CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Nifty vs. Planisware

At a glance

At a glance

Nifty

Best for

Best for client-facing teams that want projects, docs and conversation in one place without paying per guest.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Planisware

Best for

Best for PMOs and portfolio offices that need to decide which projects to fund and staff across a large organization.

  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Nifty Planisware
Starting price Free plan; Pro from $63 / month Pro billed annually, $79 billed monthly, for a bundle of 10 members. Business $99 ($124 monthly) for 30 members, Unlimited $319 ($399 monthly) for unlimited members. Teams under 7 people can instead pay $10 per member/month on Pro or $16 on Business. Not stated
Free trial Free plan for unlimited members with 2 active projects, plus a 14-day trial of the paid plans with no credit card required Not stated
Users Seats are bundled: 10 members on Pro, 30 on Business, unlimited on Unlimited, with unlimited guests and clients on paid plans 800,000 users across 600+ organizations
API Yes, an open API on Business and above, plus an official MCP server Not stated
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Planisware's own cloud, single-tenant servers in 12 data centers
Task planning Yes, tasks in Kanban, list, timeline, calendar and swimlane views, with milestones, Gantt roadmaps, task and milestone dependencies, recurring tasks and custom fields Yes, a Gantt engine with PERT diagrams and work breakdown structures, Earned Value and Stage-Gate, list, kanban and timeline views, and agile teams, sprints and SAFe trains
Resource planning Team workload views from the Business plan, with automatic check-ins for asynchronous status Yes, supply, demand and bottleneck views across the portfolio, what-if simulations and skill-based capacity planning, with resource demand estimated from templates, by analogy or with AI
Time tracking Yes, built-in time tracking and reporting from the Pro plan, alongside budget tracking Yes, task-level effort tracking on mobile and desktop with configurable approvals, feeding actuals back into projects and portfolios
Reporting and controlling Yes, live cross-project reporting dashboards, goals with automatic progress rollup, budget tracking and portfolios grouping projects by team or client Yes, real-time dashboards and ad-hoc reporting with drill-down, standardized portfolio status reports and export to PowerPoint, PDF and Excel
Integrations and API Yes, an open API on Business and above and an official MCP server, with native integrations for GitHub, Slack, Zoom, Webex, Harvest, Miro, Typeform, Google and Microsoft, plus over 2,000 apps through Zapier Yes, an open REST API and connections to ERP, accounting, PLM, DevOps, agile and ITSM tools; the vendor cites integration with 100+ enterprise applications
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding, Personal consulting
Company size more entries Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Enterprise
Integrations GitHub, Slack, Zoom, Webex, Harvest, Miro, Typeform, Google Drive, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Microsoft OneDrive, Office 365, Outlook Calendar, Zapier more entries Microsoft 365, Microsoft Teams, Google Workspace, SAP, Oracle Fusion Cloud, Oracle NetSuite, Anaplan, Jira, Azure DevOps, Broadcom Rally, Tableau, Microsoft Power BI, Qlik, Workday, Salesforce, HubSpot, Microsoft Dynamics 365, ServiceNow, Okta, SharePoint, Box, DocuSign, Microsoft Project, Smartsheet, Oracle Primavera, OnePager, Tray.io, Apache Kafka

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Company size Nifty Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Planisware Enterprise
  • Hosting Nifty Cloud (SaaS) Planisware Planisware's own cloud, single-tenant servers in 12 data centers
  • MCP-ready Nifty Yes Planisware No
  • Users Nifty Seats are bundled: 10 members on Pro, 30 on Business, unlimited on Unlimited, with unlimited guests and clients on paid plans Planisware 800,000 users across 600+ organizations
  • Task planning Nifty Yes, tasks in Kanban, list, timeline, calendar and swimlane views, with milestones, Gantt roadmaps, task and milestone dependencies, recurring tasks and custom fields Planisware Yes, a Gantt engine with PERT diagrams and work breakdown structures, Earned Value and Stage-Gate, list, kanban and timeline views, and agile teams, sprints and SAFe trains

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Nifty

Strengths

  • Tasks, milestones, docs, forms and team chat in one workspace
  • Paid plans bundle seats at a flat price, with unlimited guests and clients
  • Official MCP server and an open API
  • Importers from Asana, Jira, ClickUp, Trello, Basecamp and Wrike
  • Free plan with unlimited team members

Limitations

  • The free plan is capped at 2 active projects and 100 MB of storage
  • Time tracking, custom fields and automations start on Pro; workloads, open API and custom roles on Business
  • Bundled seats are wasteful for a team that does not fill the tier, and the per-member option only covers teams under 7 people

Planisware

Strengths

  • Strategy, portfolio, resources, finance and delivery in one platform
  • Editions preconfigured for PMOs, IT, R&D and capital projects
  • Single-tenant cloud with control over where data is stored

Limitations

  • Aimed at portfolio offices rather than the day-to-day work of a small team
  • Five editions to choose between before a purchase

Plans

Pricing

Nifty

  • Free $0 Unlimited team members, 2 active projects, 100 MB storage. Tasks, milestones, discussions, docs, files, team chat and portfolios.
  • Pro $63 Per month billed annually, $79 billed monthly. 10 members, 100 active projects, 500 GB storage. Adds time tracking, custom fields, budget tracking, automations and file proofing. Teams under 7 can pay $10 per member/month instead.
  • Business $99 Per month billed annually, $124 billed monthly. 30 members, unlimited projects, 1 TB storage. Adds goals, team workloads, custom roles, automatic check-ins, Microsoft SSO, open API and a custom domain. Teams under 7 can pay $16 per member/month instead.
  • Unlimited $319 Per month billed annually, $399 billed monthly. Unlimited members, projects and storage. Adds native forms, custom SAML, white labeling, IP restriction and a dedicated success manager.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing, for compliance review, procurement, SLA terms, security requirements or custom capacity.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Nifty

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Planisware

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Nifty https://niftypm.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-22

Planisware https://planisware.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-26

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.