CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Photo Editing & RAW Comparison

Adobe Lightroom vs. Zoner Studio

At a glance

At a glance

Adobe Lightroom

Best for

Best for photographers who edit and organise large numbers of their own photos across desktop, phone and browser.

Zoner Studio

Best for

Best for Windows photographers who want cataloguing, raw development and retouching from one program on a yearly subscription.

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Adobe Lightroom Zoner Studio
Starting price lower value From $11.99 / month Lightroom plan, annual, billed monthly, or $119.88 a year. Includes Lightroom Classic, 1 TB of cloud storage and 250 generative credits a month. Photography adds Photoshop at $19.99 a month with 1,000 credits; Creative Cloud Pro is $69.99 a month with 4,000, $34.99 for the first 3 months for new subscribers. Lightroom for Teams is $37.99 per licence a month. From $59 / year Individual plan, billed yearly, with 20 GB of Zoner Photo Cloud storage. A monthly option is mentioned without a listed price.
Free trial 7-day free trial on desktop and iPad, one per person; full refund if cancelled within 14 days of billing. The Lightroom mobile app for iOS and Android is free 7-day free trial of the full version, no card required
Output Edited and organised photos, with distractions removed by generative AI and images upscaled up to 4x Developed and retouched photos, prints and edited videos
Hosting Desktop app for Windows and macOS, mobile apps for iOS and Android, and a web version, synced through Adobe's cloud Installed locally on 64-bit Windows 11 or Windows 10 version 1903 and newer
Where it runs Desktop app for Windows and macOS, mobile apps for iOS and Android, and Lightroom on the web, all on the same cloud library; Lightroom Classic is included for desktop-focused work. An individual licence activates on two computers, used on one at a time Desktop app for 64-bit Windows 11 or Windows 10 version 1903 and newer; Windows Server and LTSC editions are not supported. The licence is tied to the user's account and runs on any number of their devices
RAW support and camera profiles Yes, raw files are edited without losing the original data Yes, RAW files are developed in the Develop module; HEIF is supported once the system codecs are installed, which the app helps with
Non-destructive editing Yes, changes never permanently alter the original file. Lightroom keeps the library in the cloud, Lightroom Classic keeps originals on a local hard drive Yes in Develop: the original stays untouched and adjustments are recorded in a sidecar file saved next to it. A Save Destructively option writes edits into the file itself, which does not apply to RAW
Layers and masking Masks rather than layers: one click selects a person, animal or the sky, and AI masking for subject, sky and background also works on the web. Adobe points to Photoshop for layers and composites of several photos Develop masks combine Radial Filter, Gradient Filter, Filter Brush, Luminance Range, Color Range and the AI selections; layers for text, retouching and complex adjustments sit in the separate Editor module
Batch processing Yes, edits made to one photo on desktop or mobile can be copied and pasted to many images, and presets apply the same settings to one or countless photos Yes, masks and adjustments can be copied to a series of photos or saved as presets, with batch editing in the Manager and batch export
Catalog and asset management Yes: albums and folders, ratings, and search that recognises content and specific people without keywords. Lightroom Classic adds a local catalogue with collections and manual keywords A catalogue stores thumbnails and metadata for added folders and picks up new images in them automatically, with keyword and location views, star ratings, colour labels and Quick Search filters
AI tools and control Generative Remove, powered by Adobe Firefly, erases distractions in a click, and generative upscaling with Topaz Gigapixel reaches 4x. Around them sit AI masking for subject, sky and background, Adaptive Presets, Lens Blur, Denoise, Super Resolution, Assisted Culling and Dust Removal, plus built-in and custom presets applied across many photos at once AI Subject, AI Background, AI Sky and AI Object selections in Develop, AI Remove Background, AI grouping of similar images, and automatic enhancement of many photos at once
Where the AI models come from No. Generative Remove is powered by Adobe Firefly, whose models are hosted by Adobe No published weights, and Zoner does not name the models. AI Close-ups and both AI Resize methods, Reconstructive Interpolation and Generative Resize, run locally and offline on the user's computer, with no upload to the cloud
API Yes, the Adobe Lightroom API, for building applications that work with the photos, metadata and renditions a user keeps in Lightroom's cloud catalog. A separate Lightroom API in Adobe Firefly Services reached end of life on July 31, 2026 No API is named. The Editor module loads third-party 32-bit Photoshop-compatible plug-ins with the .8bf extension, listed under Effects; Zoner refers questions about a plug-in to its author
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment more entries On-premise, Browser-based On-premise
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Integrations Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Firefly, Topaz Gigapixel, Adobe Express Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Adobe Lightroom From $11.99 / month Zoner Studio From $59 / year
  • Free trial Adobe Lightroom 7-day free trial on desktop and iPad, one per person; full refund if cancelled within 14 days of billing. The Lightroom mobile app for iOS and Android is free Zoner Studio 7-day free trial of the full version, no card required
  • Deployment Adobe Lightroom On-premise, Browser-based Zoner Studio On-premise
  • Hosting Adobe Lightroom Desktop app for Windows and macOS, mobile apps for iOS and Android, and a web version, synced through Adobe's cloud Zoner Studio Installed locally on 64-bit Windows 11 or Windows 10 version 1903 and newer
  • Output Adobe Lightroom Edited and organised photos, with distractions removed by generative AI and images upscaled up to 4x Zoner Studio Developed and retouched photos, prints and edited videos

