Free credits; paid from $10.99 / month
  • Free trial Hunyuan3D Free tier (20 generations per day) Masterpiece X 250 free credits
  • Deployment Hunyuan3D Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Masterpiece X Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Hunyuan3D Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Masterpiece X Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Support Hunyuan3D Community forum Masterpiece X Email helpdesk

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Hunyuan3D

Strengths

  • Open model weights available for self-hosting
  • Accepts text, single or multi-view images, and sketches
  • Free tier of 20 generations per day for individuals
  • Large open-source community with over 3 million model downloads

Limitations

  • The community licence does not apply in the EU, UK or South Korea
  • Commercial use is capped at 1 million monthly active users without a separate licence

Masterpiece X

Strengths

  • Generates rigged, animated characters, not just static meshes
  • Editable across mesh, texture, rig, skin and animation steps
  • 250 free credits to start

Limitations

  • Currently exports GLB only, with other formats planned
  • Text input only, no image-to-3D in Generate
  • The vendor lists Generate and the Community Library as legacy products and leads with WorldEngen instead

Plans

Pricing

Hunyuan3D

  • Free $0 20 generations per day for individuals; 200 free credits for the enterprise API.
  • Self-hosted $0 Open model weights under the Tencent Hunyuan 3D Community License, for self-hosting.
  • Enterprise API Not stated Pay-as-you-go via Tencent Cloud.
Visit site

Masterpiece X

  • Free $0 250 credits for new accounts.
  • 750 Credits $10.99 Per month.
  • 1,500 Credits $19.99 Per month.
  • 3,000 Credits $36.99 Per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Hunyuan3D

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Masterpiece X

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Hunyuan3D https://3d.hunyuanglobal.com · no check date recorded yet

Masterpiece X https://www.masterpiecex.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.