CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Live Streaming Comparison

Lightstream vs. Streamlabs

At a glance

At a glance

Lightstream

Best for

Best for console gamers who want overlays, alerts and guests on an Xbox or PlayStation stream straight from the browser.

Streamlabs

Best for

Best for creators streaming to a live audience who want alerts, overlays and viewer interaction ready to use.

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Lightstream Streamlabs
Starting price lower value Free; Premium $12 / month Premium is $12 billed monthly, or $9 per month on an annual subscription. Free; Ultra from $15.75 / month Ultra is $189 billed annually, or $27 billed monthly. Streamlabs Desktop itself is free.
Free trial Free tier Free plan; a free trial of Ultra is offered
Output Live streams in 720p, or 1080p on Premium Live streams and local recordings
API Not stated Yes, a Web API with OAuth 2 and a Socket API, plus a separate API for controlling Streamlabs Desktop
Hosting Runs in the browser, mixed in the cloud Installed locally on Windows 10 or newer and macOS 12 or newer
Scenes and sources Browser studio with webcams, screen share, images, video files, text, banners and cloud capture of Xbox and PlayStation games. Up to 3 scenes live on the free tier and 20 on Premium Custom scenes built from webcams, game capture, desktop capture, music and microphone input in one application, on the core OBS engine
Multistreaming to several platforms Yes, up to 5 destinations at once including custom RTMP, on both tiers Yes, to multiple platforms or custom RTMP at the same time, on Ultra only. Dual Output streams in vertical and horizontal format at once
Overlays and alerts Stream templates and overlays inside the studio, Twitch alerts, and Xsolla Partner Network alerts and overlays; Premium imports alert and overlay URLs from any third-party service Hundreds of free overlays, with 1,000+ themes and overlays on Ultra. Alerts for followers, subscribers, tips and cheers, plus widgets such as tip trackers, polls, goals and a chat overlay
Remote guests Up to 10 guests on Premium, joining from an invite link, with a volume control for each guest's microphone Collab Cam: 1 guest or camera on the free plan, up to 11 guests or cameras on Ultra. Guests see and hear the host and the chat while streaming
Platform integrations Twitch, Facebook and YouTube on the free tier; Premium adds Amazon, DLive, Douyu, Huya, Instagram, LinkedIn, Trovo, X, Vimeo, Wowza and custom RTMP Twitch, YouTube, TikTok, Instagram, X, Kick, Facebook, Patreon and custom RTMP
Audio mixing Microphone and guest audio with per-guest volume; music and desktop audio come in through browser screen share with audio An audio mixer is built into the desktop app
Local recording No, Lightstream does not record broadcasts; the vendor points to the past-broadcast downloads on Twitch, YouTube and Facebook Yes, with no watermarks or time limits
Desktop or browser Browser, with the broadcast rendered in the cloud; a mobile remote for iPhone and Android starts and stops the stream and changes scenes Desktop, installed on Windows 10 or newer and macOS 12 or newer
API and control Not stated A Web API with OAuth 2 for alerts, donations and a real-time Socket API, plus a documented API for remote control of Streamlabs Desktop
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based On-premise
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Integrations more entries Twitch, YouTube, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X, Trovo, Vimeo, Wowza, Xbox, PlayStation, Xsolla Partner Network Twitch, YouTube, TikTok, Instagram, X, Kick, Facebook, Patreon

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Lightstream Free; Premium $12 / month Streamlabs Free; Ultra from $15.75 / month
  • Free trial Lightstream Free tier Streamlabs Free plan; a free trial of Ultra is offered
  • Deployment Lightstream Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Streamlabs On-premise
  • Hosting Lightstream Runs in the browser, mixed in the cloud Streamlabs Installed locally on Windows 10 or newer and macOS 12 or newer
  • Support Lightstream Email helpdesk, Chat, Community forum Streamlabs Email helpdesk, Community forum

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Lightstream

Strengths

  • Streams Xbox and PlayStation games without a capture card
  • Simulcasting to 5 destinations on the free tier
  • Nothing to install, the studio runs in the browser

Limitations

  • Broadcasts are not recorded by Lightstream itself
  • The free tier is limited to 720p, 10 hours per stream and a Lightstream Studio logo
  • Guests are a Premium feature
  • Phone cameras cannot be added as a source without an experimental workaround

Streamlabs

Strengths

  • The desktop app is free, with local recordings free of watermarks and time limits
  • Alerts, widgets and hundreds of overlays included without plugins
  • Streams in vertical and horizontal format at the same time

Limitations

  • Multistreaming and the full theme and app library require Ultra
  • Only one Collab Cam guest or extra camera on the free plan
  • No Linux version

Plans

Pricing

Lightstream

  • Free $0 720p, 10 hours per stream, up to 3 scenes, simulcasting to 5 destinations, Lightstream Studio logo on all streams.
  • Premium $12 Per month, or $9 per month on an annual subscription. 1080p, 48 hours per stream, up to 20 scenes, 10 guests, logo can be removed.
Visit site

Streamlabs

  • Starter $0 Free. Limited themes and overlays, 1 Collab Cam guest or camera.
  • Ultra $27 Per month billed monthly, or $189 per year billed annually. Multistreaming, 1,000+ themes and overlays, the full app library and up to 11 guests or cameras.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Lightstream

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Streamlabs

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Lightstream https://golightstream.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-13

Streamlabs https://streamlabs.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.