Best for
Best for teams that have outgrown a shared spreadsheet and want to build their own workflow apps without a developer.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Low-Code / No-Code Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for teams that have outgrown a shared spreadsheet and want to build their own workflow apps without a developer.
Best for
Best for organisations already inside a Microsoft 365 tenant that want governed business apps built on their existing data.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Kintone | Microsoft Power Apps |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $24 / user / month Five users minimum, so the smallest subscription is $120 per month. Kintone publishes one plan with every feature included, and offers special pricing for 501(c)(3) nonprofits, education and government organisations. | lower value Free Developer Plan; Power Apps Premium from $22 / user / month Annual billing. Premium falls to $14 per user per month with a 2,000 seat minimum. Extra Dataverse database capacity is $40 per GB per month, and Copilot Studio is bought separately as pre-purchased credit units. |
| Free trial | 30-day free trial with access to every feature, including a consultation with a product specialist | Free Power Apps Developer Plan for non-production use; separately a 30-day trial of the per-user plan, extendable twice to 90 days |
| Users | 5 users minimum | Not stated |
| Output | No-code business apps: shared databases, forms, workflow and team spaces | Canvas and model-driven business apps that run in a browser and in the Power Apps mobile app on phone and tablet |
| API | Yes, a REST API for records, apps, files and spaces as well as users, departments and groups, plus webhooks and JavaScript APIs | Yes, Dataverse and Power Platform developer APIs, plus prebuilt and custom connectors |
| Languages | 7: Japanese, English, Spanish, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Thai and Brazilian Portuguese | Not stated |
| Hosting | Vendor-hosted cloud | Microsoft cloud, managed per environment from the Power Platform admin center |
| Made in | Japan | Not stated |
| What you build | No-code business apps built from drag-and-drop forms and shared databases, with process management for approvals and workflow, team Spaces for discussion tied to the records, and a library of more than 50 templates. Kintone AI configures forms and workflow steps from plain language and checks settings, then searches records, summarises comment threads and surfaces trends | Canvas and model-driven business apps plus Power Pages sites; Copilot generates the Dataverse tables and relationships from a description, and Plans turns a use case in natural language, with images such as process flows, into a solution blueprint |
| Stack and frameworks | A drag-and-drop app builder rather than a generated codebase, extended with JavaScript customisations and packaged plug-ins | No hand-written framework code: canvas apps are laid out in Power Apps Studio, model-driven apps are generated from the data model. Developers extend them with JavaScript on the client, Azure functions and plug-ins on the server, custom connectors and virtual tables |
| Auth and database | A built-in database that replaces the spreadsheet, with granular permissions and revision history on records, plus connectors to services such as Microsoft 365, Slack, Okta and Docusign | Microsoft Dataverse as the built-in database, or connectors to SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365, SQL Server and on-premises sources; identity, environments, data loss prevention policies and auditing are administered centrally in the Power Platform admin center |
| Connectors | REST API, webhooks and JavaScript and CSS customisation, plus native packaged plug-ins and third-party extensions such as a QuickBooks sync by FujiSoft, KrewDashboard by MESCIUS and Formstack Documents by Zapier | Prebuilt connectors to SaaS and Microsoft services, shared with Power Automate, Logic Apps and Copilot Studio, plus custom connectors for any other API. Rights included with Microsoft 365 cover standard connectors; premium capabilities need a standalone licence. The on-premises data gateway reads and writes local data sources without opening inbound ports |
| Hosting and deploy | Vendor-hosted cloud, reached from browsers, smartphones and tablets | Runs on Microsoft's cloud only, organised into environments; a US Government cloud meets FedRAMP High and DoD DISA IL2, and there is no self-hosted option |
| Governance and admin | Permissions by department, space, app, record and field, downloadable audit logs with alert emails, SAML 2.0 single sign-on, two-factor authentication, IP address restrictions, and password, session and account lockout policies set by the administrator | Managed Environments, included with standalone licences but not the Developer Plan, add environment groups, sharing limits, data policies, weekly usage insights, pipelines, solution checker, IP firewall, customer-managed keys, Lockbox and extended backup, all run from the Power Platform admin center |
| Payments | No payment collection of its own. None of the thirty native plug-ins is a payment gateway, and the third-party extensions Kintone names handle QuickBooks data sync, dashboards and document generation rather than checkout, so a provider is reached like any other service through the REST API, a webhook or a JavaScript customisation | No checkout of its own; a Stripe connector is available in the connector library to work with customers, orders and invoices, and Power Pages has a separate payments integration |
| Access to the code | Customisation through JavaScript customisations and distributable plug-ins packaged for Kintone apps, with a REST API and webhooks for outside systems | Apps live in the platform rather than as an exportable codebase; they move between environments as solutions, and code enters through JavaScript, plug-ins and custom connectors rather than by exporting what was generated |
| AI assistant | Kintone AI: AI App Creator and AI Process Creator suggest form fields and workflows in chat, AI Search builds chatbots over chosen apps that answer within each user's permissions, and AI Thread Summary, AI View Analysis and AI App Settings Review summarise threads, analyse records and check apps against admin rules | Copilot generates an app and its data model from a described business need, and app users can ask questions or give commands in plain language through the Copilot control. It runs on Azure OpenAI Service; some features are in preview, availability varies by region, and generally available features can only be turned off through Microsoft Support |
| Pricing model | One plan with every feature at $24 per user per month, five users minimum ($120 a month), with special pricing for nonprofits, education and government on request | Per user: Power Apps Premium licenses one person for unlimited apps, at a lower rate from 2,000 seats. Pay-as-you-go bills an environment through an Azure subscription instead. The per-app licence is no longer sold to new customers in some channels since 2 January 2026, and Dataverse storage, AI Builder credits and Copilot Credits are capacity add-ons |
| AI features | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Email helpdesk, Community forum | Not stated |
| Onboarding | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars, Personal consulting | Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Microsoft 365, Slack, Okta, Docusign | more entries Microsoft Dataverse, SharePoint, Microsoft 365, Dynamics 365, SQL Server, Stripe, Microsoft Copilot Studio, Power Automate |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Kintone
Strengths
Limitations
Microsoft Power Apps
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Kintone
Microsoft Power Apps
What users say
Kintone
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Microsoft Power Apps
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
Kintone https://www.kintone.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-20
Microsoft Power Apps https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/products/power-apps · no check date recorded yet
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.