CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Microsoft Planner vs. Scoro

At a glance

At a glance

Microsoft Planner

Best for

Best for organisations on Microsoft 365 that want team task planning inside Teams without buying a separate tool.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Scoro

Best for

Best for professional-services firms that want projects, resources and finances in one PSA, from small consultancies to enterprises.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Microsoft Planner Scoro
Starting price From $10 / user / month Planner Plan 1, paid yearly on an annual subscription that auto-renews. Planner and Project Plan 3 is $30. A basic Planner is included in Microsoft 365 subscriptions; the Microsoft 365 Copilot add-on is $30 per user and month, paid yearly. From €15 / user / month Time-billing bundle, minimum 5 users. The price rises with the apps combined, up to €52 for the end-to-end bundle; annual billing is 13 to 17 percent cheaper.
Free trial One-month free trial of Plan 1 and Plan 3; credit card required 14 days, no credit card
Output Task plans, sprints, timelines, portfolios and progress charts Not stated
Languages Not stated English, German, Estonian, French, Spanish
Hosting Cloud, as a web app and inside Microsoft Teams; Plan 3 adds the Project desktop app on up to 5 PCs per user Cloud, GDPR-compliant
Made in Not stated Estonia
Task planning Yes. Grid, Board, Schedule and Charts views with checklists, labels and custom templates in every version; Plan 1 adds sub-tasks, backlogs and sprints, milestones, finish-to-start dependencies and the Timeline (Gantt) view; Plan 3 adds baselines, critical path and dependencies with lead and lag Yes, quote-to-invoice, Gantt, tasks and subtasks
Resource planning Yes, from Plan 1: a People view for resource allocation and workload balancing, plus effort and duration per task. Plan 3 adds an Assignments view that defines effort per resource. The version included in Microsoft 365 has neither Yes, with capacity forecasting
Time tracking No. The plan comparison lists no timesheets or time logging, only effort and duration estimates per task Yes, billable and non-billable
Reporting and controlling Charts view in every version; prebuilt and custom dashboards and reports are view-only in the included version and fully available from Plan 1, along with goals linked to tasks. AI status reports need Microsoft 365 Copilot Yes, real-time financials and profitability forecasting
Integrations and API Yes. Power Automate in every version (cloud flows only in the included one), APIs to customise the experience from Plan 1, and built-in use from Teams, Outlook and Loop Yes, API plus integrations with accounting, calendar and automation tools
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Personal consulting
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Microsoft Teams, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Loop, Microsoft 365 Copilot, Power Automate, Microsoft Project more entries Xero, QuickBooks, Sage Intacct, Exact Online, Google Calendar, Microsoft Exchange, HubSpot, Salesforce, Jira, Stripe, Expensify, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Microsoft Planner From $10 / user / month Scoro From €15 / user / month
  • Free trial Microsoft Planner One-month free trial of Plan 1 and Plan 3; credit card required Scoro 14 days, no credit card
  • Hosting Microsoft Planner Cloud, as a web app and inside Microsoft Teams; Plan 3 adds the Project desktop app on up to 5 PCs per user Scoro Cloud, GDPR-compliant
  • Support Microsoft Planner Community forum Scoro Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
  • Task planning Microsoft Planner Yes. Grid, Board, Schedule and Charts views with checklists, labels and custom templates in every version; Plan 1 adds sub-tasks, backlogs and sprints, milestones, finish-to-start dependencies and the Timeline (Gantt) view; Plan 3 adds baselines, critical path and dependencies with lead and lag Scoro Yes, quote-to-invoice, Gantt, tasks and subtasks

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Microsoft Planner

Strengths

  • A basic Planner is included in Microsoft 365 subscriptions
  • Plans, files and chats are managed inside Microsoft Teams
  • Tasks assigned in meeting notes, Loop and other sources show up in My Day and My Tasks
  • Plan 3 adds baselines, critical path and dependencies with lead and lag

Limitations

  • Timeline, People and Goals views need a Plan 1 licence
  • Paid plans are listed only as annual subscriptions
  • No built-in time tracking or timesheets
  • The Planner Agent needs a separate Microsoft 365 Copilot licence

Scoro

Strengths

  • Unifies projects, resources and finances in one PSA
  • Strong profitability and financial insights
  • Connects to the main accounting, calendar and automation tools

Limitations

  • Higher price point
  • Depth can be complex for small teams

Plans

Pricing

Microsoft Planner

  • Planner in Microsoft 365 Not stated Included in Microsoft 365 plans. Grid, Board, Schedule and Charts views, custom templates, checklists and labels; dashboards are view-only and Power Automate is limited to cloud flows.
  • Planner Plan 1 $10 / user / month Paid yearly. Adds sub-tasks, premium templates, backlogs and sprints, task dependencies, Calendar, Timeline (Gantt) and People views, goals, milestones, custom task fields and view-only portfolios.
  • Planner and Project Plan 3 $30 / user / month Paid yearly. Adds task history, the Assignments view, portfolios, baselines and critical path, dependencies with lead and lag, and the Project desktop app.
  • Microsoft 365 Copilot (add-on) $30 / user / month Paid yearly, requires a qualifying plan. Planner Agent for simple tasks, AI-assisted plan creation and AI-generated status reports.
Visit site

Scoro

  • Time-billing €15 Per user and month, minimum 5 users. Combines the Track and Invoice apps.
  • Projects & Resources €25 Per user and month, minimum 5 users. Combines Do, Deliver, Track and Resource.
  • Quote to Cash €25 Per user and month, minimum 5 users. Combines Estimate, Deliver, Track and Invoice.
  • End-to-end €52 Per user and month, minimum 5 users. All eight apps plus Advanced Work and Advanced Financials. Annual billing is 13 to 17 percent cheaper on every bundle.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Microsoft Planner

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Scoro

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Microsoft Planner https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/planner/microsoft-planner · checked against the official source on 2026-09-30

Scoro https://www.scoro.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-01

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.