CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

OmniFocus vs. ProofHub

At a glance

At a glance

OmniFocus

Best for

Best for individuals who manage a large, layered list of commitments on Apple devices and review it every week.

  • Freelancers

ProofHub

Best for

Best for agencies and teams that want unlimited users at a flat monthly price.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion OmniFocus ProofHub
Starting price From $74.99, one-time OmniFocus 4 Standard licence, covering Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision Pro. The Pro licence is $149.99; the annual subscription is $99.99 and includes Pro and OmniFocus for the Web. lower value From $45 / month, flat for unlimited users Essential plan billed annually ($50 billed monthly), with 40 projects and unlimited users. Ultimate Control is $89 per month for the first 3 months, then $135, billed annually. ProofHub charges a flat rate, not per user.
Free trial Free 14-day trial 14-day free trial, no credit card required
API Omni Automation plug-ins and AppleScript (Pro), plus Apple Shortcuts actions Not stated
Languages English, German, Spanish, French, Japanese, Dutch, Italian, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Brazilian Portuguese and Korean; Arabic and Hebrew on iPhone, iPad and Vision Pro Not stated
Hosting Native apps for macOS 15.2, iOS and iPadOS 18.2, watchOS 11.2 and visionOS 2.2 or later, plus OmniFocus for the Web in a browser; end-to-end encrypted sync through Omni's free sync server or your own Not stated
Made in United States (Seattle) Not stated
Task planning Yes, actions in projects and folders with unlimited hierarchy, multiple tags per action, flags, due and defer dates, repeat schedules, notes with attachments, a Forecast view with calendar events, location-based Nearby and a periodic Review; Pro adds custom perspectives and Focus mode Yes, board, table, Gantt and calendar views with templates, custom fields and workflows
Resource planning No. OmniFocus is built as a personal task manager, and no shared projects, assignments or workload views are documented Resource reports for tracking team workload
Time tracking No time tracking is documented Yes, built-in time tracking with timesheets and time reports
Reporting and controlling No reports are documented Yes, project and resource reports, activity logs and analytics
Integrations and API Yes, in Pro: cross-platform Omni Automation plug-ins and Mac-only AppleScript to automate workflows, integrate other apps and create projects from templates; Apple Shortcuts actions are also available Yes, API access, with integrations for Slack, Google Calendar, Dropbox, Box, OneDrive, FreshBooks and QuickBooks
AI features stated Yes No
Deployment On-premise, Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers more entries Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Apple Shortcuts, Siri, AppleScript more entries Slack, Google Calendar, Dropbox, Box, OneDrive, FreshBooks, QuickBooks

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price OmniFocus From $74.99, one-time ProofHub From $45 / month, flat for unlimited users
  • Free trial OmniFocus Free 14-day trial ProofHub 14-day free trial, no credit card required
  • Deployment OmniFocus On-premise, Browser-based ProofHub Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size OmniFocus Freelancers ProofHub Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Support OmniFocus Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum ProofHub Email helpdesk

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

OmniFocus

Strengths

  • One purchase covers Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision Pro
  • End-to-end encrypted sync, on Omni's free server or a self-hosted one
  • Review mode reminds you to check projects on a schedule
  • Location-based tags show what can be done nearby

Limitations

  • No native Windows or Android app, only the web version
  • Licence owners pay a separate subscription for web access
  • Custom perspectives, Focus mode and automation require Pro
  • No shared projects or task assignment are documented

ProofHub

Strengths

  • Flat monthly pricing with unlimited users
  • Task management, time tracking, proofing and discussions in one tool
  • No per-seat cost, predictable for growing teams

Limitations

  • No free plan, only a 14-day trial
  • Project cap of 40 on the Essential plan
  • Fewer deep integrations than larger platforms

Plans

Pricing

OmniFocus

  • OmniFocus 4 Standard $74.99 One-time licence for all 4.x updates on Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision Pro. Upgrade discounts available.
  • OmniFocus 4 Pro $149.99 One-time licence; adds Focus mode, custom perspectives, additional Forecast options and automation.
  • OmniFocus Subscription $99.99 / year Latest Pro version on all Apple devices, including OmniFocus for the Web, with no major upgrade cost.
  • OmniFocus for the Web $4.99 / month Or $49.99 per year. Web companion for owners of a perpetual licence; requires an existing OmniFocus setup on an Apple device.
Visit site

ProofHub

  • Essential $45 Flat rate per month, billed annually ($50 billed monthly). 40 projects, unlimited users and 15 GB storage.
  • Ultimate Control $89 Flat rate per month, billed annually as an introductory rate for the first 3 months, then $135 ($99 billed monthly). Unlimited projects and users and 100 GB storage.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

OmniFocus

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

ProofHub

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

OmniFocus https://www.omnigroup.com/omnifocus · checked against the official source on 2026-10-01

ProofHub https://www.proofhub.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-22

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.