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Adobe Lightroom

Strengths

  • One photo library and its edits across desktop, mobile and web
  • Generative Remove clears distractions in a click
  • Lightroom Classic is included for desktop catalogue work
  • 1 TB of cloud storage on the Lightroom plan
  • Assisted Culling filters a shoot before editing starts

Limitations

  • Subscription only, with the listed prices on annual plans
  • The Lightroom plan includes only 250 generative credits a month
  • Edits existing photos rather than generating images from a prompt
  • The Lightroom API in Firefly Services was retired in July 2026

Zoner Studio

Strengths

  • Catalogue, raw development, layer editor, print and video editing in one program
  • One subscription covers any number of the user's own devices
  • Family Plan gives each household member a separate account
  • 30-day grace period after a licence expires

Limitations

  • Windows only
  • Sold as a subscription that can only be cancelled on its anniversary date
  • Internet needed to install and to sign in to the Zoner account

Plans

Pricing

Adobe Lightroom

  • Lightroom $11.99 / month Annual plan, billed monthly, or $119.88 a year. Lightroom and Lightroom Classic, 1 TB cloud storage, 250 generative credits a month. 7-day free trial.
  • Photography $19.99 / month Annual plan, billed monthly. Lightroom, Lightroom Classic and Photoshop, 1 TB cloud storage, 1,000 generative credits a month.
  • Creative Cloud Pro $69.99 / month Annual plan, billed monthly; $34.99 for the first 3 months for new subscribers. Lightroom plus more than 20 desktop and mobile apps, 100 GB cloud storage, 4,000 generative credits a month. Students and teachers pay $19.99 a month in the first year.
  • Lightroom for Teams $37.99 / licence / month Annual plan, billed monthly. 1 TB cloud storage, 250 generative credits a month.
  • Creative Cloud Pro for Teams $99.99 / licence / month Annual plan, billed monthly. 1 TB cloud storage, 4,000 generative credits a month.
Visit site

Zoner Studio

  • Individual $59 / year One user, 20 GB of Zoner Photo Cloud storage, any number of the user's devices.
  • Family Plan $98 / year One licence for the household with a separate account and 20 GB of cloud storage per user.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Adobe Lightroom

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoner Studio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Adobe Lightroom https://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop-lightroom.html · checked against the official source on 2026-10-02

Zoner Studio https://www.zoner.com/en/ · checked against the official source on 2026-10-15

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.