CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

Claude Code vs. Kilo Code

At a glance

At a glance

Claude Code

Best for

Best for developers tackling complex, multi-file refactors and architectural changes from the terminal.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Kilo Code

Best for

Best for developers who want an open-source agent and want to pay for model calls at cost.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Claude Code Kilo Code
Starting price Included in Claude Pro, $20 / month Max from $100 per month. Also available through the Anthropic API, billed per use. lower value Free and open source; Teams $15 / user / month Inference is billed separately: exact provider rates through the Kilo Gateway with no markup, your own keys, or an optional Kilo Pass credit subscription at $19, $49 or $199 a month. Enterprise is quoted. Cloud compute is billed per second, Gas Town at $1.20 an hour and code review at $0.33.
Free trial Through a Claude subscription Free plan for individuals; a 14-day Enterprise trial for teams
Commercial use Yes Yes, the source is MIT licensed
Output Terminal agent with project-level planning Code, refactors, pull-request reviews and agent sessions
API Yes, the Anthropic API Yes, the Kilo Gateway is a single endpoint to hundreds of models, with streaming, BYOK and usage tracking
Hosting Not stated Cloud (SaaS), with editor extensions and a CLI on your own machine
Where it runs Terminal, pairs with any editor VS Code extension, JetBrains plugin for IntelliJ, PyCharm, WebStorm and others, a CLI installed with npm, cloud agents, Slack and mobile apps
Inline completions No, it works by instruction rather than by autocomplete: the CLI and the VS Code and JetBrains extensions offer plan review, inline diffs and @-mentions, not tab completions as you type Yes, fill-in-the-middle autocomplete routed through the Kilo Gateway, on by default as ghost text accepted with Tab, using Codestral by default or Mercury Edit 2 with your own Inception key; a status bar item snoozes it
Agent mode Yes, terminal-native agent with a project-level planning loop, deep multi-file context and MCP support Yes, Code, Architect, Debug, Ask and custom modes, an automated pull-request code reviewer, and an Agent Manager running parallel worktree-isolated local and cloud sessions
Model choice Yes, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku and Fable models, switched with the /model command, the --model flag, an environment variable or a settings file, including extended 1M-token context variants Yes, more than 500 models across over 60 providers through the Kilo Gateway, Auto Model routing across Frontier, Efficient and Free tiers, your own Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, Azure or AWS Bedrock keys, and local models with Ollama or LM Studio
Data control Team, Enterprise and API usage is not used to train models and is retained for 30 days, with zero data retention available to qualified Enterprise accounts; on Free, Pro and Max the account's own training setting applies. It also runs against Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud's Agent Platform and Microsoft Foundry, where telemetry and feedback are off by default MIT-licensed source with the prompt and context window open to inspection and no silent model switching; Teams adds data privacy controls and shared BYOK, Enterprise adds SSO, OIDC and SCIM, audit logs and limits on which models and providers may be used
Ecosystem fit Terminal, VS Code and JetBrains extensions, a desktop app, the web and mobile, plus GitHub Actions, GitLab CI/CD, Slack and Chrome; MCP servers connect external tools and the Agent SDK builds custom agents on the same engine MCP servers, GitHub integration for automated pull-request reviews, plugins, shell integration, custom rules and shared agent modes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries VS Code, JetBrains IDEs, GitHub Actions, GitLab CI/CD, Slack, Chrome, Model Context Protocol servers, Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud's Agent Platform, Microsoft Foundry GitHub, Slack, Ollama, LM Studio

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Claude Code Included in Claude Pro, $20 / month Kilo Code Free and open source; Teams $15 / user / month
  • Free trial Claude Code Through a Claude subscription Kilo Code Free plan for individuals; a 14-day Enterprise trial for teams
  • Commercial use Claude Code Yes Kilo Code Yes, the source is MIT licensed
  • Output Claude Code Terminal agent with project-level planning Kilo Code Code, refactors, pull-request reviews and agent sessions
  • API Claude Code Yes, the Anthropic API Kilo Code Yes, the Kilo Gateway is a single endpoint to hundreds of models, with streaming, BYOK and usage tracking

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Claude Code

Strengths

  • Deepest reasoning for complex multi-file and architectural tasks
  • Project-level planning
  • Editor-agnostic

Limitations

  • Terminal-first, not a full IDE interface
  • Usage limits on Pro, and cost climbs on Max or heavy API use

Kilo Code

Strengths

  • MIT licensed, with the prompt, context window and decisions open to inspection
  • Model calls billed at exact provider rates with no markup, or run on your own keys and local models
  • One account across VS Code, JetBrains, the CLI, cloud agents, Slack and mobile

Limitations

  • Usage is metered per model call rather than per seat, so budgeting takes attention
  • Kilo Deploy has reached end of life and is closed to new users

Plans

Pricing

Claude Code

  • Claude Pro $20 Per month, includes Claude Code.
  • Claude Max From $100 Per month.
  • Anthropic API Pay per use Amount depends on usage.
Visit site

Kilo Code

  • Free & Open Source $0 For individuals. Open-source VS Code, JetBrains and CLI extensions; usage is billed separately.
  • Teams $15 Per user per month. Usage analytics, shared agent modes, shared BYOK, centralised billing, data privacy controls and priority support.
  • Enterprise Custom SSO, OIDC and SCIM, audit logs, model and provider limits, a shared private gateway and SLA commitments.
  • Kilo Pass From $19 Per month. Optional credit subscription for inference, at $19, $49 or $199, with up to 50 percent bonus credits.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Claude Code

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Kilo Code

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Claude Code https://www.anthropic.com/claude-code · no check date recorded yet

Kilo Code https://kilo.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-10

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.