CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Chatbots & Assistants Comparison

Chatbox AI vs. Gemini

At a glance

At a glance

Chatbox AI

Best for

Best for individuals and small teams who want one assistant on every device and would rather supply their own model keys than pay for a second subscription.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Gemini

Best for

Best for people who work inside Google Workspace and need long-file and multimodal help.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Chatbox AI Gemini
Starting price lower value Free plan; Lite $3.99 / month Billed monthly: Lite $3.99, Pro $19.99, Pro+ $39.99. Paid for a year the same plans work out at $3.50, $16.70 and $33.33 a month. Each plan carries compute points rather than a message count, 2,000,000 on Lite, 12,000,000 on Pro and 30,000,000 on Pro+, and the free plan's daily quota of 10,000 resets every day. Using your own provider API key instead costs nothing here and is billed by that provider. Free; Google AI Plus from $4.99 / month Google AI Pro $19.99 per month, Google AI Ultra from $99.99. Each step raises usage limits against the free tier and adds cloud storage: 15 GB free, 400 GB on Plus, 5 TB on Pro.
Free trial Free plan with a daily quota that resets each day Free tier
Commercial use Not stated Yes
Output A cross-platform AI chat and work app over bundled or bring-your-own models Chat plus deep Google Workspace integration
Hosting Desktop apps for Windows, macOS and Linux, mobile apps for iOS and Android, plus a browser app; the knowledge base is stored locally in the desktop app Not stated
Ecosystem Desktop apps for Windows 10 and later, macOS 11 and later on Intel or Apple Silicon and Linux as AppImage or deb, mobile apps for iOS and Android, and a browser app, with one licence covering up to five devices at the same time. MCP services connect outside tools and My Copilots holds preset roles Google Workspace, with Gmail, Docs and Drive integration
Live web search and sources Yes, real-time web search is part of the Chatbox AI service Yes, grounded in Google Search with sources
Files and long documents Yes, documents and images can be sent into a chat, and the desktop app keeps a local knowledge base: files up to 50 MB each in PDF, DOCX, TXT, MD, RTF, PPTX, XLSX, CSV, EPUB and common image formats, stored on the machine Yes, long-context handling
Images, voice and video Image generation is metered per plan, from 5 images on Free through 25 on Lite and 100 on Pro to 200 on Pro+. Documents and images are analysed in chat, and answers render Mermaid diagrams, LaTeX formulas and Markdown Yes, including video generation through Veo
Coding help Code generation with a live preview that updates as the prompt changes, and Work Mode, where an agent writes code, calls tools, works with files and searches the web to finish a task on its own Yes, code execution and Canvas
Model choice Yes, in two ways. The subscription bundles models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, xAI, DeepSeek, Moonshot, Alibaba and Tencent, with the advanced list from Pro upwards, or bring your own API key for OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, OpenRouter, DeepSeek, Kimi, MiniMax, Tencent Hunyuan and others, including Ollama and LM Studio locally Yes, Flash and Pro tiers
API Yes, on the paid plans, as an OpenAI-compatible endpoint at ai.chatboxai.app/v1 rather than an API of its own design: the account's licence key is the API key, so any application that already speaks the OpenAI API can call the bundled models. The standard list works on every paid plan and gpt-5, claude-4.5-sonnet and gemini-3-pro need the premium tier. Calls draw on the same compute points as the client does Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini, OpenRouter, DeepSeek, Kimi, MiniMax, Tencent Hunyuan, Ollama, LM Studio, Model Context Protocol more entries Gmail, Google Docs, Google Drive, Google Vids, Google Search, Google Chrome, Google Calendar, Google Home, YouTube, YouTube Music, Spotify, WhatsApp

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Chatbox AI Free plan; Lite $3.99 / month Gemini Free; Google AI Plus from $4.99 / month
  • Free trial Chatbox AI Free plan with a daily quota that resets each day Gemini Free tier
  • Deployment Chatbox AI Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Gemini Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Chatbox AI Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Gemini Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support Chatbox AI Email helpdesk Gemini Community forum

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Chatbox AI

Strengths

  • One app across Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android and the browser, on up to five devices at once
  • Two ways to run it: a subscription with models included, or free with your own provider key
  • Bring-your-own-key mode reaches local runners, so Ollama and LM Studio models work in the same interface
  • Free plan with a quota that refreshes every day rather than a one-off trial
  • The client is open source under the GPL-3.0 licence

Limitations

  • Compute points are harder to plan against than a message or token allowance
  • The advanced model list starts at Pro, so Free and Lite stay on the standard models
  • The local knowledge base is a desktop feature and is not in the mobile or browser app
  • Image generation is capped per plan, starting at five images on Free
  • No team or enterprise plan is published: the tiers are per person

Gemini

Strengths

  • Deep Google Workspace integration
  • Strong long-context and multimodal
  • Strong video generation in the field

Limitations

  • Best value tied to the Google ecosystem
  • Free tier less capable

Plans

Pricing

Chatbox AI

  • Free $0 10,000 compute points reset daily, the standard model list and 5 generated images.
  • Lite $3.99 / month Or $3.50 a month paid annually. 2,000,000 compute points and 25 generated images.
  • Pro $19.99 / month Or $16.70 a month paid annually. 12,000,000 compute points, the advanced model list and 100 generated images.
  • Pro+ $39.99 / month Or $33.33 a month paid annually. 30,000,000 compute points and 200 generated images, for heavy use.
Visit site

Gemini

  • Free $0 Per month with a Google Account. Access to the Flash model and varying access to Pro, image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas and Gems, plus 15 GB of storage across Gmail, Drive and Photos.
  • Google AI Plus $4.99 Per month. Twice the free usage limits, video generation, Gemini in Gmail and Vids, and 400 GB of storage.
  • Google AI Pro $19.99 Per month. Four times the free usage limits, Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Vids, Gemini in Chrome, higher limits on the Jules coding agent, YouTube Premium Lite and 5 TB of storage.
  • Google AI Ultra From $99.99 Per month for five times the Pro usage limits, or $199.99 for twenty times, plus first access to advanced features.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Chatbox AI

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Gemini

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Chatbox AI https://chatboxai.app · checked against the official source on 2026-09-15

Gemini https://gemini.google.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-21

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.