CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Backlog vs. Projektron BCS

At a glance

At a glance

Backlog

Best for

Best for software and web teams that want issues, documentation and their Git or Subversion repositories in one tool without paying per seat.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Projektron BCS

Best for

Best for mid-sized to large service providers that need project management and ERP in one method-independent system, with a cloud or on-premise choice.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Backlog Projektron BCS
Starting price Free plan; Starter $35 / month Charged per plan, not per user: Starter $35 a month for 30 users and 5 projects, Standard $100 for unlimited users and 100 projects, Premium $175 for unlimited projects. Paying yearly saves 17 percent. Enterprise is quoted. From 20 Euro / licence / month BCS.light in the cloud, per licence and month, six-month minimum term. As a one-off on-premise purchase BCS.light costs 200 Euro per licence with no minimum term. Full BCS costs 300 to 350 Euro per user as an on-premise purchase, or 5 percent of that purchase price per user and month in the cloud; the exact figure depends on the range of functions. All prices exclusive of VAT.
Free trial 30-day free trial with no credit card required, alongside a free plan for 10 users and 1 project Demo via web conference
Users 10 on the free plan, 30 on Starter, unlimited from Standard upward, with no per-user fee Not stated
API Yes, a REST API under /api/v2 with a documented rate limit Not stated
Languages English and Japanese Available in 7-8 languages
Hosting Cloud (SaaS); the Enterprise plan can be installed on a private server Cloud (Germany) or on-premise
Made in Japan Germany (Berlin)
Task planning Yes, issues with parent tasks and subtasks, three levels deep on Premium, on a drag-and-drop Kanban board, Gantt charts mapping dependencies and deadlines, milestones, burndown charts, custom fields and reusable templates Yes, project and multi-project management supporting IPMA, PMI, PRINCE2, Scrum, Kanban, Hermes and hybrid methods
Resource planning Limited, with no dedicated capacity or workload module. The Gantt chart can be grouped by assignee, which lays out each person's scheduled issues on their own rows, and each issue carries estimated hours; the Gantt chart starts on the Standard plan Yes, resource management and planning
Time tracking Estimated and actual hours are fields on the issue itself and are carried by the API as estimatedHours and actualHours. There is no separate timer or timesheet product Yes, effort and time tracking
Reporting and controlling Yes, a dashboard giving a real-time overview of projects, tasks and updates, burndown charts for sprint pace and Gantt charts for the schedule; Gantt and burndown start on the Standard plan Yes, real-time status, costs, budgets, KPIs and profitability
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API under /api/v2 with a documented rate limit, plus integrations with Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Chat, Jenkins, Cacoo and LambdaTest and importers from Jira and Redmine Yes, API and standard interfaces
AI features stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Email helpdesk, Phone
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Live online demos and webinars, Personal consulting
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Chat, Jenkins, Cacoo, LambdaTest, Jira, Redmine, Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive more entries Jira, Confluence, Microsoft 365, Exchange, SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, Microsoft Entra, Dynamics 365 Business Central, SAP, DATEV, Subversion, Eclipse BIRT

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Backlog Free plan; Starter $35 / month Projektron BCS From 20 Euro / licence / month
  • Free trial Backlog 30-day free trial with no credit card required, alongside a free plan for 10 users and 1 project Projektron BCS Demo via web conference
  • Hosting Backlog Cloud (SaaS); the Enterprise plan can be installed on a private server Projektron BCS Cloud (Germany) or on-premise
  • Languages Backlog English and Japanese Projektron BCS Available in 7-8 languages
  • Support Backlog Email helpdesk, Community forum Projektron BCS Email helpdesk, Phone

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Backlog

Strengths

  • No per-user pricing: users are unlimited from the Standard plan upward
  • Git and Subversion repositories built in, with commits, branches and pull requests linked to issues
  • The Enterprise plan can be installed on a private server, with SAML SSO, SCIM provisioning, audit logs and IP restriction
  • 30-day trial without a credit card, and a free plan that stays free
  • Importers from Jira and Redmine

Limitations

  • The free plan covers a single project with 100 MB of storage
  • Gantt charts, burndown charts and issue templates start on the Standard plan
  • The AI Assistant is limited to Premium and Enterprise, with 2,000 credits a month
  • The interface is available in English and Japanese only; Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese were discontinued in 2017

Projektron BCS

Strengths

  • End-to-end project management plus ERP in one
  • Method-independent, supports all common PM standards
  • Strong controlling and real-time transparency
  • Scales to enterprise/multi-project
  • On-premise option
  • German security and hosting

Limitations

  • The exact licence price per user depends on the chosen range of functions, so it is quoted individually
  • The mobile app covers attendance, expenses and contacts only, not the full client

Plans

Pricing

Backlog

  • Free $0 10 users, 1 project, 100 MB storage. Essential task and project management with Git and Subversion and the board view.
  • Starter $35 Per month, or 17 percent less paid yearly. 30 users, 5 projects, 1 GB storage. Adds subtasking.
  • Standard $100 Per month, or 17 percent less paid yearly. Unlimited users, 100 projects, 30 GB storage. Adds Gantt charts with a six-month view, burndown charts and issue templates.
  • Premium $175 Per month, or 17 percent less paid yearly. Unlimited users and projects, 100 GB storage. Adds the AI Assistant, third-level subtasks, unlimited Gantt charts, custom fields and dedicated support.
  • Enterprise Not stated Quoted by Nulab, with no per-user fee. Everything in Premium plus SAML single sign-on, SCIM user provisioning, audit logs, IP restriction for up to 100 addresses, enforced two-factor authentication, an Enterprise Customer Success Manager and the option to install on a private server.
Visit site

Projektron BCS

  • BCS.light (cloud) 20 Euro Per licence and month, six-month minimum term. Leaner edition for smaller project-driven companies, from quotation to invoicing.
  • BCS.light (on-premise) 200 Euro One-off licence purchase, no minimum term, perpetual right of use.
  • BCS (cloud) 5 percent of the licence purchase price Per user and month. Includes operating system, database and firewall maintenance and four releases a year.
  • BCS (on-premise) 300 to 350 Euro One-off licence purchase per user, perpetual right of use. The exact price per user depends on the desired range of functions.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Backlog

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Projektron BCS

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Backlog https://nulab.com/backlog/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-22

Projektron BCS https://www.projektron.de · checked against the official source on 2026-08-14

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.