CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

Claude Code vs. TRAE

At a glance

At a glance

Claude Code

Best for

Best for developers tackling complex, multi-file refactors and architectural changes from the terminal.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

TRAE

Best for

Best for developers who want one tool that switches between hands-on editing and fully autonomous task execution.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Claude Code TRAE
Starting price Included in Claude Pro, $20 / month Max from $100 per month. Also available through the Anthropic API, billed per use. Free tier; Pro $20 / month Annual billing brings Pro to $200 per year, about $16.70 per month. Pro+ $60 and Ultra $200 monthly, or $600 and $2,000 annually. A cheaper Lite plan at $8 per month is sold only in a listed set of countries. Each paid plan carries a dollar usage quota of the same size as its monthly price.
Free trial Through a Claude subscription Free plan with a limited monthly allowance
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Terminal agent with project-level planning AI-assisted editing and autonomous task execution in an IDE
Hosting Not stated Desktop IDE, plus TraeWork on web, desktop and mobile
Where it runs Terminal, pairs with any editor Its own desktop IDE with two modes, IDE and SOLO, plus TraeWork as a separate web, desktop and mobile client; remote work over Remote SSH and WSL
Inline completions No, it works by instruction rather than by autocomplete: the CLI and the VS Code and JetBrains extensions offer plan review, inline diffs and @-mentions, not tab completions as you type Yes, CUE: code completion, chained completion, multi-line edits, next-edit prediction and navigation, plus dependency imports and reference renaming in Python, TypeScript and Go
Agent mode Yes, terminal-native agent with a project-level planning loop, deep multi-file context and MCP support Yes, agents that plan multi-step work and call tools, with custom agents carrying their own prompts, MCP servers and toolsets; SOLO mode runs planning, generation, testing and preview end to end from a spoken or written requirement
Model choice Yes, Opus, Sonnet, Haiku and Fable models, switched with the /model command, the --model flag, an environment variable or a settings file, including extended 1M-token context variants Yes, built-in models include GPT-6-Astra, GPT-5.6-Sol, GPT-5.6-Terra, GPT-5.6-Luna, GPT-5.5, GPT-5.4, GPT-5.2, Gemini-3.1-Pro-Preview, Gemini-3-Flash-Preview, Seed-2.1-Turbo, GLM-5.2, MiniMax-M3, MiniMax-M2.7 and Kimi-K2.5; custom models can be added with an API key over the OpenAI Chat Completions or Anthropic Messages format. The free plan is limited to automatic model selection, paid plans allow manual choice
Data control Team, Enterprise and API usage is not used to train models and is retained for 30 days, with zero data retention available to qualified Enterprise accounts; on Free, Pro and Max the account's own training setting applies. It also runs against Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud's Agent Platform and Microsoft Foundry, where telemetry and feedback are off by default Privacy mode stops chats, code snippets and AI output being used for data analysis, product optimisation or model training, and codebase files stay on the local device; agent commands can be run in a sandbox with file access controls and high-risk command blocking
Ecosystem fit Terminal, VS Code and JetBrains extensions, a desktop app, the web and mobile, plus GitHub Actions, GitLab CI/CD, Slack and Chrome; MCP servers connect external tools and the Agent SDK builds custom agents on the same engine Extension store, built-in Git workflow with AI-written commit messages, AI code review over uncommitted changes, single commits or branch diffs, and MCP servers added from a marketplace or by pasting JSON
API Yes, the Anthropic API No public API for driving the product; enterprise deployments are arranged through BytePlus
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries VS Code, JetBrains IDEs, GitHub Actions, GitLab CI/CD, Slack, Chrome, Model Context Protocol servers, Amazon Bedrock, Google Cloud's Agent Platform, Microsoft Foundry Figma, Playwright

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Claude Code Included in Claude Pro, $20 / month TRAE Free tier; Pro $20 / month
  • Free trial Claude Code Through a Claude subscription TRAE Free plan with a limited monthly allowance
  • Support Claude Code Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum TRAE Email helpdesk
  • Output Claude Code Terminal agent with project-level planning TRAE AI-assisted editing and autonomous task execution in an IDE
  • Where it runs Claude Code Terminal, pairs with any editor TRAE Its own desktop IDE with two modes, IDE and SOLO, plus TraeWork as a separate web, desktop and mobile client; remote work over Remote SSH and WSL

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Claude Code

Strengths

  • Deepest reasoning for complex multi-file and architectural tasks
  • Project-level planning
  • Editor-agnostic

Limitations

  • Terminal-first, not a full IDE interface
  • Usage limits on Pro, and cost climbs on Max or heavy API use

TRAE

Strengths

  • Two modes in one tool: keep manual control in IDE mode or hand the whole task over in SOLO mode
  • Custom models can be added with your own API key over OpenAI- or Anthropic-compatible endpoints
  • Privacy mode keeps chats and code out of training, and agent commands can run sandboxed
  • Free plan with a monthly allowance, no time limit

Limitations

  • Usage is metered as a dollar quota drawn down per request, so cost depends on which model a task uses
  • The cheapest paid plan, Lite, is sold only in a listed set of countries
  • The free plan cannot choose a model manually and has limited autocompletion
  • No public API for driving the tool from outside

Plans

Pricing

Claude Code

  • Claude Pro $20 Per month, includes Claude Code.
  • Claude Max From $100 Per month.
  • Anthropic API Pay per use Amount depends on usage.
Visit site

TRAE

  • Free $0 Limited monthly allowance, automatic model selection only, standard queue, limited autocompletion and 2 concurrent cloud tasks.
  • Lite $8 Per month, or $80 a year. An $8 monthly usage quota, manual model selection, fast queue, unlimited autocompletion and 2 concurrent cloud tasks. Sold only in Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, the Philippines, India, Pakistan, Turkey, Malaysia, Brazil, Colombia, Peru and Nigeria.
  • Pro $20 Per month, or $200 a year (about $16.70 a month). A $20 monthly usage quota and 10 concurrent cloud tasks.
  • Pro+ $60 Per month, or $600 a year (about $50 a month). A $60 monthly usage quota and 15 concurrent cloud tasks.
  • Ultra $200 Per month, or $2,000 a year (about $166.70 a month). A $200 monthly usage quota, 20 concurrent cloud tasks and early access to new models.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Claude Code

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

TRAE

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Claude Code https://www.anthropic.com/claude-code · no check date recorded yet

TRAE https://www.trae.ai · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.