Best for
Best for web teams building interactive, stylized 3D experiences without a Blender pipeline.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
AI 3D Modeling Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for web teams building interactive, stylized 3D experiences without a Blender pipeline.
Best for
Best for engineers and product teams who want AI-generated geometry that stays editable in a real CAD feature tree.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Spline AI | Zoo Design Studio |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free tier; Hobby from $15 / seat / month Or $12 per seat per month billed yearly. Pro is $30 and Max $70 per seat per month, or $25 and $60 billed yearly. Enterprise is quote-based. | Free plan with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month Paid tiers (Plus, Pro, Team, Enterprise) add more reasoning time, around 400 minutes a month on Plus and unlimited on Pro; their amounts are not shown on the public pricing page. Overages run pay-as-you-go at $0.0083 per second. |
| Free trial | Free tier, with a watermark on web exports | Free plan with full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows |
| Output | Interactive 3D scenes, published to the web or exported as GLTF, GLB, STL or USDZ | Parametric B-rep CAD models, exported as STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY or FBX |
| Languages | Not stated | Prompts primarily in English, with other major languages accepted at varying accuracy |
| Hosting | Not stated | Cloud; the desktop application needs an internet connection because the geometry engine runs in the cloud |
| Made in | Not stated | United States |
| What it makes | Interactive 3D scenes and 2D/3D interfaces for websites, apps and gamified experiences | Parametric B-rep CAD models from text prompts, images and sketches: primitives, brackets, mechanical parts, enclosures, mounts, assemblies and 3D-printable components |
| Detail and topology | Generated models carry more detail than hand-built ones, so a scene with several can slow down. Four engines to choose from: Hunyuan3D, Hunyuan 3.1 Pro, Trellis 2 and Meshy | Boundary-representation solids rather than meshes, editable through sketch and feature-tree workflows with human-readable KCL as the source of truth; assembly mates are still on the roadmap |
| Rigging and textures | Layer-based material system with a ready-made library, plus FBX import with animation and rig support | No rigging, no animation and no UV-mapped textures: the KCL standard library has no module for any of them. Surface appearance goes as far as setting a material colour on a solid |
| Speed | Two steps rather than one: a prompt returns a set of image previews, and the mesh is built from whichever preview is picked. The same image can be sent through a second engine without spending extra credits, and switching between the kept results is instant, so comparing costs less than regenerating. An estimated credit cost is shown before each run | No fixed generation time is published. Zoo states that Agent API requests, which is what Zookeeper runs on, have no fixed completion time and that the duration depends on the complexity of the task, the tools required and the number of iterations the agent performs; billing follows that, metered in reasoning minutes rather than per model |
| Export and pipeline fit | GLTF, GLB, STL and USDZ export, plus PNG and JPG images and MP4, WebM or image-sequence video. Publish as a public URL, a Spline Viewer embed, or code for React, Next.js, Webflow, Framer and Wix Studio, with native iOS and Android embeds | Exports STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY and FBX; imports KCL, STL, glTF/GLB, OBJ, FBX, PLY plus experimental STEP/STP and SLDPRT |
| Commercial use | Paid tiers | You own the outputs and may use them commercially. Material you put in is licensed back to Zoo to run and improve the service, including training its models, and opting out of that training is possible only on subscription tiers that allow it |
| API | For driving a scene, not for generating one. The Code API, built on the Spline Runtime, reads and writes scene variables, changes object properties, triggers transitions and listens for events from Vanilla.js, React and Next.js, with equivalents for SwiftUI and Kotlin. A separate Real-time API feature, configured in the editor, lets a published scene call an external endpoint. The desktop app bundles an MCP server that an AI client can call to build and edit scenes; the documentation describes no endpoint for generating a model outside the app | Yes, developer APIs for custom CAD applications; Zookeeper runs on the Agent API, billed pay-as-you-go at $0.0083 per second |
| MCP-ready | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Community forum | more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials | Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | React, Next.js, Webflow, Framer, Wix Studio, Swift (iOS), Kotlin (Android) | Not stated |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Spline AI
Strengths
Limitations
Zoo Design Studio
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Spline AI
Zoo Design Studio
What users say
Spline AI
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Zoo Design Studio
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
Spline AI https://spline.design · no check date recorded yet
Zoo Design Studio https://zoo.dev · no check date recorded yet
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.