CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Graphics & Illustration Comparison

Adobe Express vs. Adobe InDesign

At a glance

At a glance

Adobe Express

Best for

Best for marketers, small businesses and creators who want quick, on-brand social and marketing content with built-in generative AI.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Adobe InDesign

Best for

Best for designers and publishers producing multi-page print and digital documents who want AI help with images and copy fitting inside the layout.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Adobe Express Adobe InDesign
Starting price lower value Free tier; Premium from $9.99 / month The free plan includes a limited number of daily generative AI (Firefly) actions. Teams is $4.99 per licence / month for the first year, then $7.99, on an annual subscription billed monthly with a two-seat minimum. Enterprise is quoted by Adobe sales. From $22.99 / month InDesign single app, annual plan billed monthly, with 25 generative credits a month. Creative Cloud Pro is $69.99 a month with 4,000 credits, $34.99 for the first 3 months for new subscribers. InDesign for Teams is $37.99 and Creative Cloud Pro for Teams $99.99 per licence a month.
Free trial Free tier, plus a 30-day free trial of Premium 7-day free trial
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Social posts, videos, flyers, logos, PDFs and more Page layouts for print and digital publishing, exported as PDF, EPUB, HTML or IDML
What it makes Social posts, videos, flyers, banners, logos, business cards and PDFs Multi-page layouts for print and digital: brochures, magazines, eBooks, posters, presentations, interactive catalogues and web versions through Publish Online
Raster, vector or both Not stated A layout app rather than a painting or drawing tool. Frames, paths and shapes are vector objects; photos and Illustrator artwork are placed as linked files, with Illustrator layers and artboards chosen on import. Placed images are retouched through Adobe Express from inside InDesign, not edited pixel by pixel
File formats and exchange Imports PPTX, PDF, PSD, INDD and AI files as editable projects, PDFs up to 99 pages, and images in JPG, PNG, GIF, HEIC, WebP, SVG and PSD. Exports PNG, JPEG, SVG, PDF and MP4, and presentations also as PowerPoint files Places graphics, PDFs, videos and text files, accepts artwork and text pasted from Illustrator and Photoshop, and converts a PDF into an editable InDesign document
Colour management and print A PDF Print download with optional crop marks and bleed, in CMYK by default with the Coated GRACoL 2006 profile, or in RGB when the printer manages colour; bleed and margins are set under File ICC colour management with printer profiles and colour conversion on PDF export, CMYK process and spot swatches from colour-matching systems such as PANTONE+, and mixed-ink swatches. Separations Preview checks plates, ink limits and overprints, trapping runs built in or through Adobe In-RIP, and print PDFs use presets such as PDF/X-4 with printer's marks, bleed and slug
Brand, styles and templates Brand Kits apply your fonts, colors and logo in a click, with 220,000+ templates and Adobe Stock assets Paragraph and character styles, parent pages, Flex Layout and Adjust Layout, editable templates from Adobe Stock, more than 20,000 Adobe Fonts including variable fonts, and Creative Cloud Libraries for shared assets; Data Merge builds variations from CSV or TXT data
Platforms Runs in the browser on Windows, macOS and ChromeOS, with apps for iOS and Android on supported devices; devices that do not qualify for the mobile app can still use every feature on desktop Desktop app only: Windows 10 and 11 (64-bit) and macOS 13 Ventura to 26 Tahoe on Intel or Apple silicon. A touch workspace runs on Windows touch-screen devices. Adobe's requirements list no iPad, mobile or web version
Licence and pricing model Freemium subscription: a free plan with a daily cap on generative AI actions, Premium for one person billed monthly, Teams per licence on an annual plan with a two-seat minimum, and Enterprise quoted by Adobe sales Subscription only, as InDesign on its own or inside Creative Cloud Pro, for individuals or for teams, on annual plans billed monthly. Every plan includes a monthly allowance of generative credits. No perpetual licence is offered
Export and handoff Resize a design for any channel, schedule posts to social, and export standard image, video and PDF formats Export to PDF, EPUB, HTML and IDML, Preflight for missing files, fonts and low-resolution images, Share for Review links, cloud documents, Publish Online and export to Adobe Express for quick edits by a team; InCopy covers editorial workflows
AI features Firefly-powered text-to-image, generative fill, text effects and text-to-template Text to Image generates images from a prompt, Generative Expand resizes images to fit a frame, Auto Style formats text into headings, subheadings and paragraphs, Auto Alt Text writes alt text while images are placed, Rewrite adjusts copy length and tone with the layout in mind, and an AI Assistant in beta answers questions and handles routine tasks
API No public REST API; an Embed SDK puts the Express editor inside your own web app, and an add-on platform extends Express itself Yes. The InDesign API in Adobe Firefly Services offers REST endpoints for data merge, renditions to PNG, JPG or PDF, custom scripts, document info and PDF-to-InDesign conversion. On the desktop, UXP scripts and plug-ins in JavaScript and HTML extend the app, AppleScript and VBScript are also supported, and InDesign Server provides a multithreaded SOAP engine for publishing systems
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based On-premise
Support Community forum more entries Chat, Phone, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Personal consulting
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Adobe InCopy, Adobe Express, Adobe Stock, Adobe Fonts, Adobe Firefly

