CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

AI 3D Modeling Comparison

Masterpiece X vs. Meshy

At a glance

At a glance

Masterpiece X

Best for

Best for game creators who want rigged, animated 3D characters generated from text.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Meshy

Best for

Best for creators and game developers who want a versatile all-round 3D generator.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Masterpiece X Meshy
Starting price Free credits; paid from $10.99 / month New accounts get 250 free credits. Paid plans are monthly credit packs from $10.99 (750 credits). Free tier; paid from ~$16 to ~$20 / month Output from the free tier is CC BY 4.0 and needs attribution.
Free trial 250 free credits Free tier
Commercial use Models exported privately stay yours; models shared to the Community Library are released as CC0 public domain Paid tiers; free output is CC BY 4.0 (attribution)
Output Textured, animation-ready 3D models Textured 3D models (text- and image-to-3D)
What it makes Textured, animation-ready 3D models from text prompts Textured 3D models from text or images, with multi-view generation
Detail and topology The vendor positions the output for exploring and prototyping ideas rather than as high-fidelity AAA game assets, and publishes no polygon count or topology specification Clean topology options and Low Poly Mode
Rigging and textures Rigged and animated characters with textures, editable across mesh, texture, rig, skin and animation steps Auto-rigging and PBR textures
Speed Not stated Most jobs finish in under a minute on the current model, and Smart Topology takes about ten seconds
Export and pipeline fit GLB export today, with FBX, OBJ and glTF planned; works with Blender, Unity and Unreal Engine GLB, FBX, OBJ, STL, USDZ and 3MF, with bridge plugins for Blender, Unity, Unreal Engine, Godot, Maya, 3ds Max, ZBrush, NVIDIA Omniverse and Roblox
API Yes, the Masterpiece X - Generate API, documented as the MPX GenAI API with a quickstart and a Unity runtime guide; the pricing page offers early access sign-up rather than a published API price Yes, a REST API at api.meshy.ai covering text to 3D, image to 3D, retexturing, remeshing, rigging, animation and 3D-printing helpers, with an OpenAPI 3.1 specification, webhooks and an official MCP server for agent clients
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Blender, Unity, Unreal Engine more entries Blender, Unity, Unreal Engine, Godot, Maya, 3ds Max, ZBrush, NVIDIA Omniverse, Roblox, Bambu Studio, OrcaSlicer

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Masterpiece X Free credits; paid from $10.99 / month Meshy Free tier; paid from ~$16 to ~$20 / month
  • Free trial Masterpiece X 250 free credits Meshy Free tier
  • Company size Masterpiece X Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Meshy Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Masterpiece X Email helpdesk Meshy Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum
  • MCP-ready Masterpiece X No Meshy Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Masterpiece X

Strengths

  • Generates rigged, animated characters, not just static meshes
  • Editable across mesh, texture, rig, skin and animation steps
  • 250 free credits to start

Limitations

  • Currently exports GLB only, with other formats planned
  • Text input only, no image-to-3D in Generate
  • The vendor lists Generate and the Community Library as legacy products and leads with WorldEngen instead

Meshy

Strengths

  • Best all-round quality and features
  • Large ecosystem with plugins and API
  • Clean topology options and Low Poly Mode

Limitations

  • Credit-based costs
  • Hero assets still need cleanup
  • Free output requires attribution (CC BY 4.0)

Plans

Pricing

Masterpiece X

  • Free $0 250 credits for new accounts.
  • 750 Credits $10.99 Per month.
  • 1,500 Credits $19.99 Per month.
  • 3,000 Credits $36.99 Per month.
Visit site

Meshy

  • Free $0 Output is CC BY 4.0 and needs attribution.
  • Not stated From ~$16 to ~$20 Per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Masterpiece X

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Meshy

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Masterpiece X https://www.masterpiecex.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

Meshy https://www.meshy.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.