CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Low-Code / No-Code Comparison

Appian vs. Kissflow

At a glance

At a glance

Appian

Best for

Best for regulated enterprises that want prompt-generated applications and AI agents under the same governance as their processes and documents.

  • Enterprise

Kissflow

Best for

Best for enterprises that want business teams to own approval workflows and departmental apps inside IT's guardrails.

  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Appian Kissflow
Starting price Free Community Edition; Standard, Advanced and Premium quoted by the vendor Appian publishes no amounts. All three paid tiers are priced per user, per month, per app, or across all applications with a platform user licence. Not stated
Free trial Appian Community Edition, a free dedicated Appian instance with a personal workspace Not stated
Output Enterprise process applications, case management apps, portals and AI agents Enterprise applications, portals, forms, boards and approval workflows
API Yes, applications publish Web APIs using the OpenAPI standard, and integration objects call external REST and SOAP services Yes, APIs and connectors are included in the subscription
Hosting Appian Cloud, on-premise or private cloud, and Appian Government Cloud Cloud on Google Cloud Platform, with AWS as secondary hosting
What you build Enterprise process applications, case management, portals and AI agents. Composer generates a functional application from a natural-language prompt or a requirements document; Agent Studio builds, governs and orchestrates agents that reason through multi-step work and act across connected systems; AI Skills classify, extract and summarise inside a process, and DocCenter handles document processing Enterprise applications, vendor and customer portals, forms, boards, reports and approval workflows for processes such as procurement, insurance claims, employee lifecycle and service management
Stack and frameworks Appian design objects rather than a generated source tree, with a data fabric that unifies existing systems, plus business process management, robotic process automation and intelligent document processing in the same platform No-code building for business users, with a low-code path where developers add custom logic, APIs and components to the same apps
Auth and database A data fabric that reads and writes across existing systems without migrating them. Tier limits apply: Standard covers a single data source of 4 million rows, Advanced multiple sources of 20 million rows and Premium multiple sources of 50 million rows Single sign-on over SAML and OAuth with role-based access control; generated apps carry their own data models, roles and access rules
Connectors Hundreds of prebuilt connectors on the Appian AppMarket, for systems such as Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics, SAP, Oracle, NetSuite, SharePoint, Box, Workday and DocuSign, plus integration objects over REST, SOAP and JDBC, an Integration SDK for custom connectors and Appian RPA for systems without an API. Snowflake and Apache Kafka are limited to Advanced and Premium Prebuilt integrations with systems of record such as SAP, Oracle, Salesforce, Workday, Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace, plus APIs; unlimited integrations
Hosting and deploy Appian Cloud, self-managed on-premise or private cloud, and Appian Government Cloud for public-sector workloads Kissflow cloud on Google Cloud Platform with AWS as secondary hosting, data residency in the US (Iowa), EU (Frankfurt), APAC (Mumbai) or Oceania (Australia Southeast), private clusters on either cloud, development and production environments and a 99 percent uptime SLA
Governance and admin Compare and Deploy moves applications between environments and resolves conflicting changes, and Health Check reviews design, user experience, infrastructure and configuration from the Admin Console. AI inherits object-level security, agents get their own identities, and immutable audit logs record every agent run. Appian Cloud lists SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3, FedRAMP and HIPAA Role-based access, data policies, app and user monitoring, versioning and audit logs; SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, ISO/IEC 27001, HIPAA, GDPR and CCPA
Payments No checkout in the platform itself. Appian Corporation publishes a Stripe Connected System in the AppMarket that processes card payments and payment links and reads balances, transactions, products, prices and customer records; the listing is free to use with a licensed product but is community supported rather than supported by its author Not stated
Access to the code Applications are built and deployed as Appian design objects executed by the platform rather than as a source tree handed back to the developer Custom components rather than an exported codebase: developers scaffold page components in plain HTML or React with npx create-kf-component, package them as a zip and import them into Kissflow, write custom form fields in React against the JavaScript SDK (@kissflow/lowcode-client-sdk), and run server-side functions through the Run Script connector. The developer documentation does not document exporting an app's own source
AI assistant AI Copilot for developers on every paid tier; Advanced and Premium add Composer, Agent Studio, DocCenter, AI Copilot for business users and AI Skills for classification and document extraction. Monthly AI Action limits are 200,000 on Standard, 500,000 on Advanced and 1 million on Premium, and customer data is not used to train the models AI generates complete applications, including data models, forms, workflows, business rules and roles, from a natural-language description; AI agents with multiple roles are announced and not yet generally available
Pricing model Quote-based, priced per user, per month, per app, or as a platform user licence covering every application at a tier, across Standard, Advanced and Premium. The Community Edition is free Quoted subscription with user tiers on fixed annual agreements, often multi-year for enterprises; integrations, APIs and AI are included with no surcharges, and implementation is scoped separately
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum more entries Chat, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Enterprise Enterprise
Integrations Salesforce, Microsoft Dynamics 365, SharePoint, Stripe more entries SAP, Oracle, Salesforce, Workday, Microsoft 365, Google Workspace