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Adobe Express Free tier; Premium from $9.99 / month Adobe InDesign From $22.99 / month
  • Free trial Adobe Express Free tier, plus a 30-day free trial of Premium Adobe InDesign 7-day free trial
  • Deployment Adobe Express Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Adobe InDesign On-premise
  • Support Adobe Express Community forum Adobe InDesign Chat, Phone, Community forum
  • Output Adobe Express Social posts, videos, flyers, logos, PDFs and more Adobe InDesign Page layouts for print and digital publishing, exported as PDF, EPUB, HTML or IDML

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Adobe Express

Strengths

  • Free tier with a limited number of daily Firefly generations
  • Firefly generative AI built into a full design and video editor
  • Large template library and brand kit tools
  • Content scheduler for social media

Limitations

  • The full model set and higher limits need a paid plan
  • Advanced editing is more limited than the desktop Creative Cloud apps

Adobe InDesign

Strengths

  • Generative image tools work inside the page layout
  • Auto Style and Rewrite speed up formatting and copy fitting
  • Export to PDF, EPUB, HTML and IDML, with Preflight for print
  • REST API for data merge and renditions at scale

Limitations

  • The single-app plan includes only 25 generative credits a month
  • The AI Assistant is still in beta
  • Subscription only, with the listed prices on annual plans

Plans

Pricing

Adobe Express

  • Free $0 Includes a limited number of daily generative AI actions.
  • Premium $9.99 Per month, with a 30-day free trial. The full set of AI models, higher generation limits, more templates, Adobe Stock assets and brand kits.
  • Teams $4.99 Per licence / month for the first year, then $7.99. Annual subscription billed monthly, two-seat minimum.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted on request; contact Adobe sales.
Visit site

Adobe InDesign

  • InDesign $22.99 / month Annual plan, billed monthly. 25 generative credits a month, 7-day free trial.
  • Creative Cloud Pro $69.99 / month Annual plan, billed monthly; $34.99 for the first 3 months for new subscribers. InDesign plus more than 20 Adobe apps and 4,000 generative credits a month. Students pay $19.99 a month in the first year, then $39.99.
  • InDesign for Teams $37.99 / licence / month Annual plan, billed monthly.
  • Creative Cloud Pro for Teams $99.99 / licence / month Annual plan, billed monthly.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Adobe Express

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Adobe InDesign

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Adobe Express https://www.adobe.com/express · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Adobe InDesign https://www.adobe.com/products/indesign.html · checked against the official source on 2026-10-18

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.