CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Audio Editing & Mastering Comparison

Logic Pro vs. Reason

At a glance

At a glance

Logic Pro

Best for

Best for Mac-based songwriters and producers who want a complete DAW with virtual session musicians for a one-time price.

Reason

Best for

Best for producers who design sounds by patching devices and want the same rack inside the DAW they already use.

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Logic Pro Reason
Starting price lower value $199.99 One-time purchase of Logic Pro for Mac. Also included in the Apple Creator Studio subscription at $12.99 a month or $129 a year. $299 Reason 14 one-time licence, DAW and plugin, with point updates. Reason Rack 14 (plugin only) $199. Upgrades $99 and $79. Reason+ and Reason Rack are also sold as monthly or annual subscriptions.
Free trial 1 month free with Apple Creator Studio 7-day free trial of Reason+; Reason Rack Free plugin with 15 devices, no expiration
Output Recorded, produced, mixed and mastered music, including Dolby Atmos Spatial Audio mixes exported as ADM files Recorded, sequenced and mixed music, exported as a mix or as individual stems including effects and tempo track
Hosting Desktop app for Macs with Apple silicon (macOS 15.6 or later) and app for iPad (iPadOS 26 or later) Desktop app for Windows 10 or later and macOS 11 or later; the Rack also runs as a VST3, AU or AAX plugin
What it does Digital audio workstation for recording, producing, editing, mixing and mastering music on Mac and iPad Music production software for sequencing, recording, sound design and mixing, built around a modular Rack of instruments, effects and MIDI Players, used as a standalone DAW or as a plugin
Multitrack or two-track Multitrack recording and mixing of audio and software instrument tracks, with projects that move between Mac and iPad Multitrack, with unlimited audio recording and instrument channels, Track Folders, Blocks for song structure and Comp Edit for building one take from several
Noise removal and repair Legacy Denoiser reduces noise below a threshold using FFT analysis, Noise Gate suppresses background noise, crosstalk and hum, and Flex Pitch corrects the pitch of a take without re-recording Reason+ includes AI audio restoration through Reason Hub for removing noise and artifacts from vocals; the DAW adds Vocal Edit for pitch, timing and articulation
Mastering and loudness Mastering Assistant analyses a track and applies adjustable analogue-style mastering, adjusting dynamics and fine-tuning frequencies Rack devices include MClass Maximizer, MClass Compressor, MClass Equalizer, MClass Stereo Imager and a Master Bus Compressor; Reason+ adds unlimited AI mastering
Formats and resolution Spatial Audio mixes with integrated Dolby Atmos tools, exported as industry-standard ADM files for Apple Music and other streaming services Imports all major file formats from WAV and AIFF to MP3 with real-time sample rate and bit depth conversion; exports separate mixer channels as individual stems
Where it runs Desktop app for Macs with Apple silicon and app for iPad, with Logic Remote for Multi-Touch control from an iPhone or iPad Standalone DAW for Windows and macOS hosting VST3 and VST2 plug-ins and Rack Extensions; the Rack runs as a VST3, AU or AAX plugin in other DAWs, with Ableton Link and MIDI clock sync
Licence and pricing model One-time purchase of Logic Pro for Mac at $199.99, or the Apple Creator Studio subscription at $12.99 a month or $129 a year, $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year for verified students and educators One-time licence for Reason 14 ($299, DAW and plugin) or Reason Rack 14 ($199, plugin only) with point updates, or the Reason+ and Reason Rack subscriptions, monthly or annual, with the latest version always included
Also included Session Players for synth, bass, keyboard and drums, Stem Splitter for drums, bass, vocals, guitar, piano and other instruments, Chord ID, pitch correction, Smart Tempo, ChromaGlow and the Alchemy synth with over 3,000 sounds More than 30,000 patches, loops and samples; Reason+ adds all 93 Rack devices, weekly Sound Packs, AI stem separation, AI mastering, unlimited distribution by LANDR and partner plug-ins
API No hosted API. The Scripter MIDI plug-in runs JavaScript scripts that process or generate MIDI in real time, written in a built-in Script Editor once Enable Complete Features is switched on No developer API or scripting is documented in the Reason 14 manual. Hardware control runs through Remote, a mapping protocol that maps the knobs, faders and buttons of supported keyboards and control surfaces to device parameters automatically, with Remote Override for custom mappings; Rack Extension devices come from Reason Studios and third-party developers
AI features stated Yes No
Deployment On-premise On-premise
Support Chat, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Integrations GarageBand, Voice Memos, Logic Remote, MainStage more entries LANDR, Ableton Link, Ableton Live, FL Studio, Logic Pro, Pro Tools

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Logic Pro $199.99 Reason $299
  • Free trial Logic Pro 1 month free with Apple Creator Studio Reason 7-day free trial of Reason+; Reason Rack Free plugin with 15 devices, no expiration
  • Hosting Logic Pro Desktop app for Macs with Apple silicon (macOS 15.6 or later) and app for iPad (iPadOS 26 or later) Reason Desktop app for Windows 10 or later and macOS 11 or later; the Rack also runs as a VST3, AU or AAX plugin
  • AI features Logic Pro Yes Reason No
  • Output Logic Pro Recorded, produced, mixed and mastered music, including Dolby Atmos Spatial Audio mixes exported as ADM files Reason Recorded, sequenced and mixed music, exported as a mix or as individual stems including effects and tempo track

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Logic Pro

Strengths

  • The Mac app is a one-time purchase rather than a subscription
  • Projects move between Mac and iPad
  • Integrated Dolby Atmos tools export ADM files ready for streaming services
  • Session Players and Stem Splitter are built in

Limitations

  • Runs only on Apple devices, with no Windows version
  • Requires a Mac with Apple silicon and macOS 15.6 or later, so Intel Macs are excluded

Reason

Strengths

  • The Rack plays inside other DAWs as a VST3, AU or AAX plugin
  • Point updates are included with a one-time licence
  • More than 30,000 patches, loops and samples are included
  • Every sampler device can record live input directly

Limitations

  • No Linux version
  • The one-time licences include 68 of the 93 Rack devices; the rest need a subscription
  • AI mastering, stem separation and distribution come only with Reason+

Plans

Pricing

Logic Pro

  • Logic Pro for Mac $199.99 One-time purchase and redownload from the App Store.
  • Apple Creator Studio $12.99 / month or $129 / year 1 month free. Logic Pro on Mac and iPad plus Final Cut Pro, Pixelmator Pro, Motion, Compressor and MainStage. Shareable with up to five family members.
  • Apple Creator Studio for students and educators $2.99 / month or $29.99 / year 1 month free. For verified college students and educators, not shareable with Family Sharing.
Visit site

Reason

  • Reason Rack Free $0 Plugin with 15 devices for any compatible DAW. No trial, no expiration, no watermarks.
  • Reason Rack 14 $199 One-time purchase. Plugin only (VST3, AU, AAX), 68 Rack devices, point updates. Upgrade $79.
  • Reason 14 $299 One-time purchase. DAW and plugin, 68 Rack devices, point updates. Upgrade $99.
  • Reason Rack Plugin subscription Not stated Monthly or annual, with a 7-day free trial. Plugin only, all 93 Rack devices.
  • Reason+ Not stated Monthly or annual, with a 7-day free trial. DAW and plugin, all 93 Rack devices, AI mastering, AI stem separation and distribution by LANDR.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Logic Pro

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Reason

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Logic Pro https://www.apple.com/logic-pro/ · checked against the official source on 2026-10-14

Reason https://www.reasonstudios.com/ · checked against the official source on 2026-10-16

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.