CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

OmniFocus vs. Sunsama

At a glance

At a glance

OmniFocus

Best for

Best for individuals who manage a large, layered list of commitments on Apple devices and review it every week.

  • Freelancers

Sunsama

Best for

Best for individuals and small teams who already track work in Asana, Jira or Notion and need a realistic plan for the day rather than another backlog.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion OmniFocus Sunsama
Starting price From $74.99, one-time OmniFocus 4 Standard licence, covering Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision Pro. The Pro licence is $149.99; the annual subscription is $99.99 and includes Pro and OmniFocus for the Web. lower value From $17 / user / month Pro plan, billed yearly; $22 a month billed monthly. The FAQ further down the same pricing page still quotes $25 a month per person and $20 on a yearly plan, which does not match the plan card above it.
Free trial Free 14-day trial 14-day free trial, no credit card required
API Omni Automation plug-ins and AppleScript (Pro), plus Apple Shortcuts actions No public REST API. A first-party MCP server at api.sunsama.com/mcp, plus native integrations and Zapier
Languages English, German, Spanish, French, Japanese, Dutch, Italian, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Brazilian Portuguese and Korean; Arabic and Hebrew on iPhone, iPad and Vision Pro Not stated
Hosting Native apps for macOS 15.2, iOS and iPadOS 18.2, watchOS 11.2 and visionOS 2.2 or later, plus OmniFocus for the Web in a browser; end-to-end encrypted sync through Omni's free sync server or your own Cloud (SaaS), with apps for macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android
Made in United States (Seattle) Not stated
Task planning Yes, actions in projects and folders with unlimited hierarchy, multiple tags per action, flags, due and defer dates, repeat schedules, notes with attachments, a Forecast view with calendar events, location-based Nearby and a periodic Review; Pro adds custom perspectives and Focus mode Yes, but as a day at a time rather than as a project tree. Tasks are imported from Asana, ClickUp, GitHub, Jira, Linear, monday.com, Notion, Todoist and Trello or captured from Gmail, Outlook, Slack and Microsoft Teams, given an estimate and dragged onto a merged Google, Outlook and Apple calendar. Sunsama keeps no boards, backlogs or project hierarchy of its own
Resource planning No. OmniFocus is built as a personal task manager, and no shared projects, assignments or workload views are documented No capacity or workload view. Sunsama plans one person's day; colleagues can be invited to a workspace and are billed per seat, but there is no shared capacity chart and no assignment of work across a team
Time tracking No time tracking is documented Yes, a Pomodoro timer and automatic logging of time actually spent, laid over the planned blocks on the calendar so planned and actual can be compared
Reporting and controlling No reports are documented Yes, daily and weekly analytics on where time went and how the workload was planned, an evening shutdown review of what was finished, and weekly objectives
Integrations and API Yes, in Pro: cross-platform Omni Automation plug-ins and Mac-only AppleScript to automate workflows, integrate other apps and create projects from templates; Apple Shortcuts actions are also available No public REST API. A first-party MCP server at api.sunsama.com/mcp authenticates over OAuth and covers tasks, subtasks, streams and user info from Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients; alongside it sit the native integrations and Zapier
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment On-premise, Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Apple Shortcuts, Siri, AppleScript more entries Asana, ClickUp, GitHub, Jira, Linear, monday.com, Notion, Todoist, Trello, Gmail, Outlook, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Toggl, Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar, Apple Calendar, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price OmniFocus From $74.99, one-time Sunsama From $17 / user / month
  • Free trial OmniFocus Free 14-day trial Sunsama 14-day free trial, no credit card required
  • Deployment OmniFocus On-premise, Browser-based Sunsama Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size OmniFocus Freelancers Sunsama Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting OmniFocus Native apps for macOS 15.2, iOS and iPadOS 18.2, watchOS 11.2 and visionOS 2.2 or later, plus OmniFocus for the Web in a browser; end-to-end encrypted sync through Omni's free sync server or your own Sunsama Cloud (SaaS), with apps for macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

OmniFocus

Strengths

  • One purchase covers Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision Pro
  • End-to-end encrypted sync, on Omni's free server or a self-hosted one
  • Review mode reminds you to check projects on a schedule
  • Location-based tags show what can be done nearby

Limitations

  • No native Windows or Android app, only the web version
  • Licence owners pay a separate subscription for web access
  • Custom perspectives, Focus mode and automation require Pro
  • No shared projects or task assignment are documented

Sunsama

Strengths

  • Pulls work in from nine task tools plus Gmail, Outlook, Slack and Teams, so the plan sits on top of whatever the team already uses
  • Records time actually spent against the planned block instead of only running a timer
  • First-party MCP server, so an AI assistant can read and create tasks directly
  • One paid plan with unlimited usage and unlimited integrations, rather than features split across tiers
  • Apps for macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android, not only the browser

Limitations

  • No public REST API; anything outside the shipped integrations has to go through Zapier
  • No shared capacity or workload view, so it does not replace a team project system
  • Per-seat price sits well above a plain task manager
  • The pricing page contradicts itself: the plan card says $17 and $22, the FAQ below it still says $20 and $25

Plans

Pricing

OmniFocus

  • OmniFocus 4 Standard $74.99 One-time licence for all 4.x updates on Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Apple Vision Pro. Upgrade discounts available.
  • OmniFocus 4 Pro $149.99 One-time licence; adds Focus mode, custom perspectives, additional Forecast options and automation.
  • OmniFocus Subscription $99.99 / year Latest Pro version on all Apple devices, including OmniFocus for the Web, with no major upgrade cost.
  • OmniFocus for the Web $4.99 / month Or $49.99 per year. Web companion for owners of a perpetual licence; requires an existing OmniFocus setup on an Apple device.
Visit site

Sunsama

  • Pro $17 Per person per month, billed yearly; $22 billed monthly. Unlimited usage and unlimited integrations.
  • Enterprise Not stated Contact us. Adds SSO and SAML, SCIM and audit logs, and custom privacy and data requirements.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

OmniFocus

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Sunsama

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

OmniFocus https://www.omnigroup.com/omnifocus · checked against the official source on 2026-10-01

Sunsama https://www.sunsama.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-21

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.