CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Photo Editing & RAW Comparison

Snapseed vs. VSCO

At a glance

At a glance

Snapseed

Best for

Best for phone photographers who want precise, non-destructive edits without paying for an app.

VSCO

Best for

Best for photographers who want one consistent film look across phone and desktop, and a place to publish it.

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Snapseed VSCO
Starting price Free Free; Plus from $29.99 / year Plus is $7.99 billed monthly. Pro is $59.99 a year or $12.99 monthly, and VSCO One is $499.99 a year, billed annually only. US prices.
Free trial Free, with no subscriptions, purchases, ads or watermarks Free Starter tier; 7-day free trial on Plus and Pro
Output Edited photos, saved with an editable stack or exported as JPEG Edited photos and video, exported at full resolution or published to a VSCO profile, gallery or site
Hosting Mobile app for Android and iOS Mobile app for iOS and Android, plus VSCO Studio as a web app in the desktop browser
Where it runs Mobile app for Android and iOS, made by Google, with a built-in camera that shoots with film simulations or custom looks Mobile app for iOS and Android, and VSCO Studio on desktop as a web app in Chrome or Safari on macOS and Chrome or Edge on Windows, also as a Progressive Web App from the Microsoft Store. The Pro plan is offered on iOS and desktop only
RAW support and camera profiles Yes, RAW Develop opens RAW files. On iOS all RAW file types on current devices; on Android DNG only, on devices that capture DNG and most other recent devices VSCO Capture photographs in RAW. The desktop Studio lists JPEG, PNG and BMP in Chrome and Edge, and JPEG and HEIC in Safari, as importable formats
Non-destructive editing Yes, Stacks keeps every tool and filter editable: earlier steps can be changed, removed or inserted without redoing the later ones, and on iOS Save keeps the edit stack with the original Yes, edits are non-destructive and the original image stays untouched in the phone's Photos app
Layers and masking One-tap smart masking of subjects or backgrounds, the Selective and Brush tools for local adjustments, and the Stacks Brush to limit any tool or filter to painted areas. Double Exposure blends two photos with blend modes AI Isolate cuts a subject out of its background in one tap, without manual masking, for use in composites
Batch processing Yes, Batch Edit applies custom looks and edits to multiple photos at once, and a copied stack can be pasted onto another image Yes, batch editing in VSCO Studio on desktop and in VSCO Studio Pro, with Style Match. Recipes save complete edits for reuse, one on Starter and unlimited from Plus upwards
Catalog and asset management No catalogue or library management is described. On iOS, Save a copy puts a JPEG duplicate into an album titled Snapseed, and Export saves a flattened JPEG to the end of the Camera Roll Galleries organise client projects, with 10 GB on Starter and Plus and unlimited storage plus 65 GB for video on Pro and One. Cloud Sync keeps photos and edits aligned between mobile and desktop, and the desktop Studio imports from Adobe Lightroom
AI tools and control Smart masking isolates subjects or backgrounds with one tap, Healing removes unwanted objects, Portrait tools adjust lighting, pose and facial features, and Expand enlarges the canvas AI Remove, AI Upscale, AI Denoise, AI Dehaze, AI Restore, AI Isolate, AI Simplify and AI Hairstyle, plus AI Lab for edits from a prompt. Monthly AI credits are 100 one-time on Starter, 250 on Plus and 500 on Pro and One
Where the AI models come from Google names no models and publishes no weights for smart masking, Portrait or the other automatic tools No published weights and no third-party model named. VSCO says the AI Lab tools are developed, trained and overseen by VSCO, and that it does not sell or use personal data to train third-party AI models
API No developer API is documented; the Snapseed help centre and store listings cover the app only No public API for the photo editor. VSCO Workspace, the studio management and CRM platform included with VSCO One, has a public API in version 2 with read-and-write or read-only keys, and VSCO's Zapier integration runs on it
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment On-premise Browser-based
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Not stated
Integrations Not stated Adobe Lightroom

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Snapseed Free VSCO Free; Plus from $29.99 / year
  • Free trial Snapseed Free, with no subscriptions, purchases, ads or watermarks VSCO Free Starter tier; 7-day free trial on Plus and Pro
  • Deployment Snapseed On-premise VSCO Browser-based
  • Hosting Snapseed Mobile app for Android and iOS VSCO Mobile app for iOS and Android, plus VSCO Studio as a web app in the desktop browser
  • Output Snapseed Edited photos, saved with an editable stack or exported as JPEG VSCO Edited photos and video, exported at full resolution or published to a VSCO profile, gallery or site

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Snapseed

Strengths

  • No subscriptions, purchases, ads or watermarks
  • Every step stays editable through Stacks
  • Batch Edit applies the same look to many photos
  • RAW editing for all RAW file types on current iOS devices

Limitations

  • Runs only on Android and iOS
  • RAW editing on Android is limited to DNG files
  • Copies and exports are saved as JPEG

VSCO

Strengths

  • Free Starter tier with 15 presets for mobile editing
  • 200+ presets from Plus upwards
  • Photos and edits sync between phone and desktop
  • VSCO One adds leads, quotes, contracts, invoicing and bookings

Limitations

  • Pro is offered on iOS and desktop only, not Android
  • VSCO One is billed yearly only and has no free trial
  • AI credits reset monthly and do not roll over
  • The desktop editor names no RAW format among its importable formats

Plans

Pricing

Snapseed

  • Snapseed Free No subscriptions, purchases, ads or watermarks, according to the Google Play listing.
Visit site

VSCO

  • Starter Free Mobile editing with 15 standard presets.
  • Plus $29.99 Per year, or $7.99 billed monthly. 200+ presets, video editing, no ads. 7-day free trial.
  • Pro $59.99 Per year, or $12.99 billed monthly. Pro presets, VSCO Studio Pro, 500 AI credits per month and a portfolio site with custom domain. iOS and desktop only. 7-day free trial.
  • VSCO One $499.99 Per year, billed annually only. Adds the full Workspace business suite for 6 users and 4 brands, with a 30-day full refund window instead of a trial.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Snapseed

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

VSCO

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Snapseed https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.niksoftware.snapseed · checked against the official source on 2026-10-13

VSCO https://www.vsco.co/ · checked against the official source on 2026-10-21

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.