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Deployment Appian Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Kissflow Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Hosting Appian Appian Cloud, on-premise or private cloud, and Appian Government Cloud Kissflow Cloud on Google Cloud Platform, with AWS as secondary hosting
  • Support Appian Community forum Kissflow Chat, Community forum
  • Output Appian Enterprise process applications, case management apps, portals and AI agents Kissflow Enterprise applications, portals, forms, boards and approval workflows
  • API Appian Yes, applications publish Web APIs using the OpenAPI standard, and integration objects call external REST and SOAP services Kissflow Yes, APIs and connectors are included in the subscription

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Appian

Strengths

  • Composer generates a working application from a prompt or an existing requirements document
  • Agent Studio builds and governs AI agents in the same platform as the process, not as a separate product
  • Runs on Appian Cloud, on your own servers or private cloud, or in Appian Government Cloud
  • Private AI: data stays inside the compliance boundary, is not shared with third parties and is not used to train algorithms
  • Free Community Edition gives a dedicated instance with access to almost the whole platform
  • Applications publish Web APIs with OpenAPI and integrate outward over REST and SOAP

Limitations

  • No prices are published for any tier; every paid plan is quoted by the vendor
  • Pricing is per user, per month and per app, so cost tracks the number of applications as well as the number of people
  • Data volume is capped by tier, at 4 million rows on Standard against 50 million on Premium
  • The full AI set, including Agent Studio, Composer and DocCenter, is reserved for the higher tiers
  • RPA bots are limited to 5 on Standard and 25 on Advanced

Kissflow

Strengths

  • Integrations, APIs and AI usage are included in the subscription with no surcharges
  • Unlimited applications and integrations
  • Data residency in one of four regions, with private cluster options
  • Compliance set includes SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001 and HIPAA

Limitations

  • No prices published; buying starts with a quote and a demo
  • Fixed annual agreements rather than a monthly self-serve plan
  • Development and production environments only, with no staging environment
  • Multi-role AI agents are announced but not yet generally available

Plans

Pricing

Appian

  • Appian Community Edition $0 Free access to a dedicated Appian instance with a personal workspace, for exploration, learning and personal development environments, plus limited production use within the terms of the Community Edition licence.
  • Standard Not stated Quoted by the vendor, priced per user, per month, per app. Low-code development, a single data source of up to 4 million rows, 5 RPA bots and one portal per app. AI Copilot for developers only, with AI Action limits.
  • Advanced Not stated Quoted by the vendor. Multiple data sources of up to 20 million rows, 25 RPA bots, unlimited portals, Process HQ, Case Management Studio, offline mobile, autoscale and most AI features.
  • Premium Not stated Quoted by the vendor. Multiple data sources of up to 50 million rows, unlimited RPA bots and portals, the full AI suite including Agent Studio, Composer and DocCenter, transparent data encryption and 50,000 AI Document Center pages per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Appian

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Kissflow

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Appian https://appian.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-20

Kissflow https://kissflow.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-27

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.