CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Microsoft Planner vs. monday.com

At a glance

At a glance

Microsoft Planner

Best for

Best for organisations on Microsoft 365 that want team task planning inside Teams without buying a separate tool.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

monday.com

Best for

Best for non-technical teams that want a visual, automated way to manage work.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Microsoft Planner monday.com
Starting price From $10 / user / month Planner Plan 1, paid yearly on an annual subscription that auto-renews. Planner and Project Plan 3 is $30. A basic Planner is included in Microsoft 365 subscriptions; the Microsoft 365 Copilot add-on is $30 per user and month, paid yearly. lower value Free; Basic from $9 / seat / month Billed annually; monthly billing is available without the 18% yearly discount. Standard $12 and Pro $19 per seat and month billed annually, Enterprise on request. The free plan covers up to 2 seats, paid plans start at 3 seats.
Free trial One-month free trial of Plan 1 and Plan 3; credit card required Free plan for up to 2 seats; 14-day free trial of Pro
Output Task plans, sprints, timelines, portfolios and progress charts Not stated
Hosting Cloud, as a web app and inside Microsoft Teams; Plan 3 adds the Project desktop app on up to 5 PCs per user Not stated
Made in Not stated Israel
Task planning Yes. Grid, Board, Schedule and Charts views with checklists, labels and custom templates in every version; Plan 1 adds sub-tasks, backlogs and sprints, milestones, finish-to-start dependencies and the Timeline (Gantt) view; Plan 3 adds baselines, critical path and dependencies with lead and lag Yes, boards with table, Kanban, calendar, timeline and Gantt views
Resource planning Yes, from Plan 1: a People view for resource allocation and workload balancing, plus effort and duration per task. Plan 3 adds an Assignments view that defines effort per resource. The version included in Microsoft 365 has neither Yes, resource management for workload and capacity across projects, on Enterprise
Time tracking No. The plan comparison lists no timesheets or time logging, only effort and duration estimates per task Yes, native, from the Pro plan
Reporting and controlling Charts view in every version; prebuilt and custom dashboards and reports are view-only in the included version and fully available from Plan 1, along with goals linked to tasks. AI status reports need Microsoft 365 Copilot Yes, dashboards across boards; portfolio management on Enterprise
Integrations and API Yes. Power Automate in every version (cloud flows only in the included one), APIs to customise the experience from Plan 1, and built-in use from Teams, Outlook and Loop Yes, a public API with daily call limits per plan (1,000 on Standard, 10,000 on Pro, 25,000 on Enterprise), integrations with a monthly action allowance and an official hosted MCP server
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Chat, 24/7, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Microsoft Teams, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Loop, Microsoft 365 Copilot, Power Automate, Microsoft Project Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Workspace, Salesforce, Jira, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Microsoft Planner From $10 / user / month monday.com Free; Basic from $9 / seat / month
  • Free trial Microsoft Planner One-month free trial of Plan 1 and Plan 3; credit card required monday.com Free plan for up to 2 seats; 14-day free trial of Pro
  • Support Microsoft Planner Community forum monday.com Email helpdesk, Chat, 24/7, Community forum
  • MCP-ready Microsoft Planner No monday.com Yes
  • Task planning Microsoft Planner Yes. Grid, Board, Schedule and Charts views with checklists, labels and custom templates in every version; Plan 1 adds sub-tasks, backlogs and sprints, milestones, finish-to-start dependencies and the Timeline (Gantt) view; Plan 3 adds baselines, critical path and dependencies with lead and lag monday.com Yes, boards with table, Kanban, calendar, timeline and Gantt views

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Microsoft Planner

Strengths

  • A basic Planner is included in Microsoft 365 subscriptions
  • Plans, files and chats are managed inside Microsoft Teams
  • Tasks assigned in meeting notes, Loop and other sources show up in My Day and My Tasks
  • Plan 3 adds baselines, critical path and dependencies with lead and lag

Limitations

  • Timeline, People and Goals views need a Plan 1 licence
  • Paid plans are listed only as annual subscriptions
  • No built-in time tracking or timesheets
  • The Planner Agent needs a separate Microsoft 365 Copilot licence

monday.com

Strengths

  • Very visual and easy for non-technical teams
  • Strong automations
  • Flexible across use cases

Limitations

  • Costs climb with automations and seats
  • Free plan limited to 2 seats
  • Resource and portfolio management only on Enterprise

Plans

Pricing

Microsoft Planner

  • Planner in Microsoft 365 Not stated Included in Microsoft 365 plans. Grid, Board, Schedule and Charts views, custom templates, checklists and labels; dashboards are view-only and Power Automate is limited to cloud flows.
  • Planner Plan 1 $10 / user / month Paid yearly. Adds sub-tasks, premium templates, backlogs and sprints, task dependencies, Calendar, Timeline (Gantt) and People views, goals, milestones, custom task fields and view-only portfolios.
  • Planner and Project Plan 3 $30 / user / month Paid yearly. Adds task history, the Assignments view, portfolios, baselines and critical path, dependencies with lead and lag, and the Project desktop app.
  • Microsoft 365 Copilot (add-on) $30 / user / month Paid yearly, requires a qualifying plan. Planner Agent for simple tasks, AI-assisted plan creation and AI-generated status reports.
Visit site

monday.com

  • Free $0 Up to 2 seats, 3 boards and 3 docs.
  • Basic $9 / seat / month Billed annually, minimum 3 seats. Includes 1,000 AI credits per month.
  • Standard $12 / seat / month Billed annually, minimum 3 seats. Adds timeline, Gantt and calendar views, 250 automation and 250 integration actions per month.
  • Pro $19 / seat / month Billed annually, minimum 3 seats. Adds time tracking and 25,000 automation and integration actions per month. 14-day free trial.
  • Enterprise Custom On request. Adds portfolio and resource management and 24/7 enterprise support with tailored onboarding.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Microsoft Planner

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

monday.com

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Microsoft Planner https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/planner/microsoft-planner · checked against the official source on 2026-09-30

monday.com https://monday.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-27

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.